Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

What Anti-Virus do you Use/Recommend?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
392 replies to this topic

Poll: What Anti-Virus do you Use/Recommend? (1064 member(s) have cast votes)

What Anti-Virus do you Use/Recommend?

  1. Voted AntiVir (53 votes [5.49%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.49%

  2. Voted Avast (94 votes [9.73%])

    Percentage of vote: 9.73%

  3. AVG (97 votes [10.04%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.04%

  4. Voted BitDefender (26 votes [2.69%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.69%

  5. ClamAV (14 votes [1.45%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.45%

  6. eTrust (12 votes [1.24%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.24%

  7. F-Prot (11 votes [1.14%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.14%

  8. Voted Kaspersky (154 votes [15.94%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.94%

  9. Voted McAfee (30 votes [3.11%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.11%

  10. Voted NOD32 (272 votes [28.16%])

    Percentage of vote: 28.16%

  11. Norton (28 votes [2.90%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.90%

  12. Voted Symantec (60 votes [6.21%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.21%

  13. Voted Trend Micro (20 votes [2.07%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.07%

  14. Voted Other - ? (51 votes [5.28%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.28%

  15. None! (44 votes [4.55%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.55%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#101
i'm not ophiel

i'm not ophiel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 28-June 06
i don't know if you're serious or sarcastic, but you notice the part in your window where it says "false positives"?

false positives are an everyday reality for ANY antivirus.
Power concedes nothing without a demand. It never did and it never will.
- Frederick Douglass


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
sonu27

sonu27

    Panjabi By Nature

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 762 posts
  • Joined 27-August 04
Kaspersky the best for me. Using that now.

#103
olocin

olocin

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 21-April 05
how about sophos? you guys tried it before? its cool

#104
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I won't even recommend anything that doesn't have a good report on http://www.av-comparatives.org/.

#105
nethex

nethex
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 12-July 06
In Russia, the most popular AV software is Kaspersky Antivirus

Edited by nethex, 12 July 2006 - 02:56 PM.


#106
t4z

t4z
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 31-July 06
Iv been using Mcafee Internet suite
its ok and doesnt realy slow down machine as norton does
"I didn't report my creditcard to the police,whoever stole it, is spending less than my wife."

#107
prx984

prx984

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,091 posts
  • Joined 22-March 06
iv been using avg free on my desktop for a long time. i havent noticed any speed differences. i ran it on my laptop for a little while too, although it didnt slow down my laptop, i just didnt feel i needed it for my laptop. if my laptop gets messed up, i just reimage the drive.

#108
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

iv been using avg free on my desktop for a long time. i havent noticed any speed differences. i ran it on my laptop for a little while too, although it didnt slow down my laptop, i just didnt feel i needed it for my laptop. if my laptop gets messed up, i just reimage the drive.

Yup, I'm in preparation of backing up everything, getting my to-do list all done, reformat, reinstall, re-configure, image the drive and then install Deep Freeze. :thumbup

#109
Thauzar

Thauzar

    4th Star Learner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 415 posts
  • Joined 10-August 04
Being a student and having a laptop and a desktop, I wonder if I can install and keep up to date both computers with a single user licence from nod32. If yes they got a new client! Else I'll stay with SAV for another year.
5. Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. -- Tarun

#110
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,066 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@Thauzar - One licence, one computer. That's how most licencing fees work. Btw... Opera 9.01 was released a while ago...you need to update your sig. ;)

@Jeremy - Just be warned - rebooting every time you want to configure something new might get a little annoying. DeepFreeze was meant for workstations that people come to, sit down, use, and then leave - not really for home use computers.

#111
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@Thauzar - One licence, one computer. That's how most licencing fees work. Btw... Opera 9.01 was released a while ago...you need to update your sig. ;)

@Jeremy - Just be warned - rebooting every time you want to configure something new might get a little annoying. DeepFreeze was meant for workstations that people come to, sit down, use, and then leave - not really for home use computers.

How come you only say these things to me on MSFN? :P
But yeah, I figure as long as I have a good Acronis backup, I'm good.

#112
Chozo4

Chozo4

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 392 posts
  • Joined 31-July 05
I must be the minority! Been using norton for the last ... 8 years without any problems or false positives.

Before you think 'j00 n00b. n0rt0n iz teh sux!'... I do *NOT* and never will use the newer bloatware which has become of norton either. Which of course I could fully agree as being pretty poor as it focuses more on a pretty GUI with one button scan all while trying to be more than just a virus scan. They end up spreading their priorities way too thin which will be the downfall in the end in my opinion. Personally, If I'm ever forced to use any newer version of Norton I'll gladly switch to something else.

Now... I haven't gone out and checked out many others other than norton since it does the job and does it well for me. It's not a resource hog and is not a memory hog at all either while scanning every single file and inside archives.

For those who complained (if any) about it sucking up resources when installed - if you remove the registry links that auto-load vxd's associated with auto-protect, you can free up those resources and any memory used from it. You'll effectively disable auto-protect if you don't need it running yet claim back those resources. I'm not sure if this still applies to the newer versions however.

... so anyway - Don't click this image link norton-dislikers. You just might see an old version of norton in it. :P

http://mechresource....oad/norton5.jpg
JPEG Image - 1024.768 @ 92k

Edited by Chozo4, 11 August 2006 - 02:49 PM.


#113
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Windows 98 SE (nUSB v2.2e + USP 2.1a + KUP v0.2.7)
AMD 64 4000+ SanDiego 2.4ghz (OC 2600mhz 325x8 mult)
EPoX EP-9NDA3J Mobo w/ 2x512 OCZ-3200 DDR Dual (OC 217mhz 2-3-3-6@ 1T)
Nvidia GeForce 4000mx 128mb-ddr (OC 365c \ 565m)


Running Win98SE on an AMD 64 4000+........ *shakes head*

Edited by Jeremy, 13 August 2006 - 04:19 PM.


#114
OldSchool

OldSchool
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 13-August 06
I use McAfee VirusScan. It comes with my America Online membership.
"Every time you make a choice you are turning the central part of you into something different than it was beforeā€¦each of us at that moment is progressing to one state or another."
-C.S. Lewis

#115
braindedd

braindedd

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 17-July 05
NOD32 because it's the fastest and best detection rates I've seen.
Company I used to work for used Avast for it's boot scanning, which was a pretty neat trick ...

#116
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

NOD32 because it's the fastest and best detection rates I've seen.
Company I used to work for used Avast for it's boot scanning, which was a pretty neat trick ...

Yeah, having the ability to scan a drive without any hooks to Windows files intact feels pretty superior, especially when using an awesome scanner like NOD32 and/or Kaspersky.

#117
Wijono

Wijono

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Joined 13-August 05
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I have been using Norton AntiVirus OEM Version 5.0 on my Win98SE for a few years.
After downloading and running the Virus Definitions (Intelligent Updater) on 27-JUL-2006, I got following "Drive access error" message when trying to do manual scan:

"Unable to read the boot record on hard drive #0. Check to make sure the drive is ready."
Then I clicked on "Continue" and another error message popped up stating:
"Unable to read the boot record on hard drive C:. Check to make sure the drive is ready."
Then I clicked "Continue" again, the next error message said:
"NAVW32 caused an invalid page fault in module NAVEX32A.DLL"
the scan was then exited.

After the Virus Definitions dated 02-AUG-2006, the "invalid page fault" error is gone, but then until now the "Unable to read the boot record" error still persist.

The DOS mode (NAVDX.EXE) works perfectly all right though, that is why the Startup scanning, which is in DOS mode is also functioning well, that includes boot records scanning as well.

So to be able to work with it under Win98SE, we need to clear Scan Boot Record & Scan Master Boot Record under the Options, then NAV will work near normal, i.e., it will skip scanning boot record under Windows GUI, but the rest is as per normal. DOS mode works OK.

I have done a bit of experimenting, if after doing the most recent Intelligent Updater, e.g., 20060814-017-i32.exe, then replace following 2 files from the older Definitions, for example:

NAVEX32A.DLL; 669 KB; August 21, 2005
TCDEFS.DAT; 12.2 KB; August 21, 2005

Then the Windows GUI will work normal, it will scan boot records with no problem. The trade off is that DOS mode will not work. The 20050821 definition is in fact the most recent that will work for the substitution mentioned, if we use the ones from 20050822, where the TCDEFS.DAT will be around 40KB, then the same error message will pop-up again.

Another general drawback of NAV is that the file size of Definitions update (Intelligent Updater) is huge, it is bigger than 12MB and is updated on daily basis (we don't need to do it every day though). The reason for the huge size is that every updater also includes AV Engines and is meant for all platforms.

With the problem I encounter above, I am now beginning to try the "AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 7.1.394", which according to my opinion is quite good! What I like most is that its online definitions update is sort of incremental, so the size is quite small.

#118
freexwolf

freexwolf
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 01-July 06
now i use nod32

i was usimg kasper and it's the best

but i chang it just to try nod32 and to see how good it is

#119
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

now i use nod32

i was usimg kasper and it's the best

but i chang it just to try nod32 and to see how good it is

yeah, they're both pretty much hand-in-hand.

#120
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Windows 98 SE (nUSB v2.2e + USP 2.1a + KUP v0.2.7)
AMD 64 4000+ SanDiego 2.4ghz (OC 2600mhz 325x8 mult)
EPoX EP-9NDA3J Mobo w/ 2x512 OCZ-3200 DDR Dual (OC 217mhz 2-3-3-6@ 1T)
Nvidia GeForce 4000mx 128mb-ddr (OC 365c \ 565m)


Running Win98SE on an AMD 64 4000+........ *shakes head*


i though win98 cannot handle over 512mb or 512mb but he is running 1 GB...
cool
CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#121
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


now i use nod32

i was usimg kasper and it's the best

but i chang it just to try nod32 and to see how good it is

yeah, they're both pretty much hand-in-hand.


but why e-mail advertise

__________ NOD32 1.1720 (20060822) Information __________

This message was checked by NOD32 antivirus system.
http://www.eset.com

kaspersky dun have....

ok found a way to disable it

Attached Files


Edited by cyberloner, 22 August 2006 - 06:01 PM.

CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#122
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
So people don't forget that their e-mails are checked by NOD32? I guess it makes people feel even more comfortable in their pajamas... :P

#123
cyberloner

cyberloner

    CyberMania.ws

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 19-July 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
just trying ... lol
nod install too fast cannot even see the installation...
hope it is as good as the ppl around the forum talking about....
CyberMania
AMD FX 8350 Vishera | Scythe Ninja 2 | ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 | Micron VALUE DDR3 2X 4GB 1333MHZ (OC 1866MHZ) | SAPPHIRE HD7770 | 27" Samsung P2770H | 2X WD 2TB Black | CM iGreen Power 600W | Klipsch ProMedia GMX A-2.1 | X-FI Titanium | CM ELITE 430

#124
bonestonne

bonestonne

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • Joined 27-July 05
i use avast, its compatible with vista, and i like the boot time scan, its something that i find useful.

New Machine:
|Dual Intel Xeon E5-2620--Xigmatek SD1283 DK-II x2|Asus Z9PA-D8--HR-55 IFX|Intel 530 Series 240GB SSD SATA3|32gb DDR3-1600 ECC RDIMM|WD Blue 640GB SATA2 x2|Apple Slim Keyboard|Apple Mighty Mouse|nVidia GTX660ti 2GB|Antec HCG-750|NZXT Source 210 Elite|M-Audio ProFire 2626|Art TubeOpto8 with Smooth Plate Tube Swap|Avid Artist Mix x2|Acer S211 HL-BD x2|

Old Machine:
||Core 2 Quad Q9400||Scythe Ninja||MSI Neo P45||Thermalright HR-05||M-Audio ProFire 2626||Cooler Master Elite 330||
||Apple Mighty Mouse||150GB WD Raptor HDD||640GB WD Blue||HL DVD+/-RW||nVidia GTX260||
||8GB DDR2-800 Dual Channel||Corsair 400CW PSU||Dell basic USB KB||150GB WD Raptor||2x 22" LCD||
||Boston Acoustic mains + Creative sub||Innovation Cooling Diamond 7 TIM||


#125
Code-E

Code-E

    Binary is fun

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 17-August 06
Currently I am using McAfee but personally I would have to say Kaspersky is the most affective.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN