Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Office 2007, Unattended Setup & Fine-tuning

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
327 replies to this topic

#101
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04

Hi guys, I'm just wondering if this method works if I don't have the physical Office 2007 media? Microsoft provided me with a CD-key via e-mail and a link to the Office 2007 Professional program. It's a self-extracting .exe file similar to the trial version of Microsoft Office 2007 Small Business Edition. Can I still pack this up and make an unattended install of Office 2007?

Do you get folders or an ISO-file when you run the .exe, or does it start the installation immediately?


It starts installing after the content finish extracting.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
DL.

DL.

    Tweaker or whatever I happen to be focused on at the moment..

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • Joined 05-March 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Can you extract the contents of the file using for example WinRAR?

#103
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04

Can you extract the contents of the file using for example WinRAR?


I'll try that later tonight.

#104
darkhanzou

darkhanzou
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 04-December 05
So, um, where can we get Windows Installer 3.1... I haven't been able to find it and my computer is going to need it...
Checked the Microsoft Website. Wasn't able to find it there either...

Edited by darkhanzou, 27 February 2007 - 05:48 AM.

Flash and animated signatures are not permitted.

#105
tekboy

tekboy
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 27-February 07
Hi folks,

I'm Alex from Spain.
I've just gone in a new company as the system administrator.
They already had a GPO for 2003 deployment.

These day I've been trying a test deployment of Office 2007 ProPlus.
I've done an MSP cutomization file correctly with it's license key, display mode, and giving the programs some especifications about extensions and all that (it's in the updates forlder).
The thing is office 2007 needs to run setup.exe and GPO only admints MSI packages, and it doesn't accept MSP customitzation files
(before the configuration files had MST extension).

So instead of running a package from the GPO software configuration, I've tried with the option "Administrative whatever" (under windows configuration option) -> System -> session logon -> activate program executing when user logs in.
and running the command "\\server\xxx\xxx\setup.exe" (he already looks up for the MSP file).

My problem is that when user logs in a window pops up asking if he wants to execute or cancel for the action "setup.exe".
That's not an unnatended installation but still, when the user tries to execute it fails because in my company users don't have administrative privileges.

So what can I do to deploy Office 2007 without user interferance?
With GPO and Office 2003 the program installed intself before user logged in.

Any info will be appreciated.
Thanks in advanced!

Alex

#106
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

im trying to delete the unused applications such as one note and i get an error message if i do. any way to delete extra application folders without getting an error message during start up of install?

there isnt an existing solution i'm aware of, that allows to reduce size of installation source.


@prathapml, Is there any possibility to customize the components using the option B (Config.xml) as you have suggested is the best method?

Yes, please refer to the attached/quoted xml in post #2, which illustrates how to select or de-select components for install.


Hi guys, I'm just wondering if this method works if I don't have the physical Office 2007 media?

It still works. When you click the .EXE & it finishes extracting, just go to your %temp% folder & grab the files.


So, um, where can we get Windows Installer 3.1...

google.....   ;)  (LINK)



I'm Alex from Spain.
So what can I do to deploy Office 2007 without user interferance?

Hmm, not very sure, but you could try a combination of both these:
a.   Put MSP in Updates folder (which you already did)
b.   And edit config.xml, to show DisplayLevel=none.

Edited by prathapml, 27 February 2007 - 06:47 PM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#107
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04

im trying to delete the unused applications such as one note and i get an error message if i do. any way to delete extra application folders without getting an error message during start up of install?

there isnt an existing solution i'm aware of, that allows to reduce size of installation source.


@prathapml, Is there any possibility to customize the components using the option B (Config.xml) as you have suggested is the best method?

Yes, please refer to the attached/quoted xml in post #2, which illustrates how to select or de-select components for install.


Hi guys, I'm just wondering if this method works if I don't have the physical Office 2007 media?

It still works. When you click the .EXE & it finishes extracting, just go to your %temp% folder & grab the files.


So, um, where can we get Windows Installer 3.1...

google..... ;) (LINK)



I'm Alex from Spain.
So what can I do to deploy Office 2007 without user interferance?

Hmm, not very sure, but you could try a combination of both these:
a. Put MSP in Updates folder (which you already did)
b. And edit config.xml, to show DisplayLevel=none.


So do I follow method A or B?

#108
Wesmosis

Wesmosis

    Just Call Me Doctor Just Call Me Pain!

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 787 posts
  • Joined 20-September 04
thanx, gonna try it out soon :D
@I dont know how the third World War will be fought, but I`m sure the fourth will be fought with sticks and stones
@Like What You Do, If You Can't Do What You Like
@Reality.Sys Corrupted. Universe Halted. Reboot Y/N

#109
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So do I follow method A or B?

Please quote only the section that you'd be referring to - pls dont quote an entire huge post......

And which method do you follow? As the first post says:

If you have a volume-license, only then the Option A works


Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#110
Gogol

Gogol

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
  • Joined 02-July 04
Did somebody tried to apply policies with OCT ?

My MSP works but do not apply the policies. I had to work with both methods ( A and B ) to completely get it silent. I cannot put MSP in Updates folders because I need one MSP for standard and another one for pro. So I use setup.exe with the swithes /config and /adminfile with the path where files are and logfile say me that it found both files. Logfile shows me a few couples errors like
Error: Type: MsiRecordSetInteger call failed.. MsiAPICallFailure ErrorCode: 87(0x57).
MSI(UNKNOWN_MESSAGE) terminating install : MsgType='167772160', Msg='1: 2: 3: 4: 5:


My customs settings are applied except policies for Onlines craps.

Any idea ?

#111
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04

So do I follow method A or B?

Please quote only the section that you'd be referring to - pls dont quote an entire huge post......

And which method do you follow? As the first post says:

If you have a volume-license, only then the Option A works


I went to the %temp% folder and I don't see any of those files there. I just typed "%temp%" into the address bar and it took me to a directory, but those files aren't present even though I double click on the .exe file and it finish extracting.

#112
ivo86

ivo86
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-March 07
Hi guys, i have some problems with Group Policy deployment.Does anyone know whether the MSP file is used during installation (the MSP file is located in the "Update " folder )?.But when i run setup.exe and MSP file is the folder the customized office2007 is working fine. I have tried with GP and MSP file but the settings were not accepted.I modified config.xml file but i dont know how to tell config.xml to remove the previous installation of Office 2003.When i use config.xml file i remove MSP file from the Update folder.In GP I "assign" Office2007 but the office2003 files and shortcuts are still there and office2003 is working fine(Office2003 is deployed on GP with publish).I have read the deployment guide and there the following appeared:


"Applying customizations to the Office installation

All customizations must be made in the Config.xml file. Setup does not apply Setup customization files that you create using the Office Customization Tool (OCT). For more information about using the Config.xml file"


I understood it in this way : All settings i have done on the MSP file were not applied on GP deployment ,so i used config.xml file.

#113
JaySwift

JaySwift
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 13-March 07
Hi Guys

First of all, Prathapml, if you don't already work for Microsoft as a Product Deployment Specialist, they should hire you. Your clear intructions and to the point advice makes Microsoft's documentation look like a dog's breakfast!

Since Win2K our organisation has been deploying software packages via Group Policy (Intellimirror) and this worked very well for Office 2003. (Add the MSI along with an MST file and there you go.) It was my initial understanding that it would be just as simple with Office 2007, but I notice Microsoft has since pulled the documentation they had on this off their website and instead point you in the direction of BDD 2007 (Business Desktop Deployment). I have played around with this, but it appears the only thing you can do is create an additional packaged that gets deployed along with a Vista image.

Does anybody have clear instructions on how Group Policy deployment of Office 2007 can be achieved? I tried adding the EnterpriseWW.msi file via Group Policy, but actual deployment fails with an error that it can not find other source files. In addition to setting the installation states and Product Key etc in the Config.xml, do you also have to specify paths in the file so that the MSI can find the other files it needs to install? (FYI, I was able to successfully create an MSP file using OCT and it is saved in the Updates folder.)

Any advice on this would be highly appreciated!! :thumbup

Thanks & regards
JaySwift

#114
ajua

ajua

    Custom Installer Maker

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,261 posts
  • Joined 16-April 05
im installing it via msp file but now in vista the setup doesnt associate office files and everytime an office app is launched i get a windows "wait until windows configures office 2007". in winxp pro i never had this problem. i also made a new msp file right in windows vista but the problem is the same. i have tested this on 3 computer with windows vista ultimate and business. if i install office normally there isnt any problem.
any insights? thanks.

Custom Installers for your unattended needs.


#115
Tone

Tone
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 16-February 07
Hi,

Has anyone been able to run the Office Customization Tool from the Action Pack DVD?
(DVD Part no. X13-35827 EN Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007)

I am getting the retail error when running "setup.exe /admin" from DVD or Network..

"Files necessary to run the Office Customization Tool were not found. Run Setup from the installation point of a qualifying product"


Cheers..

#116
JaySwift

JaySwift
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 13-March 07
Tone,

Action Pack Media have been stripped of the ability to perform Administrative installations. Action Pack media is the same as Retail/OEM media. It has been something I have been ranting about since the inception of the MS Action Pack. It was the case with Windows XP and Office 2003. I was hoping it would be different with Office 2007 / Vista but it isn't. Please see excerpt of my recent complaint to MAPS-NA@microsoft.com:

"I really do not understand the motivation for disabling these features in the Action Pack media. Isn't the whole point of the Action Pack to enable us to setup Labs and test products and technologies before implementing at our clients??"

This was their reply:

"We apologize for any inconvenience you may be experiencing with Office 2007. At this time, technical support is not included as a benefit to the Microsoft Action Pack Subscription.

In order to obtain paid technical support, please contact the following number:

888-677-9444"


Go figure. :angry:

#117
Tone

Tone
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 16-February 07
Hi Jay,

Had chance to compare media today and also received same email response from MS.

The Action Pack is missing the \admin folder and has r suffix on these files\folders..
\Enterpriser.WW
\Enterpriser.WW\EnterpriserWW.msi
\Enterpriser.WW\EnterpriserWW.xml

Enterprise media,
\Enterprise.WW
\Enterprise.WW\EnterpriseWW.msi
\Enterprise.WW\EnterpriseWW.xml

Action Pack Key works with the proper Enterprise Media.

#118
mestresan

mestresan
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 20-November 06
I try to use option A, work, but isnt is 100% silent. Open one screen with a button for click Install.

How to do install 100% silent? :unsure:

#119
factor x

factor x
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 18-March 07
hello everybody:

please, help me. i can't install office 2k7. I have tried with option B, but i cant install anything, it always put me a window asking me for the PROPLS.WW

please, HELP. I've been searching for help for a long time, but i cant find anything. I've tried a lot of methods, but noting.

#120
IratePenguin

IratePenguin
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 19-March 07
Let me start off with saying I am a newbie at all of this.

I am using SMS 2003R2 to push out Office 2007...or more like I am attempting to do this.

I have created the msp file and per directions tried the "setup.exe /adminfile Custom.msp" in the command line for the SMS program.

When I run the program I get the following error - "The Setup configuration file config.xml is not valid. Run Setup again without using a Setup configuration file, or fix the configuration file."

There is no configuration file in the Setup folders...this is a Volume License Setup...the previous person had removed the config file from the enterprise.ww folder....when running the program manually it starts without a problem.

Any ideas or assistance would be greatly appreciated as I am at a loss.

Thank you in advance.

-Irate Penguin

#121
kayb33

kayb33
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 19-March 07
Hi,

I am trying to create an unattended installation of Microsoft Office Standard 2007 with a Volume licence version. What I have done is followed option B. I copied all the files from the source CD to my hard drive, duplicated the XML from the first page and placed it in with the file "setup.exe" and then launched "CMD" and executed "setup.exe /config custom-uA.xml" and basically it just does nothing? Am I not following the instructions correctly?

If i change the 2nd line from Display Level="none" to "full", the setup would launch by will prompt for a key.

Thanks for your help!

#122
martin26uk

martin26uk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 24-February 07
I had the same problem then i saw this
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=86727
havnt tried the iso yet but it looks like its gonna work

#123
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I had the same problem then i saw this
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=86727
havnt tried the iso yet but it looks like its gonna work

:lol:
No offence meant, but jcarle says exactly what my first-post says.
You could follow what he says and then read this thread for further details & fine-tuning.

He definitely discovered the Option-A method by himself, he has a good way of working out solutions & tools. :)

Edited by prathapml, 25 March 2007 - 08:43 PM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#124
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Did somebody tried to apply policies with OCT ?

My MSP works but do not apply the policies. I had to work with both methods ( A and B ) to completely get it silent. I cannot put MSP in Updates folders because I need one MSP for standard and another one for pro. So I use setup.exe with the swithes /config and /adminfile with the path where files are and logfile say me that it found both files. Logfile shows me a few couples errors like
Error: Type: MsiRecordSetInteger call failed.. MsiAPICallFailure ErrorCode: 87(0x57).
MSI(UNKNOWN_MESSAGE) terminating install : MsgType='167772160', Msg='1: 2: 3: 4: 5:


My customs settings are applied except policies for Onlines craps.

I can confirm that it definitely works.
The above problem could be due to WindowsInstaller (MSI v3.1) being corrupted - removing & reinstalling it, & also, try using only /config or /adminfile.
Also, you seem to have a two-in-one, of Office 2007 standard and professional. Preferably, it must be separated - make a copy & one of the *.WW folders.


I went to the %temp% folder and I don't see any of those files there. I just typed "%temp%" into the address bar and it took me to a directory, but those files aren't present even though I double click on the .exe file and it finish extracting.

If its not in %temp% then it extracts somewhere else (must be a location on C: drive). And even if the MSP doesnt work, the config.xml method will definitely work for every edition of office 2007.


.....Group Policy deployment.
....
I understood it in this way : All settings i have done on the MSP file were not applied on GP deployment ,so i used config.xml file.

You can use both, the xml, & the MSP - this will give you the desired result of removing the old office versions (MSP does this) & applying further customizations (xml).
Preferably, drop the MSP into "Updates" folder & then set the GP to use "/config" switch for the xml (because using BOTH /config & /adminfile, will make the WindowsInstaller get complex with one file being prioritised over the other, etc).

I tried adding the EnterpriseWW.msi file via Group Policy

Hi JaySwift,
I believe using the *.MSI with switches doesnt work anymore - its been blocked, in fact.
The SETUP.EXE file is run directly, (alongwith the barely 2 or 3 switches that you can apply to it at install-time)
The setup.exe handles installation at run-time, the customizations are thru MSP, & setup-properties can be inserted thru the config.xml.
Here's an excerpt from documentation LINK:

Description: It is impossible to install 2007 Office release without running setup.exe.

Do post again to let us know how its goes, or if it gives you any further issues. We'd like to share info about what doesnt work & find out if solutions are working :)
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#125
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

im installing it via msp file but now in vista the setup doesnt associate office files and everytime an office app is launched i get a windows "wait until windows configures office 2007".

You ran office2007 setup on vista silently? Was it before first-logon by any chance? That can lead to vista discarding the registry entries made by o2k7 setup, leading to this problem.
I run o2k7 setup thru <SynchronousCommand> during the <oobeSystem> pass, which is working properly.


The Action Pack is missing the \admin folder and has r suffix on these files\folders..
\Enterpriser.WW

Interesting!   I wonder if removing the 'r' suffix & copying an \admin folder over, will allow it to work ?

I try to use option A, work, but isnt is 100% silent. Open one screen with a button for click Install.

You must set the DisplayLevel to "none" - either thru the MSP or thru the xml.

please, help me. i can't install office 2k7. I have tried with option B, but i cant install anything, it always put me a window asking me for the PROPLS.WW

That must be because the Configuration-Product needs to be changed. The attached xml in Option-B is an example, you must compare it to your edition of office & modify accordingly.

..... "The Setup configuration file config.xml is not valid. Run Setup again without using a Setup configuration file, or fix the configuration file."

There is no configuration file in the Setup folders...

Even VL editions of Office do have (and need) a config.xml
It might be needed to copy over that file from your CD. (or re-download from MVLS, etc)
It looks like this is the only problem, so having a valid config.xml should fix it.


I am trying to create an unattended installation of Microsoft Office Standard 2007 with a Volume licence version. What I have done is followed option B. I copied all the files from the source CD to my hard drive, duplicated the XML from the first page and placed it in with the file "setup.exe" and then launched "CMD" and executed "setup.exe /config custom-uA.xml" and basically it just does nothing? Am I not following the instructions correctly?

If i change the 2nd line from Display Level="none" to "full", the setup would launch by will prompt for a key.

Ah, thanks for the info, enables me to understand whats happening here.
Basically, when displaylevel was none, your setup was launching, finding an invalid key, & failed silently.
When you changed it to full, you were asked for a key, to be able to proceed.
So therefore, you havent done anything wrong, its working as expected - the only hitch is, you forgot the part where I say replace this with your own, actual key.
So just insert your key (without the dashes, according to example shown in Option-B ) and it should work. ;)

Edited by prathapml, 25 March 2007 - 08:48 PM.

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users