Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Differences between MCE and XP Pro

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
18 replies to this topic

#1
DJB

DJB

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 17-August 04
Hi.

I've been trying to decide whether or not to move from XP Pro to MCE for my main OS.

I currently have both on a dual-boot, but I've been wondering what differences they have, despite the obvious Media Center in MCE.

What are the limits (if any) that MCE has compared to XP Pro?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,637 posts
  • Joined 04-December 03
It's the same despite the obvious Media Center in MCE :)

#3
flupke

flupke

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Joined 24-May 05
AFAIK connecting to a domain is the only thing Media Center Edition can't that Professional can. For the rest it has off-cource the Media Center, parts of the Plus! expansion pack and some powertoys.

#4
deathwarder

deathwarder

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Joined 26-March 06
and media center runs a lot faster, but why cant it connect to a domain?

#5
wbpluto

wbpluto

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 42 posts
  • Joined 20-November 05

and media center runs a lot faster, but why cant it connect to a domain?


Althought it's build on XP Pro, Media Center Edition is an enhancement for Windows XP Home Editio and is for home users,Not for Bussiness Users....
Flash and animated signatures and avatars are not permitted.

#6
DJB

DJB

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 17-August 04
OK, from what I've read here, it sounds like more of the XP Home vs XP Pro.
Connecting to a Domain ain't an issue here, just as long as workgroups are still fine.

My main reason is because I got myself an Xbox 360 and I'm getting sick of having to dual-boot between Pro and MCE, all I wanted to know would there be any limitations to software installs etc.

#7
dirtwarrior

dirtwarrior

    OS modder

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,407 posts
  • Joined 07-March 05
What files in mce makes it faster than xp?
Posted Image

#8
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

and media center runs a lot faster, but why cant it connect to a domain?


In order to support extenders Fast User Switching must be enabled. Fast User Switching cannot be enabled for computers that are members of a domain.

If you upgrade from MCE 2004 or set the registry value that says you upgraded, you will be able to join a domain but will not be able to use extenders when you are joined to a domain.

You can also join a doimain during Windows Setup before the OS is converted to MCE.

#9
DJB

DJB

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 17-August 04

In order to support extenders Fast User Switching must be enabled. Fast User Switching cannot be enabled for computers that are members of a domain.

If you upgrade from MCE 2004 or set the registry value that says you upgraded, you will be able to join a domain but will not be able to use extenders when you are joined to a domain.

You can also join a doimain during Windows Setup before the OS is converted to MCE.


Would you share those registry entries with me please? :)

#10
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Joined 11-October 05

Would you share those registry entries with me please? :)

OK, here it is:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\WPA\MedCtrUpg]
"IsLegacyMCE"=dword:00000001
Please note that this is a protected key so you will have to use another installation of Windows to change it.

#11
DJB

DJB

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 17-August 04
Thanks :)

#12
mittern8

mittern8
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 20-May 06

What are the limits (if any) that MCE has compared to XP Pro?

Maybe this comparison table helps?
the problem of human relation is communication

#13
DJB

DJB

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 17-August 04

What are the limits (if any) that MCE has compared to XP Pro?

Maybe this comparison table helps?


Thanks, after all this info I'm seriously thinking about going MCE as my main OS.

#14
mittern8

mittern8
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 20-May 06
Looking at the price difference (MCE2005: 99 EUR/122 USD vs Pro: 129 EUR/158 USD) you may accept the inconvenience of the missing group policy editor and the centralized management - as long as you can help yourself with some registry tweaks. :yes:
the problem of human relation is communication

#15
dirtwarrior

dirtwarrior

    OS modder

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,407 posts
  • Joined 07-March 05

What files in mce makes it faster than xp?

Can anyone help me with this?
Posted Image

#16
aikon

aikon
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 29-July 04

OK, here it is:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\WPA\MedCtrUpg]
"IsLegacyMCE"=dword:00000001
Please note that this is a protected key so you will have to use another installation of Windows to change it.


Please, how do I edit a protected registry key from a other Windows installation (or perhaps a BartPE cd, http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/) ?

#17
EAT MY DUST

EAT MY DUST

    Cartel Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Joined 11-April 06

What files in mce makes it faster than xp?

Can anyone help me with this?



It has SP2 ?

Edited by EAT MY DUST, 22 June 2006 - 11:42 PM.


#18
Sonic

Sonic

    Sonic

  • Patrons
  • 1,637 posts
  • Joined 04-December 03
Anyone can list which files from xp pro sp2 differs with xp mce cd1 2k5 (and the best with size) ?
I havn't mce disks here atm, but I'm planning to add mce in my multicd which is actual about 572mb. I hope that will feat on 700mb.

I have read a tweak/h*ck to enable joining domain after setup in mce, this is just the difference with classic xp pro ? Do you think it's "clean" to use a mce cd1 disk instead xp pro sp2 ?

Thanks!

edit: @EAT MY DUST: yes mce disk1 2k5 has sp2 + wmp10 already updated.

#19
Idontwantspam

Idontwantspam

    Nerd-in-Chief

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,048 posts
  • Joined 25-February 07

Looking at the price difference (MCE2005: 99 EUR/122 USD vs Pro: 129 EUR/158 USD) you may accept the inconvenience of the missing group policy editor and the centralized management - as long as you can help yourself with some registry tweaks. :yes:


Well, my WinXP MCE 2005 SP2 has group policy editor. As stated previously, MCE is XP Pro without support for domains/Active Directory.
-Idontwantspam

What's your home network like?
Windows 7: It does fancy!