Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Nero 7.2.0.3

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#1
Sanjay

Sanjay

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
Nero 7.2.0.3 is out and there is good new and bad news.

The good news is that the old (7.8.0.2) AutoIt script still works to silently install this and more importantly the problem of Nero not being listed as a handler in 'Auto Play', is resolved.

The bad news is that the script is no longer succesfull in picking the components you want installed. Basically, regardless of the components you chose for installation in the script, the whole of the Nero package gets installed.

I guess we need a new script for this.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Sanjay

Sanjay

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
How come there is no interest for a new AutoIt script for this release, or is it that everyone is happy just using the old version of Nero?

#3
Dynaletik

Dynaletik

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 652 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
No, everyone is using hp38guser's Nero Lite Installer or built an own installer. :D

#4
`Felix`

`Felix`

    MSFN Contributor

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 481 posts

No, everyone is using hp38guser's Nero Lite Installer or built an own installer. :D

I disagree with you Dynaletik - a good number of people do use Autoit Nero 7x script for installation...
"I seek not to know all the answers, but to understand the questions."
- Kwai Chang Caine.


Want to setup your default user/all users unattended install easy? - Simplify iT - GuidesCheers,
FeLiX

#5
urie

urie

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts


No, everyone is using hp38guser's Nero Lite Installer or built an own installer. :D

I disagree with you Dynaletik - a good number of people do use Autoit Nero 7x script for installation...



Yes felix, i agree i use Boardbabe's excellent autoit script for last version you have the choice what you want to install ok you need full nero installer but you end up with what you want, i still cant make my mind up as reguards to what to use nero 7 looks good but so is nero 6 and a lot smaller after using NCAB from vcBlackBox credits to him = 23MB Nero+Nerovision Express+Nero tools still does all i need :D


Edited by urie, 29 April 2006 - 09:07 PM.


#6
Ric30

Ric30

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
I hope Boardbabe can write a new script for 7.2.0.3, the script for 7.0.8.2 is really impressive :)

#7
Dynaletik

Dynaletik

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 652 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I disagree with you Dynaletik - a good number of people do use Autoit Nero 7x script for installation...


That's the reason, why it was a joke. I also think, that the script is impressive, but until it is updated, I made an installer for me, that only installs my needed components and integrates the key.

#8
Sanjay

Sanjay

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
Is anyone working on an AutoIt Script for this? I wish I knew how to do it I would write one myself. But I guess we can only appeal to Broadbabe to do rewrite her old script to make it work for v7.2.0.3

#9
dlevens

dlevens

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
bummers, still no response on this script? Anyone willing to share their own autoit script that works for 7.2.0.3? I cannot seem to figure out why the script stopped working, been playing with it for a few hours. Odd.

Dennis

#10
Glowy

Glowy

    The voices made me do it!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 315 posts
It's not the script that stopped working, the Nero installer stopped accepting MSI Properties, the /qn and /norestart still work but the properties do not (except for the SERIALNUM_USERVAL), not even when manually entered at the cmd-line.

and there seem to be 3 extra properties, CB27B709E, CDA5EA0D9 and CF99127CF but no description can be found for these properties.

great installer NOT!

Edited by Glowy, 05 May 2006 - 03:37 AM.

Why geeks like computers: unzip, strip, touch, finger, grep, mount, fsck, more, yes,fsck,fsck,fsck,umount, sleep.

#11
`Felix`

`Felix`

    MSFN Contributor

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 481 posts
bump
"I seek not to know all the answers, but to understand the questions."
- Kwai Chang Caine.


Want to setup your default user/all users unattended install easy? - Simplify iT - GuidesCheers,
FeLiX

#12
salawinder

salawinder

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
Ok,

lots of people asking for it, and I have resisted switching to Nero7 because I didn't like the 'extras', and didn't like the 'lite' version.

I have borrowed some of the code from an earlier Auto-It script (downloaded it a while ago, so don't remember whose it was - to whomever, respect is due), and done my own automation.

PLEAE NOTE - this is the first script I have published, I write scripts for myself, and this is BY FAR the neatest script I have done (this is the first to use regions to tidy things up!) so if it is not up to 'standard' I apologise - also because of this i fully expect to have things that don't work for some people - useful feedback will be taken & i will do what I can to update the script as best I can.

Now, on to the script itself:

The Script starts with some options for Auto-It , I set the Mouse Click to be relevant to the Application Window and the Title to match any substring (for people not installing the ultra version).

Then there are User Options, enter your Serial number here, the filename for the installer, and choose which components you want installed by putting a y, Y, n or N. Choose the Shortcut Options, and the 'Advanced' options (this code was lifted directly from another script). There is also a value for DelayTime - I use this to make the script run smoother by putting delays here & there - also because although it is unattended it doesn't mean i don't want to see what is happening!

The Initial Install section goes through the start-up screens, clicking the only available options, Note that there is a delay imposed on the First screen, as it seem s to refresh itself several times before allowing you to click next. I have set the delay to 3 seconds (3000) which should be suitable for most, but it can be changed.

Now for the Interesting bit, Customising the Install options; I have used MouseClick to change the options, and have had to 'page down' repeatedly for the bottom half of the list. i have tested this a few times, but i expect people to have problems with it - mouseclick is not my favoured way of doing these things, but in this case it seems to work best.

The next section completes the installation, selects the Shortcut Options, and chooses not to reboot.

the final section adds the extra customisation which again was copied directly from another script.

That's it, if it works be happy, if it doesn't, try to figure out why and let me know (if you can help make it better it helps everyone!)

Attached Files


Edited by salawinder, 09 May 2006 - 08:04 AM.


#13
Sangi

Sangi

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
Hi salawinder,

ThanKs a lot for the script, unfortunately, I've just tested it on VMWare, and everything seems to go well up until

Custom setup
Select the custom feartures you want installed

This is when it starts to hang! (I waited for 10 minutes...), which is perhaps what you were expecting.

If I click [next], it continues unattended up until the end, i.e. until the dialogue boxes end, and then it hangs again: the installation of the other software on my list is halted (and here I also waited for 10 minutes), which means I ended up having to abort the process.

I'm calling it (i.e. the compiled sript) from my RunOnceEX.cmd, with the following command:

REG ADD %KEY%\174 /VE /D "Nero7" /f
REG ADD %KEY%\174 /V 1 /D "%PP%\Nero7\Nero7.exe" /f


where Nero7.exe = the compiled script, but I don't think there's a problem here, otherwise it wouldn't even have started.


Finally, I didn't change anything in the script, except for adding my serial number, and from what I could see, that seems to have worked fine.

Did anyone else have the same problem?

Please help!

#14
Glowy

Glowy

    The voices made me do it!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 315 posts
change line 231
ControlClick ("Nero 7 Ultra Edition - Installation Wizard", "Select the program features", 10007 )
to
ControlClick ("Installation Wizard", "Select the program features", 10007 )
and it should work.
Why geeks like computers: unzip, strip, touch, finger, grep, mount, fsck, more, yes,fsck,fsck,fsck,umount, sleep.

#15
Glowy

Glowy

    The voices made me do it!

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 315 posts
I replaced the lines
MouseClick ( "left" , 266 , 271 , 1 , 1 ); Page down to get to next options
to
Send (" {PGDN 2} "); Page down to get to next options
At the product selection section, because the scrolling in the list didn't seem to work.
And changed the sortorder (maybe this is just for the dutch installer). Tools is named Extra and placed before NeroImageDrive

The click for Nero ImageDrive should be a bit higer because there are only 2 options available.

I also added the option to add name and companyname, if these values are empty they are left default.
And added an option to hide the unpacking screen.
I can post the edited script if requested. But I think it's better to let salawinder keep the script, and do the changes

Ohw and almost forgot:
thanks for the script salawinder, this will keep me (and others) going!

Edited by Glowy, 10 May 2006 - 03:12 AM.

Why geeks like computers: unzip, strip, touch, finger, grep, mount, fsck, more, yes,fsck,fsck,fsck,umount, sleep.

#16
salawinder

salawinder

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
Sangi,

As Glowy has pointed out the error I made was leaving a reference to 'Ultra Edition' in one of the commands. I have amended this and have attached a new script below. Also note I have not tested this in VMWare, or VirtualPC, i have used a spare computer. I know this shouldn't make a difference, but I have heard of some issues like this.


Glowy,

Thanks for the assistance - I originally had all commands pointing to "Nero 7 Ultra Edition - Installation Wizard", but realised it would not work for all users, so thought I had changed them all, but missed one!

I toyed with the idea of using Send (" {PGDN 2} "), also, bot figured I was already using the MouseClick command I may as well stick with it (and that worked better than I had expected. I think possibly there may be differences in the layout for the Dutch version (as well as the order of the components) which might make the PGDN a better option, so have amended my script accordingly.

Note that the installer I have used is a rip with English language only, so it might be best to add some code to select the language for non-English versions. I would have thought that the window properties would not match with non-English versions, did you have any trouble with that? - perhaps you could create a Dutch version of the script which incorporates the different order of the components and the coordinates for the MouseClick?

I have no problem with anyone altering/borrowing/outright stealing the code, as long as it helps the community! (where would we be without plagiarism, Bill(zebub) wouldn't have a job for starters!)

Attached Files



#17
Sangi

Sangi

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
First of all salawinder and Glowy: thanks so much for the help, I wish I could be of some use, but since I don't yet know how to write scripts, I guess I have to limit myself to testing! And that I did...

salawinder

I've tested your new script in my VMWare, and although this time it did not hang at the Custom Setup dialogue box, it still hangs after the dialogue boxes close down, i.e. it won't install!

Glowy,

You said:

I also added the option to add name and companyname, if these values are empty they are left default.
And added an option to hide the unpacking screen.
I can post the edited script if requested. But I think it's better to let salawinder keep the script, and do the changes


Would your script work for Nero-7.2.0.3b_eng_no_yt.exe, i.e. the English only version? I'm particularly interested in the hide the unpacking screen bit: does it mean we wouldn't get to see the dialogue boxes on the screen?

You also said:

I can post the edited script if requested. But I think it's better to let salawinder keep the script, and do the changes


Well, since I haven't been lucky with the new salawinder script, at least not yet, I would be very happy to try yours! Could you post it?

#18
salawinder

salawinder

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
Sangi,

out of interest, when you say after the dialogue boxes, do you mean that it does not come up with the reboot warning, or is it before there?

I ask because on 1 test I ran it did not need to reboot.

Glowy, if you can assist i don't mid at all, if you want to post the code you did for the name and companyname and hiding the unpacking screen ( I prefer to see this, as I say it may be unattended, but I like to see what is going on! )

Thanks

#19
Sangi

Sangi

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
salawinder

What I mean is that it hangs after the last dialogue box, the one which says [Finnish]. It seems to close down, or at least there are no more dialogue boxes, but my RunOnceEx hangs, that is, it does not move to the next application, and seen as it does so for all the others, I suspect that Nero is simply not closing down. My RunOnce works for the other applications so again, I suspect this is NOT the problem.

I hope it's not me that is getting it all wrong, but I did exactly what I told you in my first post. I'm also using VMWare, which you said you haven't as yet tested, but here again, it works fine for my other applications, so I find it unlikely. :unsure:

Thanks for your consideration!

#20
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sanjay, its sad that this version (seems) to not support MSI properties.
Else you could use an MSI tracking freeware app, and create a *.MST file (which contains all customizations), which could then be applied to the installer as:
installer.MSI TRANSFORMS=custom.MST

Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#21
salawinder

salawinder

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
Sangi,

Ok, if it hangs after the Finish button is 'pressed', then the reason the code stops is that it is looking for a smaller dialogue box which prompts the user to restart.

I have amended my code so that it waits for 5 seconds for that window to appear and then continues if the window does not appear. give it a go and see if it helps. If this doesn't do it let me know which components you are installing and which options you use in the user section.

Thanks.

Attached Files



#22
Sanjay

Sanjay

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
@prathapml
I am just hoping that someone here will come up with a workable AutoIt script otherwise I am simply going to continue using an older version of Nero.

#23
prathapml

prathapml

    Follow the rules please :-)

  • Patrons
  • 6,791 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
That would be the best - to stay with Nero 6.6
Posted ImageCheers !!!   Donate to MSFN and Help Keep This Site Running
||Please Read the Forum Rules||  Etiquette   || Welcome to MSFN - Forum Basics || Before posting
prathapml :: MSFN Supermod :: Private Message me if you ever have a problem while at MSFN

#24
Sangi

Sangi

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
salawinder,

YES, it works now!!!
:thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

Thanks a million: Tomorrow I will test it on the more general computer installation (as opposed to VMWare) and I'll let you know how that works.

Oh, and I added my plugin serials to my regtweaks and that worked fine too!

I would like to suggest that you add this great script to the AutoIt Scripts sticky!


Sanjay,

This is much better than fiddling about with MSI files: quicker and smaller. And, yes, if you care to edit the script you CAN customise your settings. But it gets better, Nero Scout is NOT installed, which is great (for me and many others I suspect!)

Edited by Sangi, 10 May 2006 - 01:10 PM.


#25
Sanjay

Sanjay

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts

Sanjay,

This is much better than fiddling about with MSI files: quicker and smaller. And, yes, if you care to edit the script you CAN customise your settings. But it gets better, Nero Scout is NOT installed, which is great (for me and many others I suspect!)

Nero Scout for me was the biggest deal breaker in Nero 7 and ofcourse next in line being the stupid Nero Showtime and it taking over all media file associations. I shall try this script out and based on your response I guess I have my solution for Nero 7.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN