Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Office 2007, Unattended Setup & Fine-tuning

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
327 replies to this topic

#276
RBCC

RBCC

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
I can't get the this to give the user the above screen, what's wrong? John


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#277
oioldman

oioldman

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 969 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
RBCC
I can see that all line seem to have been commented out.
i.e they all look like this::
<!--
<Display Level="full" CompletionNotice="yes" SuppressModal="no" AcceptEula="no" />
-->

remove the::
<!--
&
-->

try again and see what goes
"Information on the Internet is subject to the same rules and regulations as conversation at a bar" Dr George Lundberg

Search: To make a thorough examination of; look over carefully in order to find something; explore.

Antec P182 containing 8GB DDR2 Corsair & Intel Quad 6600 plugged in to Asus P5E-VM HDMI running W7 Professional

#278
RBCC

RBCC

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
so the <!-- & --!> are comments??? John

#279
PC_LOAD_LETTER

PC_LOAD_LETTER

    Well, I stole something else

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,829 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

so the <!-- & --!> are comments??? John

well technically <!-- and --> (no exclamations on close brackets) but yeah anything in coment markers is ignored.

#280
Black Diamond

Black Diamond
  • Member
  • 1 posts
My apologies, I tried to read through many of the posts in this thread before posting and did not see an answer.

Is there anyway to get this to work with users not having admin rights?

I can get it to work fine as an admin but we would like to do the silent install via a login script if it is possible.

#281
StormBowler

StormBowler
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i followed unattended option A: i configured all the settings i wanted, saved the custom.msp to the \updates forlder. but when i exe the setup i get the same pop up windows described in the first post post. this may be a dumb question but; do i have to select upgrade or custom for the install to finish? and once the install finishes with no errors then i go back to the .msp and turn off all notifications?

thanks in advance for your time.

#282
NoUserName

NoUserName

    No Title

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
After a lot of searching in different websites and several forums I've found this topic might be the most appropriate one that I may assk for.
Please any one did done this unattended setup for office 2007 correctly?
Any one done this with latest service pack 1?
Any how or way to do the same shrink as the way it was with 2oo3?
Please I do appreciate your time but would love to find some quick reply to determine if I can do it or not as we need to have a mass reinstallation for many computers tomorrow in the morning and I'd like to make it more easily for the team.
Thanks and much appreciated.
Spoiler

#283
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

........but when i exe the setup i get the same pop up windows described in the first post post.
...do i have to select upgrade or custom for the install to finish?
and once the install finishes with no errors then i go back to the .msp and turn off all notifications?

If that same window (as in the first post) pops up, then you're on the right track.
You have to click Upgrade (or in most cases, click Install for fresh install). Do not click custom, because then your MSP file isnt even used.
And yes, once the install finishes without errors, you turn off notification via the MSP file.


Please any one did done this unattended setup for office 2007 correctly?
Any one done this with latest service pack 1?
Any how or way to do the same shrink as the way it was with 2oo3?
Please I do appreciate your time but would love to find some quick reply to determine if I can do it or not as we need to have a mass reinstallation for many computers tomorrow in the morning and I'd like to make it more easily for the team.

Yes, I can confirm that this works, to setup office 2007 unattendedly (maybe redundant, since you want confirmation from others?)
And yes, I did this with the latest SP1, and it works - just extract and put the relevant MSP update files in the Updates folder (as mentioned in first post).
As for shrinking the setup files of Office 2007, I'm yet to see any info regarding that, chances are that it is not possible with what we know so far.
All the best MGB, the mass re-installation should go a bit quicker and easier for the team with this method (thats why we all want unattended after all).
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#284
NoUserName

NoUserName

    No Title

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Please any one did done this unattended setup for office 2007 correctly?
Any one done this with latest service pack 1?
Any how or way to do the same shrink as the way it was with 2oo3?
Please I do appreciate your time but would love to find some quick reply to determine if I can do it or not as we need to have a mass reinstallation for many computers tomorrow in the morning and I'd like to make it more easily for the team.

Yes, I can confirm that this works, to setup office 2007 unattendedly (maybe redundant, since you want confirmation from others?)
And yes, I did this with the latest SP1, and it works - just extract and put the relevant MSP update files in the Updates folder (as mentioned in first post).
As for shrinking the setup files of Office 2007, I'm yet to see any info regarding that, chances are that it is not possible with what we know so far.
All the best MGB, the mass re-installation should go a bit quicker and easier for the team with this method (thats why we all want unattended after all).

Thanks a lot, is it possible to do so using wpi or nlite?
Spoiler

#285
xipe

xipe
  • Member
  • 2 posts
tem para baixar o office 2007 em cab?

obrigado

#286
xipe

xipe
  • Member
  • 2 posts
[Inglês] have to download the cab file on office 2007?

thanks

#287
condor

condor

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It is possible to make office 2007 with sp2 and to have only 700MB?

#288
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi condor, yes it is possible.
As usual, extract the MSP files for office 2007 into the Updates folder. When I did that to include SP2 with Office 2007 Standard Edition, the total size was below 700 MB. You want to be able to write this to a CD, isn't it?
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#289
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,739 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sadly though, Office '07 ultimate with SP2 is over 900 megs :(

#290
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Indeed sad, I wish there was some way to strip down the Office 2007 install files (or even to TRULY merge service packs instead of the current ham handed way - and disable MSOcache creation).
It could be argued though, that the standard edition provides pretty much all the apps a normal user needs, and thus stay below 700 MB.
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#291
PiRaT3iToR

PiRaT3iToR
  • Member
  • 4 posts
We have Windows XP sp3 .My wife purchased a volume edition
Office 2007 ENTERPRISE from work. The installation stalls at the installation
progress screen then a dialogue opens with the message:

'Setup cannot find cannot find office.en-us\officeLR.cab. Browse to a valid
installation source then click OK
'


This file does exist on the dvd but pointing the installation to the correct location doesn’t work. :wacko:

Can help me?

Edit :
Solved with microsoft installer !! :thumbup

Edited by PiRaT3iToR, 12 May 2009 - 06:43 AM.


#292
Robku

Robku
  • Member
  • 2 posts
I installed Office 2007 (Dutch) on a server share. The folder looks like below...

11-05-2009 10:35 <DIR> ACCESS.NL-NL
11-05-2009 10:36 <DIR> ADMIN
13-11-2006 06:54 175 AUTORUN.INF
11-05-2009 10:29 <DIR> CATALOG
11-05-2009 10:29 <DIR> EXCEL.NL-NL
11-05-2009 10:30 <DIR> INFOPATH.NL-NL
11-05-2009 10:31 <DIR> OFFICE.NL-NL
11-05-2009 10:30 <DIR> OFFICE64.NL-NL
11-05-2009 10:31 <DIR> OUTLOOK.NL-NL
11-05-2009 10:31 <DIR> POWERPOINT.NL-NL
11-05-2009 10:31 <DIR> PROOFING.NL-NL
11-05-2009 11:10 <DIR> PROPLUS.WW
11-05-2009 10:34 <DIR> PUBLISHER.NL-NL
13-11-2006 06:53 2.503 README.HTM
11-05-2009 10:34 <DIR> ROSEBUD.NL-NL
13-11-2006 06:54 463.152 SETUP.EXE
11-05-2009 10:34 <DIR> UPDATES
11-05-2009 10:35 <DIR> WORD.NL-NL

In the PROPLUS.WW I made changes to the config.xml...
I made a GPO that installs the PROPLUSWW.MSI (located in the PROPLUS.WW)
Installations to a workstation works fine. No problem at all. The application is not installed in production yet.

Now I want to add SP2 to this installation. Can someone please explain how to do this... Can I use the Update directorie? I thought this will not work, because this directorie will only be used when you use the setup. I use the MSI. Is there a way how I can slipstream the installation of SP2 into this setup. There are no PS's installed yet.

Regards,
Rob

#293
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@Robku
Yes, just extract the MSP files that you extract from the SP2 archive, into the Updates folder.
It will be used regardless of whether you use the MSI or SETUP.EXE.

Incidentally, atleast a few editions dis-allow using the MSI to install, leaving you with no other option anyway. Put in the arguments and other customizations you want into the customization MSP and into the config.xml, and just start the SETUP.EXE directly.

Edited by prathapml, 16 May 2009 - 11:16 PM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#294
badsc9

badsc9
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Hi all

I was thinking about how does the script look like if you just want to make the whope pack unattended without taking some of the programs out the reason why I ask is becuase I have been sitting and tried a few things and well it does't really look like it's installing more then like five programs out of nine sow how does the script look like bout the script where you have enabled the program to be installed but also the script where you have disabled the program to be installed if anyone know the answer plese through a line of two and maybe highlight the topics where there have been made a change

best regards

Badsc9 and thanks

PS: by the way it's a great site sow to the people behind it keep up the good work it means alot to alot of us :-)


Option B:
1. Go to the folder-path, "Office2007\Pro.WW" (or any ??????.WW folder for other editions such as standard/enterprise/etc)
2. Modify "config.xml", or copy it to somewhere else & modify it, using my posted code below as a sample.
3. If you modified it "in location", then setup will take up the changes automatically.
4. Otherwise, place the modified file in the same folder of setup.exe, as custom-uA.XML
5. This is the command to run setup with the customizations specified in custom-uA.XML: setup.exe /config custom-uA.XML

7. This method is also a great way to make changes to the defaults itself, so that you dont need to keep changing it upon every new time you install it. The sample XML here, makes setup fully silent, cuts down features rarely used by me, and reduces install footprint of Office 2007 Professional from 721 MB, to 303 MB (of course you can always add/remove components later); I've also removed lines that I found useless from it, you might like to keep many of the default lines & customize them. Also, be aware that the XML offers a way to chain updates & install them before or after o2k7 setup, but then you'll lose control over reboot parameters. By default, o2k7 setup wont cause an auto-reboot, so no need of "/noreboot" or "Reboot=ReallySuppress" properties. I intend this XML to be used for clean installs, with no previous version settings or profiles to be migrated. Use "start /wait" for silent installs. This file is for the main suite, you can modify it accordingly for the other component products, the options are commented with double-slashes. I obtained the OptionIds from setup.xml files, in each component folder.


Here's a tested/working config.xml file, to get you started with Option B:
(you need to put in your own key, and configuration-Product can be obtained from your current xml)

<Configuration Product="Pro">	<Display Level="none" CompletionNotice="no" SuppressModal="yes" AcceptEula="yes" />		<PIDKEY Value="BCDFGHJKMPQRTVWXY2346789B" />	<USERNAME Value="0wner" />	<COMPANYNAME Value="0wn Inc." />		<OptionState Id="ACCESSFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //access	<OptionState Id="OUTLOOKFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //outlook	<OptionState Id="PubPrimary" State="absent" Children="force" /> //publisher	<OptionState Id="AceRepl" State="absent" Children="force" /> //access db Engine replication	<OptionState Id="CAGFiles" State="Local" Children="force" /> //Clip Organizer	<OptionState Id="MSSOAP3" State="absent" Children="force" /> //SOAP toolkit	<OptionState Id="OsaNonBoot" State="Local" Children="force" /> //new,open office docu lnks	<OptionState Id="ProofingTools_1036" State="absent" Children="force" /> //french	<OptionState Id="ProofingTools_3082" State="absent" Children="force" /> //spanish	<OptionState Id="WISPFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //handwriting	<OptionState Id="DocServicesFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //docu update util	<OptionState Id="HTMLSourceEditing" State="absent" Children="force" /> //script editor	<OptionState Id="DocumentImagingUtils" State="absent" Children="force" /> //scanning,ocr,indexing	<OptionState Id="OISFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //picture manager	<OptionState Id="OSESupp" State="absent" Children="force" /> //sharepoint support	<OptionState Id="QueryFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //msQuery	<OptionState Id="VisioPreviewerFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //visio viewer	<OptionState Id="XDOCSFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //infopath	<!-- These are additionals from Enterprise RTM<OptionState Id="GrooveFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //groove<OptionState Id="OneNoteFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //onenote<OptionState Id="RefIEBarFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //research explorer bar<OptionState Id="WebDriveFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //hosted webs<OptionState Id="VBAFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //VB for applications<OptionState Id="OfficeDigitalSFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //vba certificates	 --></Configuration>
The procedure is same for all other editions of Office 2007. The above is just a working sample, you'd need to put in an appropriate key & modify as per your needs.


If you downloaded a single SETUP.EXE (500-MB?) from MSDN, then you might need to extract it to some folder, to get the installation source.
setup.exe /extract:D:\o2k7



#295
Robku

Robku
  • Member
  • 2 posts

@Robku
Yes, just extract the MSP files that you extract from the SP2 archive, into the Updates folder.
It will be used regardless of whether you use the MSI or SETUP.EXE.

Incidentally, at least a few editions dis-allow using the MSI to install, leaving you with no other option anyway. Put in the arguments and other customizations you want into the customization MSP and into the config.xml, and just start the SETUP.EXE directly.


So in my case... the extracted files from the update do not allow installing via an MSI. I tried... did not succeed... Just the standard files are installed, no updates...
I still want to use the MSI, because it is so easy to put a computer in a security group (with GPO) and the application is installed and uninstalled when I remove the SG.
If I use the setup, it will run in User context I guess? So a normal user does not have the proper rights... And... When it is installed... It can't be removed by simply removing the GPO from the computer?

Regards
Rob

#296
majorg

majorg
  • Member
  • 1 posts
I've created a custom.msp file, and the Office 2007 deployment is successful via group policy, but Office 2003 is not removed as requested. Having done quite a lot of research, it seems that Office 2003 will only be removed automatically if it was deployed via group policy, and not installed manually as is the case in my organisation. Any ideas how I can upgrade and remove Office 2003 at the same time?

Regards,
Geoff

#297
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I've created a custom.msp file, and the Office 2007 deployment is successful via group policy, but Office 2003 is not removed as requested. Having done quite a lot of research, it seems that Office 2003 will only be removed automatically if it was deployed via group policy, and not installed manually as is the case in my organisation. Any ideas how I can upgrade and remove Office 2003 at the same time?

If the old version isn't being removed, you might have to run a one-time command that all computers must execute at next logon. For example:
MsiExec.exe /X{10140000-0011-0000-0000-0000000FF1CE}
You can find the exact product components to uninstall and their GUID codes in the registry key:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
You can also refer to this URL for GUID info and explanations - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/832672


So in my case... the extracted files from the update do not allow installing via an MSI. I tried... did not succeed... Just the standard files are installed, no updates...
I still want to use the MSI, because it is so easy to put a computer in a security group (with GPO) and the application is installed and uninstalled when I remove the SG.
If I use the setup, it will run in User context I guess? So a normal user does not have the proper rights... And... When it is installed... It can't be removed by simply removing the GPO from the computer?

Hmm, for these purposes, an enterprise edition (or VLK license) is the best for ActiveDirectory environments. Other editions don't like to pickup MSP files from the Updates folder, as I mentioned. For me to suggest any workaround, may I ask which edition you are using?


I was thinking about how does the script look like if you just want to make the whole pack unattended, without taking some of the programs out

You are using Option B from the first post of this thread. The config.xml file i've posted there is just an example, and you'd have to modify it as per your needs. The XML code there, as you can see, has comments to the right side of relevant lines, which mention how to force install or NOT install specific components of the suite. You probably want to do a straight-forward install, with the default set of components installed, and no customization of removing components. Therefore, if you don't want to customize a particular setting/component, simply don't mention it in the XML file. So that is how you can go about doing what you mentioned in your post.

Edited by prathapml, 26 May 2009 - 11:42 AM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#298
blindreaper

blindreaper
  • Member
  • 2 posts
How do i do an unattended setup without a product key?
It seems im always asked for one.

#299
DraGula0

DraGula0
  • Member
  • 2 posts
Hi Guys,

Do you know, how it's possible to desactivate the "pop-up" when you open Office 2007 for the first time ?

I have modified some parameters in my MSP file. But no effect.

FYI, I use Office 2007 Enterprise SP2 MUI, with MSP file and XML configuration...



Thanks :)
Greg


Here is the screenshot

Posted Image

#300
Salvadore

Salvadore
  • Member
  • 3 posts
First of all, thank you for all valuable information shared here.

Also, are you sure you are using a volume licensed version (non-pirated?) that supports using MSPs ?
If you're using a retail edition, use Option B.

Has anybody tried to add Admin folder into the root of Office 2007 retail version (to enable OCT). Here's a quick tutorial how to grab Admin folder: link

Followed the steps, but in my case didn't replace (cause I have Office 2007 pro retail version), just added Admin folder and "setup.exe /admin" is working, now. :thumbup

However, haven't tried installation after creating custom .MSP. Just want to make sure - Is it workable solution?

EDIT: Installation went just fine. That means non-VL(K) editions of Office 2007 can use OCT with custom made .MSP! :w00t:

"Admin" folder (from AdminTemplates.exe) has been available since 10/11/2007. :rolleyes: Latest one (SP2) can be found here (4/29/2009). Update/add "Admin" folder whether you have VL(K) or non-VL(K). It requires Office 2007 with SP2, but I have doubt about it. :unsure:

Edited by Salvadore, 15 June 2009 - 05:30 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN