Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Office 2007, Unattended Setup & Fine-tuning

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
327 replies to this topic

#301
icemanzh

icemanzh

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 20-June 09
Hi guys,

First of all, thanks Prathapml for the step-by-step, tryed both with the same result, f**... GREAT !
But...

I've also added it to xp sp3 using the "Option B" ( config.xml ) and after the almost complete unattended install, the last screen still pops up giving the option to go online or close...and i really have to interact to close it.

Any solution for this?

Forgive me if this has been answered, i've missed it then... :blushing:

Any sugestion or solution would be apreciated, i'm just stuck at that sh** screen...

Thanks again and in advance

IcemanZH

Edited by icemanzh, 22 June 2009 - 02:24 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#302
icemanzh

icemanzh

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 20-June 09
come on guys, i even asked please...
it is just a simple question... maybe the solution is simple as well....

don't tell me that nobody as seen my last post...

thanks to anybody

IcemanZH

#303
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

How do i do an unattended setup without a product key?
It seems im always asked for one.

Hmm, haven't tried without a key. Maybe the VLK insists on a key because there's no other way of verification/activation after install? The Retail/OEM editions of Office 2007 probably allow for installing without a key, and run for 25 times before you need to insert a key and activate.


Do you know, how it's possible to desactivate the "pop-up" when you open Office 2007 for the first time ?
I have modified some parameters in my MSP file. But no effect.
FYI, I use Office 2007 Enterprise SP2 MUI, with MSP file and XML configuration...
Thanks :)
Greg
Here is the screenshot
Posted Image

Hi Greg, I have no idea how to get rid of that "pop up" as you call it. Tried a few things in the MSP and XML initially, but didn't manage to make that part silent. Maybe this can be done through a registry entry. Try this:
1. Install Windows fresh.
2. Install Office 2007 (in your customized style, in whatever way you do it) but don't start any constituent apps just yet.
3. Use a tool that allows for comparing before/after snapshots of the Registry (like RegShot) to take a first snapshot.
4. Open any app (Excel/Word/etc), click through the "pop up" with the options you want, and then maybe close the app.
5. Now take a second snapshot of the registry (RegShot?).
6. RegShot is capable of comparing the two snapshots and showing you (in text form) which registry keys were changed.
7. Read through the log of changes (made in step 6), use process of elimination to understand which key is likely to be the one you want.
8. Visit the registry, confirm it, make a .REG file of the relevant entries.
9. Install Windows fresh again, and Office 2007 with your customizations and also apply the .REG file, see if the popup is gone.
If you hit upon the solution, please do post back to this thread to let us know.


I've also added it to xp sp3 using the "Option B" ( config.xml ) and after the almost complete unattended install, the last screen still pops up giving the option to go online or close...and i really have to interact to close it.
Any solution for this?
Any sugestion or solution would be apreciated, i'm just stuck at that sh** screen...

Hi IcemanZH, immediately above is a similar issue posted by Greg. Try the same steps I've suggested to him, and please post back to let us know of the results.


Has anybody tried to add Admin folder into the root of Office 2007 retail version (to enable OCT). Here's a quick tutorial how to grab Admin folder: link

Followed the steps, but in my case didn't replace (cause I have Office 2007 pro retail version), just added Admin folder and "setup.exe /admin" is working, now. :thumbup
EDIT: Installation went just fine. That means non-VL(K) editions of Office 2007 can use OCT with custom made .MSP! :w00t:

"Admin" folder (from AdminTemplates.exe) has been available since 10/11/2007. :rolleyes: Latest one (SP2) can be found here (4/29/2009). Update/add "Admin" folder whether you have VL(K) or non-VL(K). It requires Office 2007 with SP2, but I have doubt about it. :unsure:

@Salvadore:
Thanks for the above info, it is much appreciated. This would be very helpful to those with Retail/OEM copies of the suite.
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#304
icemanzh

icemanzh

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 20-June 09
Hi prathapml,
that is not the window i spoke about...
the one i mean is really the very last of the install, where you have the options to "Go online" or "Close" the install.

anyway, the MSP method works great, i was just wondering why the other one did not close silently....

Thanks
IcemanZH

#305
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

that is not the window i spoke about...
The one i mean is really the very last of the install, where you have the options to "Go online" or "Close" the install.
Anyway, the MSP method works great, i was just wondering why the other one did not close silently....

You mean that when you use the CONFIG.XML method, there is a dialog box at the end of the install ? And this problem does not happen when you use the MSP method?
Now that is interesting, can you please post a screenshot of this dialog box?
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#306
icemanzh

icemanzh

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 20-June 09
Hi prathapml.
As i was told.... :angel here is the shot from that very last Office2007 install window.
As CONFIG.XML, I used the code from MIDIBOY, Post #13

By the way, someone asked here if there would be possible to install silently o2k7 without the Key.
Well, I can't answer to that but I have a pair of recovery DVD's from some computers and maybe the answer is inside those, since near all pc's have now pre-installed office for 60 days :whistle:

I'm far from being a geek but if I can help, just guide me through.

Thanks for this HOW TO.

IcemanZH

Attached Files


Edited by icemanzh, 26 June 2009 - 10:11 AM.


#307
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi icemanzh,
After seeing the screenshot posted above, I have a hunch that it is because of one of these. Are you sure you have all (and i mean ALL) of these options applied in the XML as mentioned in my first post in this thread? Quoted below, just to clarify what I mean. For any further details, please refer to my step-by-step description of both methods, in the first two posts of this thread.
<Display Level="none" CompletionNotice="no" SuppressModal="yes" AcceptEula="yes" />
Do post back to let me know what happens.

As for the 60-day pre-installed Office.... those are usually the result of special deals made between MS and the OEM (such as Dell, etc.). They probably install from a different installer disc, and actually use a certain key that allows for a 60-day trial.

Edited by prathapml, 26 June 2009 - 10:18 AM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#308
icemanzh

icemanzh

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 20-June 09
Hi again.
Yes, i do have that line and yes, it it just like that so the bug must come from somewhere else.

About the pre-install, I did already a couple of Recovery's and the Office is definitly in those disks.

How is it done, I don't know, but the source is the Recovery DVD so, all must be inside.

Cheers

IcemanZH

EDIT: Actualy, I did try with other codes, inclusive your's and they all result the same...
But the .MSP works like charm !!!

Edited by icemanzh, 26 June 2009 - 10:25 AM.


#309
Trigger911

Trigger911
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 01-August 09
[quote name='abhay' post='627867' date='Feb 20 2007, 02:53 AM']HI

I have a bundle of office 2007 professional and Enterprise edition .
i want to install Enterprise edition through unattended installation. But after creating the MSP file also and running the command
setup.exe /adminfile filename.msp

the setup asks whether to continue with professional or Enterprise edition

can any body help me in this matter
thanks[/quote]


[quote name='prathapml' date='Feb 21 2007, 07:15 PM' post='628490']
[quote name='abhay' post='627867' date='Feb 20 2007, 12:23 PM']I have a bundle of office 2007 professional and Enterprise edition .
i want to install Enterprise edition through unattended installation. But after creating the MSP file also and running the command
setup.exe /adminfile filename.msp


Thanks for this information I have been trying to build a network install and the place I work is a mess we still have access 2007 databases up (2007 hates them) but the installers I made kept coming up with the choose product, but I can’t wait to get to work to get this up and running. But the disc we got from MSDN has a lot more software bundled on it, but it’s pretty much every version. I just want the standard suite (Enterprise) to run but my main question that is left would you know what folders I should dump. Should I just delete all the folders with *.WW?


Thanks a ton in advance
Triggz out

#310
jkale

jkale
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 21-May 09
alright so i have probably missed it but is there a way to make it so that i dont even have to press the install button so that it just automatically installs once i open up the setup.exe also i used option B and also after i get it to the point of just opening setup.exe can i then make it into an addon for windows xp to auto install while installing xp

Edited by jkale, 25 November 2009 - 11:10 PM.


#311
girish1026

girish1026

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 25-May 09
Hi. Thanks for your post. But here, i have one question:

What do you mean by "Activation stripped out"?

Please let me know.

Thanks.

#312
MJM

MJM
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 18-January 10
This seems like the best thread to ask. So I've got Office 2007, but I needed German spelling/grammar, so I went ahead and bought the language pack.

I copied the office disc to my drive and integrated SP2 like so many guides have shown. Seems to work fine.
Now how do I integrate the language pack? Specifically, I only need to integrate the spell checking, menus and such never need to be in German.
I guess I should start by copying PROOF.DE (oddly in all caps while on my office disc it's Proof.en for instance) to the Proofing directory. Do I need to change the XML files somehow?

I also want to get rid of some of the stuff on the disc. Shrink / slim down office (hopefully enough so it can fit onto the XP disc as well). Outlook and Publisher are useless to me for instance, there are others, but I never use them so the names escape me. I've thought about just deleting the directories, but I fear that it may just mess up the install.

I don't want to do an unattended install. Just because I'd like the option to change things if I wanted to, but can I preset which features are installed, etc and go from there?


Sorry, I didn't want to read through 16 pages, but if someone wants to direct me to specific posts relating to what I'd like to do, that would be great as well.

#313
Guest_AhrimanSefid2_*

Guest_AhrimanSefid2_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --
Hi All.
Me Need Help For Install Office 2007 SP2 Silent Install.
Plz Add Command.

#314
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,252 posts
  • Joined 09-September 01
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi All.
Me Need Help For Install Office 2007 SP2 Silent Install.
Plz Add Command.

You were banned for warez, please don't come back. Banned users who try to return are banned again immediately, no questions asked, no exceptions.
MCTS Windows Internals, MCITP Server 2008 EA, MCTS MDT/BDD, MCSE/MCSA Server 2003, Server 2012, Windows 8
--------------------
Please read the rules before posting!
Please consider donating to MSFN to keep it up and running!

#315
dareda

dareda
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 06-February 10
No need for none of this man ... all you have to do is to run the setup.exe in comand promp with the switch SETUP.EXE /ADMINand than it will open the administration tool for MOS2007

#316
JWupori

JWupori
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 10-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Awsome works well except for the screen keeps opening up where you select install now or customize, here is my xml file. Any help would be great. Thanks

<Configuration Product="ProPlus">
<Display Level="none" CompletionNotice="no" SuppressModal="yes" AcceptEula="yes" />
<!-- <Logging Type="standard" Path="%temp%" Template="Microsoft Office Professional Plus Setup(*).txt" />
-->
<PIDKEY Value="OURS" />
<USERNAME Value="WORK" />
<COMPANYNAME Value="WORK" />
<OptionState Id="ACCESSFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //access
<OptionState Id="OUTLOOKFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //outlook
<OptionState Id="EXCELFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //excel
<OptionState Id="PubPrimary" State="local" Children="force" /> //publisher
<OptionState Id="PPTFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //Powerpoint
<OptionState Id="AceRepl" State="local" Children="force" /> //access db Engine replication
<OptionState Id="CAGFiles" State="Local" Children="force" /> //Clip Organizer
<OptionState Id="MSSOAP3" State="local" Children="force" /> //SOAP toolkit
<OptionState Id="WISPFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //handwriting
<OptionState Id="DocServicesFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //docu update util
<OptionState Id="HTMLSourceEditing" State="local" Children="force" /> //script editor
<OptionState Id="DocumentImagingUtils" State="local" Children="force" /> //scanning,ocr,indexing
<OptionState Id="OISFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //picture manager
<OptionState Id="OSESupp" State="local" Children="force" /> //sharepoint support
<OptionState Id="QueryFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //msQuery
<OptionState Id="VisioPreviewerFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //visio viewer
<OptionState Id="XDOCSFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //infopath
<OptionState Id="SHAREDFiles" State="local" Children="force" /> //office shared files
<OptionState Id="OsaNonBoot" State="local" Children="force" /> //new,open office docu lnks
<OptionState Id="MSOfficeDocumentImaging" State="local" Children="force" /> //office tools
</Configuration>
<!-- <INSTALLLOCATION Value="%programfiles%\Microsoft Office" /> -->
<!-- <LIS CACHEACTION="CacheOnly" /> -->
<!-- <SOURCELIST Value="\\server1\share\Office12;\\server2\share\Office12" /> -->
<!-- <DistributionPoint Location="\\server\share\Office12" /> -->
<!-- <OptionState Id="OptionID" State="absent" Children="force" /> -->
<!-- <Setting Id="Reboot" Value="IfNeeded" /> -->
<!-- <Command Path="msiexec.exe" Args="/i \\server\share\my.msi" QuietArg="/q" ChainPosition="after"
Execute="install" /> -->

#317
scop

scop
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 27-February 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi, has anyone had the following problem:

After doing an unattended setup using Office Integrator to integrate SP2 and updates and then the xml method described in this thread, microsoft update is still showing SP2 as a high-priority update.

Environment: Office 2007 Enterprise (retail), with SP2 (and hotfixes) integrated using Office Integrator. Installed unattendedly using xml method.

Office shows version SP2 MSO (12.0.6535.5002).
Add Remove programs shows "2007 Microsoft Office Suite Service Pack 2 (SP2)" under "Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007".

But microsoft update says SP2 still needs to be installed.

Any suggestions for a solution to this would be appreciated.

TIA, :).

#318
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Under the conditions you describe, the first thing I might do is to NOT use the Office Integrator, put the MSP files for SP2 and the hotfixes in the Update folder, then test the install.
See if it then accepts your SP2 as having been installed already.
If it does, then the problem is with the Office Integrator.
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#319
devotech

devotech
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 20-May 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Under the conditions you describe, the first thing I might do is to NOT use the Office Integrator, put the MSP files for SP2 and the hotfixes in the Update folder, then test the install.
See if it then accepts your SP2 as having been installed already.
If it does, then the problem is with the Office Integrator.


I am having the same issue, and I am using the update folder. Installing via .msp is not providing the marker that Windows Update is looking for. The updates are indeed installed and even show in ADD/Remove.
I am getting to the point of chaining the installs outside of the Office install.

#320
coucou

coucou

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
Hello,

As Office 2007 is very similar to Office 2010, I post this. Don't hamer me please.

I got success building the whole Office 2010 Pro Plus silent install. 687 MB.

Unfortunately, I can’t reduce it :no:
When I suppressed Access, Infopath, Publisher, Groove and the NL, DE, AR Proofing tool language (reduced to 561 MB), I got "Setup Error; The language of this package is not handled by the system” message (translated from French).
In fact, when setup is running it scan all the components, if any is missed Igot the message above.

Just as when I modified XD:\Office2010\Proofing.fr-fr\setup.xml to handle an extra language, I got "Installation Error; the installation can not continue, a request file is damaged or missed…” message (translated from French).

I’ll appreciate any help
Regards

#321
Guest_Deepanshu_*

Guest_Deepanshu_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --
If the LIS was disabled by default, the installation time could be reduced by 3 minutes approx, besides saving HDD space (because the last 3 minutes consists of copying files from CD to the LIS).




Free Themes
Free ebooks

#322
cat2115

cat2115

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 26-March 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Option A:
6. Be sure to have "completion notice" turned on & "suppress modals" turned off (this is to get to see errors, if any exist). Once you're done with testing, go thru the customization again to modify the MSP to disable completion notice & enable suppress modals.

Posted Image

I don't understand step 6 second part. Right now i have "completion notice" checked & "suppress modals" unchecked in my CUSTOM.MSP. it is okay to leave as-is since i had no error? however, it take a little longer to get to the installation screen where u click "customize" or "install" but ggod part is i don't need to enter key and user info since i had already done in the Cumtom.msp. is this normal from start to installation screen?

Edited by cat2115, 29 October 2010 - 12:59 PM.


#323
RBCC

RBCC

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
  • Joined 09-July 04
I have several hundred clipart images that I would install with my unattended install, in Office 2010. But I would like them to be installed with clip organizer, so clip organizer can see them and they can be used through clip organizer. can this be done? How is it it done? John



#324
modwindows

modwindows

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 22-December 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I have key for office enterprise 2007. Now, where should i put this key to file config.xml, so that when installed it automatically works ???

#325
destroir

destroir
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-January 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
New member, first post.

Current Suite Office 2003 Pro SP3

Installed Outlook 2007 **ONLY Outlook** via SMS 2003 using the following command:
setup.exe /adminfile outlook.msp

That works fine, upgrades Outlook 2003 to Outlook 2007 and leaves remaining apps (Excel, PowerPoint and Word) as the 2003 version - no issues.

The problem is that if I try to install an additional 2007 app (Publisher 2007) using the following command:
msiexec /p Publisher.msp

...it uninstalls Outlook 2007.

The "Set feature installation states" option within the OCT for Publisher.msp has "Microsoft Office Publisher" set to "Run from My Computer" and all other apps are set to "Not Available". I trust that this is where my problem lies and I could probably set "Microsoft Office Outlook" to "Run for My Computer" and it would solve my problem BUT that would mean that, if I wanted someone to have JUST Publisher 2007 installed (using the same MSP), they would also get Outlook 2007. I hope I explained that clearly enough.

My question is: How should I have it setup in the OCT to NOT uninstall existing Office 2007 apps when installing an additional Office 2007 app??

Any ideas? I've searched high and low but no one seems to have done the same scenario.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN