Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Multi Manufacturer Pre-Activation

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
553 replies to this topic

#26
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

Manufacturer: Elitegroup Co.
Model: i-Buddie
456C6974 6567726F 75702043 6F2E2020 20202020 20202020 20202020 20202020

Hope this helps

:hello:


I don't thing this unit uses preactivation :( Also notice that the manufacturers name has 18 spaces after it, this is the reason I converted the string to hex.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Bilou_Gateux

Bilou_Gateux

    Powered by Windows Embedded

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts

This is what I need my script to do:
Run SMBIOS (I think /G) and redirect the output to a text file
Search the output file for the "System Information" section
Search the "System Information" section for the "Manufacturer" line
Convert the manufacturer string into hex and replace the OEMBIOS files with files named with the hex string.

My script would not have to be modified when you by another PC from a a new manufacturer all you have to do is collect the OEMBIOS files from your new computer rename them with the manufacturer's hex string (I've already written these scripts) and drop the files onto your CD.



@for /f "tokens=1* delims=: " %%i in ('smbiosd /t:1 ^|findstr "Manufacturer"') do @set "Manufacturer=%%j" &@call echo/%Manufacturer%


Previous script based from an original script by Yzöwl
for converting manufacturer string into hex with batch script, ask Yzöwl batch expert. If you use vbs or wsh, you could not run the script @T39

Edited by Bilou_Gateux, 27 April 2006 - 07:47 AM.

OS Version = 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
Platform ID = 2 (NT)
Service Pack = 3.0
Suite = 0x0140
Product Type = 1
Architecture = x86

#28
Djé

Djé

    accent artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 359 posts
May I suggest the attached script for including conversion to hex...

It may not be very elegant, but it should work at any time as soon as CMD.EXE works (@T39,...).

EDIT3 :blushing: : repaired the broken handling of spaces. Simplified and commented the code.

optimized version --> the Hex conversion works with some of the 7-bits printable ASCII characters: 32 (x20: <space>) to 126(x7E: ~).
Many many many problems with the double quote (") and the CMD special characters (&<|>^). Yappari.

Hex codes grouped by 4, separated with spaces.

Attached Files


Edited by Djé, 27 April 2006 - 11:03 PM.

Those who do not learn from History are doomed to repeatedly fail their History exams.

#29
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
I'n using this line of code
for /F "tokens=1* delims='" %%a in ('smbios.exe /G ^|findstr "Manufacturer"') do converttohex.bat "%%b"
Currently it is calling converttohex each time it encounters the string "Manufacturer". How can I make only call converttohex for the first occurance.

#30
Djé

Djé

    accent artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 359 posts

Currently it is calling converttohex each time it encounters the string "Manufacturer". How can I make only call converttohex for the first occurance.

If you would use the smbiosd linked to by indy_dba, and use the '/t:1' switch as shown by bilou, I think you would have only ONE occurance of "Manufacturer".

Search the output file for the "System Information" section
Search the "System Information" section for the "Manufacturer" line

the '/t:1' switch perform your 1st point, and the 'FOR' loop the 2nd ;)


However, if you want to stick to IBM's SMBIOS which I don't know and may not have the same switch, you can exit the loop after the first occurance by doing it this way:
for /F "tokens=1* delims='" %%a in ('smbios.exe /G ^|findstr "Manufacturer"') do (
converttohex.bat "%%b"
GOTO ENDFOR
)
:ENDFOR

Edited by Djé, 27 April 2006 - 03:29 PM.

Those who do not learn from History are doomed to repeatedly fail their History exams.

#31
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
I think I have a working set of files. Extract these files to your hard drive and run GetOEMFiles.bat then copy the files to the $OEM$ directory of your CD. I haven't tested these yet but it looks good.

You don't have to use my cmdlies.txt file but you need to run RestoreOEMFiles.bat before WFP starts protecting the files (I think T-9)

If anyone has a Manufacturer's string that contains a ' or a " (single quote or double quote) or anyone else for that matter let me know if it works.

Attachment Removed - See Post #34

Edited by Bezalel, 01 May 2006 - 12:13 AM.


#32
Bilou_Gateux

Bilou_Gateux

    Powered by Windows Embedded

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
Mitec GetSysInfo.exe will not be available for one year.

Instead of using IBM smbios tool, why not using:
Compname.exe was written using the excellent Mitec SysInfo by Michal Mutl (see www.mitec.d2.cz) and Indy.

@for /F "tokens=2* delims=: " %%i in ('compname /s ^|findstr /L /c:"System	manufacturer"') do @set Manufacturer=%%j &@call manufacturerhex "%%j"

EDIT: previous script modified to trim any leading/trailing spaces &call Djé script.

Djé manufacturerhex.cmd script modified to take manufacturer string as 1st parameter

FOR /F "tokens=1* delims=: " %%i IN ('smbiosd /t:1 ^|findstr "Manufacturer"') DO SET "TEST=%%j"
SET TEST=%1
SET TEST=%TEST:"=%

echo Manufacturer: %TEST%


Edited by Bilou_Gateux, 12 June 2006 - 08:59 AM.

OS Version = 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
Platform ID = 2 (NT)
Service Pack = 3.0
Suite = 0x0140
Product Type = 1
Architecture = x86

#33
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

Instead of using IBM smbios tool, why not using:
Compname.exe was written using the excellent Mitec SysInfo by Michal Mutl (see www.mitec.d2.cz) and Indy.

@for /f "tokens=1* delims=:" %%i in ('compname /s ^|findstr /L /c:"System	manufacturer"') do @set Manufacturer=%%j


Because I didn't know about this program. At this stage I'm going to stay with smbios2.exe because it is a well known product and I can freely distribute it.

If someone writes an executable thet will output just the Manufacturer's String with no additional formatting I might change my script to use it.

Feel free to use whatever method you like in your own script but please don't use this thread to distribute these changes yet (unless my code is broken). There are a number of enhancements (OEMLOGO.BMP, OEMINFO.INI, Signature checking, Verifying SLP Status, SFX Support) that I want to add and don't want this project to be pulled in too many directions

#34
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
I removed the attachment from post 31 bacause it failed on my PC. Apparently .VBS is not associated with wscript at T-12. My next test is to chance the line
setEnvVar.vbs "%%b"
to
wscript setEnvVar.vbs "%%b"
and see what happens. If this works I will repost the files.

#35
mittern8

mittern8
  • Member
  • 8 posts
Hello and greetings from YerMoney!
This is my first time posting on this board, so let me start with telling you, that I'm deeply impressed by the threads I read tonite.
I focused mainly on the 'works' of Bezalel, because I'm trying to figure out, which part of the DMI-table is checked to see whether the installed Windows is pre-activated or not.

My first guess was the "Manufacturer"-string, since I was able to install a pre-activated (SLP) OEM Windows on a different mainboard after I patched the "Manufacturer"-string in this boards DMI-table.
Well, this worked like a charme!

Now it is interesting to see that you're trying to get rid of the problem to keep the pre-activation the other way round - by exchanging the OEMBIOS-files on the setup media (as far as I understand this thread).
Anyway - patching the DMI-table or collecting a pool of different oembios-files - I greatly apreciate the fact, that this thread gives a collection of different manufacturer strings!
So here is my contribution

Manufacturer: MEDIONPC
Model: AWRDACPI
4D454449 4F4E5043


Oh, and by the way, a very informative tool is available from german compu-mag c't, named ctdmi.exe and bundled in ctbios15.zip - unfortunately only available in german.
the problem of human relation is communication

#36
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

I'm trying to figure out, which part of the DMI-table is checked to see whether the installed Windows is pre-activated or not.


SLP Activation doesn't check the DMI tables, it searches through a specific memory address range looking for a particular string. The OEMs provide the address range and string to MS who encrypt them and provide the OEMs with an OEMBIOS file set.

#37
mittern8

mittern8
  • Member
  • 8 posts
I'll reply to that more detailed later on (it's early morning over here in Germany and I want to check a few things first).
But ...

SLP Activation doesn't check the DMI tables, it searches through a specific memory address range looking for a particular string.


Even if SLP activation doesn't check the DMI tables itself, the manufacturer string for sure derives from the DMI table data.
Otherwise I wouldn't have been successfull in patching the string in the DMI table and keep the pre-activation working on atotally different hardware leaving OEMBIOS files untouched.
In my opinion this is a more than sufficient practical proof.

To verify this (theoretically) we have to ask how and from where the WMI does collect it's infos.

For example:
With the function you use, you retrieve the "Manufacturer-" and the "Model-String".
This "Model-String" is non existent in the DMI tables, but instead I discovered it in the ACPI APIC table ("OEM TABLE ID") - where you (vice versa) won't find a "Manufacturer-String".
Even though the "Model-String" is (yet) of no interest for the pre-activation (but it will become important in concern of Trusted Computing), it leads me to the conclusion that the WMI data is collected from different sources (DMI table, ACPI APIC table and so on) and compiled to the WMI database.
So my intension is to find out what data sources should be examined and how the chances are to modify them.

Some thoughts on "Trusted Computing":
Posted Image

Edited by mittern8, 23 May 2006 - 10:43 PM.

the problem of human relation is communication

#38
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
Maybe I should clarify my last post. SLP doesn't browse the DMI or SMBIOS tables for a specific entry, instead it searches for the sting within a specific range. The manufacturer may choose to search from 000E:4000 to 000F:FFFF (the entire BIOS) to allow for flexibility in BIOS design and allow them to place the string anywhere in their BIOS. They may also choose to use their name as the search string.

WMI uses multiple sources for its data. I think the manufacturer and model originate from SMBIOS.

#39
mittern8

mittern8
  • Member
  • 8 posts

Maybe I should clarify my last post. SLP doesn't browse the DMI or SMBIOS tables for a specific entry, instead it searches for the sting within a specific range. The manufacturer may choose to search from 000E:4000 to 000F:FFFF (the entire BIOS) to allow for flexibility in BIOS design and allow them to place the string anywhere in their BIOS. They may also choose to use their name as the search string.

WMI uses multiple sources for its data. I think the manufacturer and model originate from SMBIOS.

Ja, okay!
So, it seems quite clear that SLP is using a different mechanism as WMI does, right?

P.S.:
I'm very keen to see how U solve the problem with the OEMBIOS files!
And, BTW, just read an articel on Windows Vista and BitLocker Drive Encryption :no:

Edited by mittern8, 24 May 2006 - 12:02 AM.

the problem of human relation is communication

#40
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts

I removed the attachment from post 31 bacause it failed on my PC. Apparently .VBS is not associated with wscript at T-12. My next test is to chance the line


You can run .vbs files from cmdlines.txt just fine, however you're limited to cscript.exe.

On another note, would it be beneficial to make a repository of the BIOS files for various makes and models?

#41
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

would it be beneficial to make a repository of the BIOS files for various makes and models?

The OEMBIOS files are MS copyrighted files, such a project would probably be considured warez.

Edited by Bezalel, 29 May 2006 - 03:58 AM.


#42
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
That was running through my mind, but I rationalized it by assuming the BIOS files would not allow you to install XP on a computer that it wasn't meant for. This would presumably mean Dell, Gateway, Emachines, etc. Furthermore, the key codes would not be a part of this, only the files. The other thing I thought about was the fact that people don't seem to have a crisis of conscious when it comes to distributing patched OS files - uxtheme.dll, tcpip.sys, etc.

I'm not a lawyer, but that was my take on it.

#43
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
I have a set of files that worked on a Dell, HP, and Toshiba PC. I made the following changes to the CD:

I deleted OEMBIOS.BI_ OEMBIOS.DA_, OEMBIOS.SI_ from the CD (make sure you leave OEMBIOS.CA_)
I removed all lines referancing any of the OEMBIOS files (including OEMBIOS.CAT) from txtsetup.sif and dosnet.inf.
I created a winnt.sif file that included a MS Generic key http://www.microsoft...y/oempreac.mspx (Home users should use a Factory Key)
I copied the files from Attached File  activation.rar   55.93KB   916 downloads to the $OEM$ directory along with the files created using Attached File  CollectFiles.rar   55.54KB   814 downloads

#44
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
Hi Bezalel,

Sorry for the newbie question, but i got abit lost on this thread. :blushing:

Do i copy the files created by the CollectFiles.rar on each of my PC's (a Dell and a HP) to the $OEM$ folder on my UAXPCD, with the files inside the activation.rar.

Then burn and run, is that correct ?

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#45
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

Sorry for the newbie question, but i got abit lost on this thread. :blushing:


Thats understandable, I myself am figuring out this process so it keeps changing


Do i copy the files created by the CollectFiles.rar on each of my PC's (a Dell and a HP) to the $OEM$ folder on my UAXPCD, with the files inside the activation.rar.


You only need the files created by CollectFiles.rar you don't need the files contained in ColletFiles.rar (The files in CollectFiles.rar are pretty sloppy and leave behind an enviroment variable but they do work.)

Here is listing of the contents of my $OEM$ directory:
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72702E.BIN
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72702E.CAT
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72702E.DAT
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72702E.SIG
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72706F726174696F6E.BIN
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72706F726174696F6E.CAT
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72706F726174696F6E.DAT
44656C6C20436F6D707574657220436F72706F726174696F6E.SIG
4865776C6574742D5061636B617264.BIN
4865776C6574742D5061636B617264.CAT
4865776C6574742D5061636B617264.DAT
4865776C6574742D5061636B617264.SIG
544F5348494241.BIN
544F5348494241.CAT
544F5348494241.DAT
544F5348494241.SIG
cmdlines.txt
CreateBatFile.vbs
RestoreOEMFiles.bat
RestoreOEMFiles.tmp
smbios2.exe

Edited by Bezalel, 30 May 2006 - 05:37 PM.


#46
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
Thanx for the reply Bezalel,
I spent most of yesterday trying to collect the oembios file from the PC's around here,
but it looks like most have been formated and had clean installs. So the oembios files aren't any good. :(

I'm guessing i'd get into trouble asking for the files from royalty OEM's here, so i'll have to get sneaky and find them some other way to get them, before I can test this out properly.
But i'll still give it ago with the two sets I have and let you know the results.

I've got the Sony XP Pro and Compaq Home files, and I'm pretty sure i can find some Dell and HP files, its the Evesham XP Pro ones that'll be the hardest to find. :wacko:

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#47
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
Although my method is currently working SFC is aware that the files have been changed because oembios.cat was parsed before the files were changed. If the end user ever runs SFC manually they will be prompted for the oembios files that match the origional oembios.ca_ that was left on the CD. My two question now are:

When SFC parses the oembios.cat file where does it store the thumbprints of the remaining oembios files? (I am able to delete the oembios.cat file, it is not protected but SFC still knows that the files aren't origional)

Can I run cscript.exe from DetachedProgram? (To replace oembios.cat before it is parsed.)

Presetup.cmd looks interesting but I'm trying to keep away from hacked binariess

#48
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
I'm not sure about cscript.exe from DetachedProgram, but I'm sure a compiled AutoIt script would work just fine.

#49
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

Thanx for the reply Bezalel,
I spent most of yesterday trying to collect the oembios file from the PC's around here,
but it looks like most have been formated and had clean installs. So the oembios files aren't any good. :(

I'm guessing i'd get into trouble asking for the files from royalty OEM's here, so i'll have to get sneaky and find them some other way to get them, before I can test this out properly.
But i'll still give it ago with the two sets I have and let you know the results.

I've got the Sony XP Pro and Compaq Home files, and I'm pretty sure i can find some Dell and HP files, its the Evesham XP Pro ones that'll be the hardest to find. :wacko:


For about 3 months I didn't go into a certain CompUSA because I was almost caught collecting oembios files and factory keys from floor models. Its easier to get the files from a laptop because you can naturally rest you hand over your USB drive.

BTW You only need one set of files to test the CD.

#50
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

I'm not sure about cscript.exe from DetachedProgram, but I'm sure a compiled AutoIt script would work just fine.

I had previously kept away from AutoIt because I thought it needed a runtime to be installed. Now that you have shown me the light, I'm adding AutoIt to my collection of development tools.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN