Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Office 2007, Unattended Setup & Fine-tuning

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
327 replies to this topic

#201
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
Nope not working :(

I only get Excel, powerpoint and word... why ??

Here is the file i use: (should the key be WITH the "-" between? I have the "-" in my file..)

<Configuration Product="Enterprise">

<Display Level="none" CompletionNotice="no" SuppressModal="yes" AcceptEula="yes" />
<PIDKEY Value="xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx" />
<USERNAME Value="." />
<COMPANYNAME Value="." />
<INSTALLLOCATION Value="%programfiles%\Microsoft Office 2007" />
<OptionState Id="ACCESSFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //access
<OptionState Id="OUTLOOKFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //outlook
<OptionState Id="PubPrimary" State="absent" Children="force" /> //publisher
<OptionState Id="AceRepl" State="absent" Children="force" /> //access db Engine replication
<OptionState Id="CAGFiles" State="Local" Children="force" /> //Clip Organizer
<OptionState Id="MSSOAP3" State="absent" Children="force" /> //SOAP toolkit
<OptionState Id="OsaNonBoot" State="Local" Children="force" /> //new,open office docu lnks
<OptionState Id="WISPFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //handwriting
<OptionState Id="DocServicesFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //docu update util
<OptionState Id="HTMLSourceEditing" State="absent" Children="force" /> //script editor
<OptionState Id="DocumentImagingUtils" State="absent" Children="force" /> //scanning,ocr,indexing
<OptionState Id="OISFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //picture manager
<OptionState Id="OSESupp" State="absent" Children="force" /> //sharepoint support
<OptionState Id="QueryFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //msQuery
<OptionState Id="VisioPreviewerFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //visio viewer
<OptionState Id="XDOCSFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //infopath

<!-- These are additionals from Enterprise RTM-->
<OptionState Id="GrooveFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //groove
<OptionState Id="OneNoteFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //onenote
<OptionState Id="RefIEBarFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //research explorer bar
<OptionState Id="WebDriveFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //hosted webs
<OptionState Id="VBAFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //VB for applications
<OptionState Id="OfficeDigitalSFiles" State="absent" Children="force" /> //vba certificates


</Configuration>

Edited by kentk, 21 September 2007 - 04:09 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#202
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
Had to go by the A option instead...

Downloaded all KB:s and unpacked them, changed name on .MSP file to KBxxxx.msp and put them in Updates folder on cd...

Works fine :)

#203
chax3000

chax3000
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 24-September 07

Do you maybe know a way to tell setup that I want a customized setup and keep my previous office 2003 installation ?

Hi Robert,
I believe what you want to do, is to have access to all dialogs, you basically want to just customize the setup defaults & go ahead normally from there on.

Here's how:
Go to the 2nd line in my example above. You see "Display Level="none"". Change it back to "full" instead of "none". That is all.



@clavicle
Thanks indeed. :) I just wish someone finds out how to disable the "MSOcache" facility in o2k7.....



Great post prathapml,

1.
Is there a way to modify config.xml so the install will keep my previous Office 2003 install with Display Level="none"? In another word, when I deploy office2007(Minus Outlook 2007) with option B, the end user doesn't have to make any choice of selecting upgrade or others and still have office 2003 installed.

2.
When I create the .MSP file using option A with User interface set to "Basic" the install still ask me to select a Microsoft Office product to install. Please view attach picture:

-- In OCT selecting which Product to create the MSP for: View attachment 1
-- Setting User Interface for the MSP: View attachment 2
-- Prompt at the Begin of the install with launching command \\server\office2007\setup.exe /adminfile custom.MSP
View attachment 3

Any ideas? Thank in advance.

Jun

Attached Files



#204
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 10-June 04
Does anyone have list of Office 2007 hotfixes? And How should I slipstream it?

#205
Makave2345

Makave2345

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 06-January 06
Im using this method and installing vi runoncex and everything works fine....

The only thing I was wondering is if there is anyway to add a "progress bar" to this.....

It takes quite a while to install and would be nice to see how far along the installation
actually is.....

Nice work everybody.....

#206
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 10-June 04
How can I check the hotfixes install succesfully?

#207
DL.

DL.

    Tweaker or whatever I happen to be focused on at the moment..

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • Joined 05-March 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

How can I check the hotfixes install succesfully?

Office update...

#208
rickytheanuj

rickytheanuj

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Joined 09-April 07
Sir,
Can we decrease the size of Office 2007 by removing unwanted applications from it as we did with office XP and Office 2003.

#209
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 10-June 04
If the hotfixes release to replace the previous hotfixes, are both hotfixes will be install if I put them together in the Updates folder?

Like Outlook Junk email Filter...are all hotfixes will be install or only the latest?

#210
s.stormont

s.stormont

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Joined 21-October 03
I have the Professional version and want to install everything that one would normally install doing a "Full" install. Does leaving the OptionState line commented out do this, or does someone have a config.xml file that lists every single OptionState item so that a full install can be completed?

Here is what our file looks like now. It looks like it removed all of the Office 2003 items that were installed and installed Access, Excel, Outlook, Powerpoint, Word, and Publisher and I'm assuming that all of the features were installed?


 
<Configuration Product="Pror">

<Display Level="none" CompletionNotice="no" SuppressModal="Yes" AcceptEula="Yes" />

<!-- <Logging Type="standard" Path="%temp%" Template="Microsoft Office Professional Setup(*).txt" /> -->

<!-- <PIDKEY Value="BCDFGHJKMPQRTVWXY2346789B" /> -->

<!-- <USERNAME Value="Customer" /> -->

<COMPANYNAME Value="IMS, Inc." />

<INSTALLLOCATION Value="%programfiles%\Microsoft Office 2007" />

<!-- <LIS CACHEACTION="CacheOnly" /> -->

<!-- <SOURCELIST Value="\\server1\share\Office12;\\server2\share\Office12" /> -->

<DistributionPoint Location="\\omni\ss\pc_software\Office2007_Pro" />

<!-- <OptionState Id="OptionID" State="absent" Children="force" /> -->

<Setting Id="Reboot" Value="IfNeeded" />

<!-- <Command Path="msiexec.exe" Args="/i \\server\share\my.msi" QuietArg="/q" ChainPosition="after" Execute="install" /> -->

</Configuration>


#211
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I have the Professional version and want to install everything that one would normally install doing a "Full" install. Does leaving the OptionState line commented out do this

Yes, that does it.
That way you'll have the default items installed. (some items are NOT installed by default, so you might want to enable those, but if you just want the default set of items that get installed normally, then dont worry)


If the hotfixes release to replace the previous hotfixes, are both hotfixes will be install if I put them together in the Updates folder?
Like Outlook Junk email Filter...are all hotfixes will be install or only the latest?

I dont have any official info regarding this, but I'd think it installs them all (in correct order though, so thats a saving grace).


Can we decrease the size of Office 2007 by removing unwanted applications from it as we did with office XP and Office 2003.

I wish that were possible...
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#212
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 10-June 04

I dont have any official info regarding this, but I'd think it installs them all (in correct order though, so thats a saving grace).


Is that mean I still need to put all the hotfixes (new and old) in the folder? But why after installation only few updates listed in add/remove programes?

Edited by yadzil, 09 October 2007 - 07:05 AM.


#213
s.stormont

s.stormont

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
  • Joined 21-October 03

I have the Professional version and want to install everything that one would normally install doing a "Full" install. Does leaving the OptionState line commented out do this

Yes, that does it.
That way you'll have the default items installed. (some items are NOT installed by default, so you might want to enable those, but if you just want the default set of items that get installed normally, then dont worry)


I really did want every single option installed instead of just defaults. Is there a way to do that?

#214
tomokun

tomokun
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 09-October 07
I'm getting the same problem, and after reading the forum, I'm still not sure what to do.... PLEASE HELP!!! I'm a writer with a deadline and my original files are in the new word format!


i'm getting an error message:

Setup could not find any available products to install. Please contact your system administrator


Please help

Regards,
Jeet



#215
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I really did want every single option installed instead of just defaults. Is there a way to do that?

Yes its possible.
Either using option B (second post in this topic), where I say you can modify it accordingly for the other component products, the options are commented with double-slashes. I obtained the OptionIds from setup.xml files, in each component folder..
Or just use option A which is simple, and while creating your MSP, choose this option for all components - "run from my computer".




i'm getting an error message:

Setup could not find any available products to install. Please contact your system administrator

I'm getting the same problem, and after reading the forum, I'm still not sure what to do.... PLEASE HELP!!! I'm a writer with a deadline and my original files are in the new word format!

That could be because your office 2007 installer files are corrupted or some files missing. Use the original disc.
Or install office 2003 or officeXP, and use the compatibility pack, which lets you read & write to office 2007 file formats.
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#216
zenit

zenit
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 12-October 07
:hello: Thank you...

#217
theoneangel

theoneangel

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 14-January 07
hey i made a silent installation for my office standard 2007 but it still being "big" i mean the carpet with all the files are like 450mb some...I need to reduce the carpet with the files like in 250mb or something...I just want to install Word, Excell, PowerPoint and the components..that's all but if I try to erase the carpet of ACCESS or something there's a error what can I do? plz help ^^

Thanks..
TheOneAngel

Angelical Developer


#218
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 10-June 04
How can I shrink the hotfixes size?

#219
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,845 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

hey i made a silent installation for my office standard 2007 but it still being "big" i mean the carpet with all the files are like 450mb some...I need to reduce the carpet with the files like in 250mb or something...I just want to install Word, Excell, PowerPoint and the components..that's all but if I try to erase the carpet of ACCESS or something there's a error what can I do? plz help ^^

Thanks..
TheOneAngel


You can't yet. No-one has come up with a way to do it.

@ yadzil You can't do that either its just not the way it works.

#220
collen

collen
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 18-October 07
Also, we're used to run the ms office from a server.

but i can't find the "run from network" option within office 2007 ?!

is this still possible with 2007 ?! (worked fine till 2003)

#221
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 10-June 04

@ yadzil You can't do that either its just not the way it works.


Do you have any idea which hotfixes should be install? Cause when I put all the hotfixes listed in Office 2007 hotfixes (same as microsoft site) not all the hotfixes installed.

#222
chickenselects

chickenselects
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 19-October 07
Has anyone figured out how to disable the prompt when a user runs office 2007 for the first time? It's the promp that asks to setup windows update, configure online help, and download a file periodicly etc. Is this possible via the MSP file?

Edited by chickenselects, 19 October 2007 - 01:10 PM.


#223
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,845 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

@ yadzil You can't do that either its just not the way it works.


Do you have any idea which hotfixes should be install? Cause when I put all the hotfixes listed in Office 2007 hotfixes (same as microsoft site) not all the hotfixes installed.



Thats because they don't glean out the out dated hotfixes....

You need to run a clean install and go to office update and ownload just the hotfixes it says you need.

#224
fox007ss

fox007ss
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-November 07
Can someone have a look at my config.xml and work out why i keep getting an invalid config.xml error when trying to run setup. It is office 2007 standard edition.
<Configuration Product="Standard">

	<Display Level="none" CompletionNotice="yes" SuppressModal="no" AcceptEula="yes" />
	
	<Logging Type="standard" Path="%temp%" Template="Microsoft Office Standard Setup(*).txt" /> 
	
	<PIDKEY Value="XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX" />

	<USERNAME Value="Customer" /> 
	
	<COMPANYNAME Value="Europcar Asia Pacific" />
	
	<INSTALLLOCATION Value="%programfiles%\Microsoft Office" /> 
	
	<LIS CACHEACTION="CacheOnly" />
	
	<SOURCELIST Value="\\au-tul-fp1\admininstall$\Office12;\\au-tul-fp1\admininstall$\Office12" /> 
	
	<DistributionPoint Location="\\au-tul-fp1\admininstall$\Office12" /> 
	
	<OptionState Id="OptionID" State="absent" Children="force" />
	
	<Setting Id="Reboot" Value="IfNeeded" /> 
	
	<Command Path="msiexec.exe" Args="/i \\au-tul-fp1\admininstall$\office 12\Standard.WW\my.msi" QuietArg="/q" 

ChainPosition="after" Execute="install" /> 

</Configuration>


#225
RBCC

RBCC

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
  • Joined 09-July 04
Can I do this but allow the end user to put the installation location? John :hello:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users