Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Multi Manufacturer Pre-Activation

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
553 replies to this topic

#51
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
I have OEMBIOS for:
Compaq - Home & Pro
Dell - Home & Pro
Emachine - Home
HP - Home & Pro
Sony - Home

ATM these are all that I have aquired...
Let me know if you need some help, I would love to have a CD that would auto determine what brand system is being used, and then use the correct preactivation files.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Joined 05-May 06
@ Bezalel,

I was thinking of doing the same thing here at my local PCWorld on the weekend. They already hate me in there, so it won't be a problem if the they ban me. :yes:

I've got a few sets of files now, and i've made up a UA disk.
Just gotta wait till I can Ghost the PC's, before testing it out.

@ discountpc,

I was thinking along the same lines as you, having one UA disk to cover all my OEM's :yes:
Here a list of the file set I have:
Dell: Pro & Home
Sony: Pro
IBM: Pro
Compaq: Home

I'm still working my way through old backups to see if i have,
Packard Bell: Home
Evesham: Pro
NEC: Pro

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#53
vpn-user

vpn-user

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 12-May 04
On my IBM ThinkPad T41p with preactivated Windows XP Professional SP2 OEM SLP I get this:
Manufacturer: IBM
Model: 2373GEG
49424D

BTW: My unattended Windows DVD has an Installer which lets you choose which vendor files to use for preactivation. Simple as that ;-)

Edited by vpn-user, 01 June 2006 - 01:33 PM.


#54
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

BTW: My unattended Windows DVD has an Installer which lets you choose which vendor files to use for preactivation. Simple as that ;-)


What method are you using? Do you have seperate boot directories or are you replacing the files after install?

#55
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,603 posts
  • Joined 04-December 03
Posting oembios file are okay, isn't it ?
A small package will be interesting ...

#56
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
PM me

#57
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Joined 05-May 06
@Bezalel,

The numbers that make up the ID for the files, i.e. the 6F53484942412435;

6F53484942412435.BIN
6F53484942412435.CAT
6F53484942412435.DAT
6F53484942412435.SIG

Are they generated form the OS, the Hardware, or Both ?
The reason i'm asking, is most of the oembios files i've collected are from Ghost/Restore images from PC's I no longer have. Which means i don't have the ID's to go with them, so i'm at a loss as to how to name them.

I'm hoping you know the answer ito this, as it could save me a lot of messing around tomorrow, what with Ghosting/Restoring/Formating/Installing/Swearing/ Pulling Hair Out 'ing :yes:

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#58
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

@Bezalel,

The numbers that make up the ID for the files, i.e. the 6F53484942412435;

6F53484942412435.BIN
6F53484942412435.CAT
6F53484942412435.DAT
6F53484942412435.SIG

Are they generated form the OS, the Hardware, or Both ?
The reason i'm asking, is most of the oembios files i've collected are from Ghost/Restore images from PC's I no longer have. Which means i don't have the ID's to go with them, so i'm at a loss as to how to name them.

I'm hoping you know the answer ito this, as it could save me a lot of messing around tomorrow, what with Ghosting/Restoring/Formating/Installing/Swearing/ Pulling Hair Out 'ing :yes:


They are named based on the system manufacturer's name as listed in the SMBIOS table. You can look through this thread to determine how different manufacturers list their name in the SMBIOS table or use the script in the first post to find the manufacturer string. The name of the file should be the same as the hex string without the spaces. (Some manufacturer's use different strings for different models, in order for the CD to work you need to use the string of the target PC.)

#59
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Joined 05-May 06
@Bezalel,

ooop's.. I thought the script on the first post was part of the CollectFiles.rar :blushing:

Well, I spent most of yesterday messing with the OEMBIOS files, with almost total sucess B)
The Compaq Presario, would only work with the Compaq key. Bu the Sony, IBM and Dell all worked with each others keys. :thumbup
Thanks for all your help and patients.

Heres some more PC reports if you still need them.

Manufacturer: IBM
Model: 2648GG2
Model: 26478PG
Model: 266295G
49424D

Manufacturer: Compaq
Model: Presario
436F6D70 6171

Manufacturer: Sony Corporation
Model: VGN-S5XP_B
536F6E79 20436F72 706F7261 74696F6E

Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
Model: Dell DM051
44656C6C 20496E63 2E202020 20202020 20202020 20202020 20


Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#60
vpn-user

vpn-user

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 12-May 04


BTW: My unattended Windows DVD has an Installer which lets you choose which vendor files to use for preactivation. Simple as that ;-)


What method are you using? Do you have seperate boot directories or are you replacing the files after install?


I replace the 4 files after install during the sysprep process using wfpreplace.exe to get around windows file protection. That way Windows is preactivated before Windows Welcome page appears.

I' m afraid each file listing is ~12MB and no, zipping them up does not save any space so I won' t post them here. I have the files for Acer, Compaq, Dell, HP, IBM/Lenovo and Samsung.

#61
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

I replace the 4 files after install during the sysprep process using wfpreplace.exe to get around windows file protection. That way Windows is preactivated before Windows Welcome page appears.

This method wouldn't work for me bacause at T-9 setup starts a full scan which would just restore the origional files. You might be able to use parts of my script to determine the manufacturer and call wfpreplace.exe.

My goal at this point is to replace the files and have the replacement files protected by WFP.

#62
vpn-user

vpn-user

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 12-May 04


I replace the 4 files after install during the sysprep process using wfpreplace.exe to get around windows file protection. That way Windows is preactivated before Windows Welcome page appears.

This method wouldn't work for me bacause at T-9 setup starts a full scan which would just restore the origional files. You might be able to use parts of my script to determine the manufacturer and call wfpreplace.exe.

My goal at this point is to replace the files and have the replacement files protected by WFP.

I circumvent this problem by copying the I386 folder to the systemdrive and change all necessary setup paths in registry. And the I also replace the oemfiles in this folder which then is the source where WFP will get its replacement files from.

Can you send me your script, anyway? Automating the whole process would be nice :)

BTW I replace the files AFTER setup during the sysprep process which means after T-0 :-)

Edited by vpn-user, 05 June 2006 - 03:06 PM.


#63
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

I circumvent this problem by copying the I386 folder to the systemdrive and change all necessary setup paths in registry. And the I also replace the oemfiles in this folder which then is the source where WFP will get its replacement files from.

Replacing the oembios files in the source won't make WFP use your replacement files (somehow it knows that the replacement files aren't origional) it only prevents WFP from finding the origional files to restore.

Can you send me your script, anyway? Automating the whole process would be nice :)

The current version is located at http://www.msfn.org/...ndpost&p=512579.

#64
vpn-user

vpn-user

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts
  • Joined 12-May 04

Replacing the oembios files in the source won't make WFP use your replacement files (somehow it knows that the replacement files aren't origional) it only prevents WFP from finding the origional files to restore.

You' re right. But I don' t really care about WFP because I also use patched uxtheme.dll, tcpip.sys and legitcheckcontrol.dll (all selectable within installer)...

#65
RogueSpear

RogueSpear

    OS: SimplyMEPIS

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,529 posts
  • Joined 18-September 04

My goal at this point is to replace the files and have the replacement files protected by WFP.


You'll need to somehow register the associated .cat file with WFP. I remember seeing a thread about this issue over RyanVM's forums quite some time ago. You may want to check out certutil.exe (by default located in System32).

#66
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

Posting oembios file are okay, isn't it ?
A small package will be interesting ...


I am creating a repository for OEMBIOS files. The entrypoint will be http://www.oembios.net. I don't have the hardware to test these files so PM me letting me know if they work for you or not (if not please specify your PCs model#). If you nedd a specific OEMBIOS set or have one to offer please PM me. I have the following sets and will post them as they are ready:

Acer
Compaq
Dell
Dell (Server)
E-Machines
HP
IBM
Samsung
Sony
Toshiba

Note: I will not be able to reply to all messages but will read them all.

Edited by Bezalel, 29 November 2006 - 09:30 AM.


#67
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Joined 05-May 06
Anybody else like the idea of collecting Oemlogo.bmp, Oeminfo.ini and Oem Wallpaper's ?
Incase they can be added to the script later.

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#68
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

Anybody else like the idea of collecting Oemlogo.bmp, Oeminfo.ini and Oem Wallpaper's ?
Incase they can be added to the script later.


I plan to add oemlogo.bmp support in later versions and to genererate oeminfo.ini from the SMBIOS table. I have no immediate plans for wallpapers but will provide a method to call a manufacturer specific batch files.

#69
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Joined 05-May 06

I plan to add oemlogo.bmp support in later versions and to genererate oeminfo.ini from the SMBIOS table.

OK, i'll keep collecting up the Oemlogo's then, i might not bother with the wallpapers. It maybe going a little too far. :whistle:

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#70
SecretNinja

SecretNinja

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 05-August 04
Manufacturer: Acer
Model: TravelMate C300
41636572 20202020 20202020 202020

#71
bober

bober

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 17-March 05
i have tested HP pro and home on a HP Pavillon. both work without problems.

my source for Gateway has not come thru,yet. :(

#72
FreeStyler

FreeStyler

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Joined 07-June 06
  • OS:none specified
Manufacturer: MEDIONPC
Model: MS-7012
4D454449 4F4E5043

Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation
Model: Dimension 8300			   
44656C6C 20436F6D 70757465 7220436F 72706F72 6174696F 6E

btw, there is a other, easier way to install Windows XP OEM SLP media, on different brands of oem, just pick one brand of which you have valid OEM media and run a batch command / boot floppy and change the DMI BIOS "System Manufacturer" string into (for example: MEDIONPC) the one you have and it will install without problems,
no serial, activation or validation required :)

This all can be done with use of a DOS DMI-Editor program that needs to be run from pure DOS, it can run under XP Command_prompt allthough you cannot change anything!

Run it using command: dmi /p
Press "Page Down" once and edit the "System Information" Manufacturer string, press "Enter" info is being saved to BIOS DMI table, Tested & working on both AMI & AWARD bioses ;)

HP pc need two lines edited, eg: "System information" Manufacturer and Base Board information" Manufacturer both with "Hewlett-Packard"

there are command-line commands you could run without it showing the gui, eg:

dmi /sm "Hewlett-Packard"
dmi /bm "Hewlett-Packard"

dmi /sm "IBM Corporation"

dmi /sm "MEDIONPC"

this method is tested with HP ("Hewlett-Packard"), IBM ("IBM Corporation") and MEDION ("MEDIONPC") brand pc's

Edited by FreeStyler, 12 June 2006 - 03:03 AM.

Posted Image

#73
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Joined 05-May 06
@Bezalel
I was talking an Admin at work about this thread, while trying to get info on the servers. :whistle:

He asked an interesting question, that I said i'd pass on;
Could the scripts in the activation.rar be limited to using only the first 8 or 10 digits of the Manufacturers Hex ?
That way you shouldn't need a load of OEM filesets for Dell's, Acer's and HP's.

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------


#74
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

Could the scripts in the activation.rar be limited to using only the first 8 or 10 digits of the Manufacturers Hex ?
That way you shouldn't need a load of OEM filesets for Dell's, Acer's and HP's.

You can always add the following line to your own code
MfgHex=Left(MfgHex,8)
I will not be adding this for the following reasons:
It is possible that a manufacturer uses different oembios sets for different lines. (if this becomes an issue I can always rewrite the code to include the model#)
If you are using identical sets they will only be stored once on the CD
Limiting your self to 8 characters only compares the first 4 charachters of the name and once I go over 8 charachters, I don't care how far I go

If there are users who have a problem with long file names than I'd suggest hashing the manufacturer string with CRC32 (I was origionally hoping to use CRC32 but vbscript doesn't have the correct datatypes to perform CRC32)

#75
ZaForD

ZaForD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Joined 05-May 06
Thanks Bezalel, i'll pass on the info. :)

Posted Image
-------------- Posted Image --------------





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users