Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

RC8: Actual and Potential Bugtrack Post

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
29 replies to this topic

#1
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
[Preliminary Notes: If anyone has any specifics to add to this list, this is a place to do it, in order to collate the bugs into a single area, making it easier for Nuhi (as well as other VIPs) to peruse and analyze...]

[This list is an ongoing edit, currently spanning six nLited OSes, tested in VMWare and, so far, on one completed laptop. Currently, I am readying two desktops for the next round. Everybody to their corners...!]



NOT WORKING OR OTHERWISE STRANGE BEHAVIOR (An In-Progress Documentation):

Visual Effects (My Computer Properties) - Persistent Behavior


set to be disabled, but yet ended up enabled instead
Slide TaskBar Buttons
Show Translucent Selection Rectangle
Use Common Tasks in Folders
Use a Background Image for Each Folder Type
Visual Styles on Buttons and Windows
Enable Combo Box Animation
Enable List Box Animation
Enable Menu Animation
Enable Tooltip Animation
Enable Tooltip Fade
Enable Window Animation
Enable Smooth Scrolling
Show window contents while dragging

Visual Effects - Inconsistent Behavior
one of those "flip a coin" settings: it sometimes obeys, it sometimes ignores


ClearType

Effects (Display Properties/Appearance/Effects) - Persistent Behavior


set to be disabled, but yet ended up enabled instead
Scroll Effect

Password Prompt (Display Properties/Screensaver/Power/Advanced): Inconsistent Behavior


one of those "flip a coin" settings: it sometimes obeys, it sometimes ignores

Prompt for password when computer resumes from standby

MRU (various settings) - Persistent Behavior
set to be disabled, but yet ended up enabled instead


Maintain document history
Maintain network history
Enable AutoComplete
Remember Previously Used filenames

Automatic Updates - Persistent Behavior
set to be Turn Off Automatic Updates, but yet ended up no toggle at all


Remote (Computer Properties/Remote) - Persistent Behavior
set to be disabled, but yet ended up enabled instead (this despite the fact that other remote settings are disabled)
Allow Users to Remotely Connect to this Computer

Mouse Properties (Control Panel) – Persistent Behavior


cursors set to install, but directory not created, though (unusable) themes still listed as installed
Cursor themes seem install in name only (as an indication in properties), and themes of the multi-theme packs which contained them do install without a problem, but the cursors never finish installing.


So to illuminate this even further: cursor schemes are visible in pointer box (including references to all the stand-alone add-on cursor theme CABs, but Windows has no Cursor directory, so the entire folder is not even created! So maybe those CABs would be able to deposit their cursors, but there's nowhere to put them. This is a strange first, in my experience: a common Windows directory that's simply not generated. [Another point: these themes and packs were all used on previous nLited OSes with no problem (these CABs are some of the usual stand-bys that usually operate without a glitch).]


Another observation, which I've forgot to mention--but this one goes all the way back to when I first started using the theme add-ons that contain cursors: when I choose a specific theme, Windows always pops up an error message to the effect that "this theme is already in use ... blah, blah, blah"--and it happens
every time I switch to a new theme (?!). This holds true even after correctly extracting the cursors and creating their directory. (It does, however, allow you to change themes.)


Nuhi: Update and temporary workaround which may give you a clue: if I don't tick nLite to remove the Windows cursors (like I've always done without problems), then it installs the cursor themes fine—I just have to deal with all that crappy MS cursor schemata that I don't like. So somehow this little area becomes bugged.

Folder Options - Persistent
set to enabled, but never works (but this one is not original to RC8—it goes way back)


Show Control Panel in My Computer

Windows Settings (various) – Persistent

set to be enabled, but yet ended up disabled instead

Restore previous folder Windows at logon

set to be enabled, but does not show Protected OS Files

Show All Files and Folders

Start Menu (various settings) – Persistent
set to be disabled, but yet ended up enabled instead


Use Classic Search in Explorer/IE
Maintain network/document History
Allow Recent Documents on Start Menu
Enable AutoComplete


one of those "flip a coin" settings: it sometimes obeys, it sometimes ignores
Start Menu Pop-up
just added (I kept forgetting this one)--however, let it be known that this has been a longtime inconsistency, not peculiar necessarily to RC8


Time Synchronization – Persistent

set to be disabled, but yet ended up enabled instead

Desktop Cleanup and Desktop Cleanup Wizard - Inconsistent
one of those "flip a coin" settings: it sometimes obeys, it sometimes ignores


NET Framework 1.1 (and updates to it) - Inconsistent
one of those "flip a coin" settings: it sometimes obeys, it sometimes ignores


This is just as odd as the cursor install paradox above: the add-on CAB has both .NETs in the same CAB—they are not separate—yet, for some reason 1.1 has a 50/50 chance of installing (?!) … This is consistently inconsistent for five nLited OSes now, both Home and Professional, with slight variations in settings and additional CABs, in VMWare and as an actual install, on laptop and desktops.

User and Logon Names – Inconsistent Behavior (?)

one of those "flip a coin" settings: it sometimes obeys, it sometimes ignores, it sometimes does something else entirely

This one is so weird I can't really comprehend it enough to explain, but I'll try: one time nLite did not change Administrator or User Name, as per my choices, thus auto login failed: had to login as simply Administrator by simply guessing default. You can also read another thread (for which not one person had a proposed solution or explanation) concerning particularly Home, where changing user name and company changes only the registration data, but not the name as it's displayed in Windows or the Control Panel—and even when you change it in the Control Panel, post-install, it only changes how it's displayed there [I will post a link to this later].

Best case scenario: I change the Administrator name when the choice first arrives, but do not change it in the second instance (I do, however, change the Guest name there, which seems to work fine)—this has the effect of logging me in as the Administrator, with no additional user created (which I've given up on for now); but, you guessed it, the Administrator name was not changed (?!). [More on this one later…]

A sample of some session and winnt.sifs are attached, for your viewing pleasure...
=;-}'

Attached Files


Edited by nowinscenario, 24 May 2006 - 12:15 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Camarade_Tux

Camarade_Tux

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,732 posts
  • Joined 22-May 05

Visual Effects (My Computer Properties): [these were all set to be disabled, but yet were enabled instead]

Slide TaskBar Buttons
Show Translucent Selection Rectangle
Use Common Tasks in Folders
Use a Background Image for Each Folder Type
Visual Styles on Buttons and Windows

Effects (Display Properties/Appearance/Effects): [this was set to disabled, but enabled itself instead]
Scroll Effect


Open regedit and go to : HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\VisualEffects\

Then take a look at the different values.
Is there any thing that seems weird? (values will be self-explanatory)


Btw, I use SP1 and modifying these values at T-12 works perfectly.

#3
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
Tux, you mean nLite RC8 somehow mutates these values in a way that RC7 did not (of course NC7 simply refused to even properly execute some of these at all)?

#4
Camarade_Tux

Camarade_Tux

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,732 posts
  • Joined 22-May 05
A few weeks ago I posted "new" visual reg tweaks I found when running ProcessExplorer and then regedit at T-12 : the only keys which had names such as "ListviewWatermark" where stored there. It has always been working for me.

I had no time to test RC8 so I don't know what it does but I *guess* something has been changed there.
Normally, "Checked Value" is "1" and "UncheckValue" is "0". The behavior you depict makes me think the values have been exchanged. Just a guess.

#5
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,404 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
nowinscenario, thanks for reporting in such detail, will be checking it these days.
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#6
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
Sorry, it would be more detailed and updated (because I have a couple more builds), but I'm overloaded in fixing computers right now).

I only wish others would add to this list, so you would have it all in one place, to make it easier to troubleshoot, and to recognize collating patterns. (Hint. Hint, everybody. Thou shalt contribute to the cause of making Microsoft mine!) {:~]

Edited by nowinscenario, 22 May 2006 - 12:39 PM.


#7
brainsoup

brainsoup
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 17-May 06
I can confirm all of those "bugs" and a few more.

Same, not sure, but there may be conflict with some of the regtweaks overwriting one another, (such as visual styles and folder views). But definately some are "reversed" (i.e. remote desktop: default disabled, when "ticked" to not allow, becomed enabled).

#8
msxyz

msxyz
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 24-June 04
Hi,

among the visual effects that does not seem to work there is also the bubble tooltips which are always disabled, regardless of the tweak option selected

#9
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
Yo, comrades in arms, list underwent some revisions (and will probably corrobroate more tonight).

Stay tuned ... Don't touch that dial...

#10
owikh84

owikh84

    Takeshi Kaneshiro

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Joined 09-October 05
Bugs reported:
1. The "Start Menu - Disable popup on first boot" not working as ticked. I still have my Start Menu popup.
2. Automatic setting for NetAdapter NOT working. btw, i'm using DSL broadband connection. (I checked the TCI/IP properties and all boxes are blank!)

here are a few suggestions:
1 Please include "First icon on desktop" in the next build.
2. Add more "Context Menus to thee right click of My Computer" eg: turn-off, log-off, restart, standy, ms configurator (msConfig), registry editor (regedit), system restore, tweakui etc...
3. Use default "Add or Remove Programs" instead of "Software" (looks unprofessional) to the context menu of My Computer
4. Add control panel in My Computer (as well as context menu)
5. Remove nVidia's desktop context menu (after installing nVidia driver)
6. Sort Start Menu and Favorites in Alphabetical Order
7. Opens nfo files with Notepad
8. Add "Open Command Prompt Here" to every folder, instead of CMD Shell (looks unprofessional)
9. Enable "show network icon in the notification area when connected"
10. More to report

Edited by owikh84, 24 May 2006 - 04:08 AM.

Posted Image

#11
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
Thanks owikh84, just added to post above. =;-}

#12
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
owikh84 just pointed out another one I've been forgetting--but, again, it's not peculiar to RC8, as far as I can tell: it concerns the setting of a default sound scheme (presuming an add-on, such as the excellent Vista Sounds--yes, I too, am tired of most of XP's sounds)--it seems to come up as a blank scheme, to which you have manually point it to (for instance) the Vista Sound scheme...

#13
theSLug

theSLug

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Joined 02-May 06
@owikh84

3. Use default "Add or Remove Programs" instead of "Software" (looks unprofessional) to the context menu of My Computer

Software is international.

7. Opens nfo files with Notepad

wordpad... notepad don't' read all nfo.

8. Add "Open Command Prompt Here" to every folder, instead of CMD Shell (looks unprofessional)

is toooooooooo looooooong


unprofessional or professional is only for you, not universal... :)

#14
Camarade_Tux

Camarade_Tux

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,732 posts
  • Joined 22-May 05

@owikh84

3. Use default "Add or Remove Programs" instead of "Software" (looks unprofessional) to the context menu of My Computer

Software is international.

....

8. Add "Open Command Prompt Here" to every folder, instead of CMD Shell (looks unprofessional)

is toooooooooo looooooong


unprofessional or professional is only for you, not universal... :)

Why not let the user type the name. :hello:

#15
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
Tux: touche!

Choice is the key to ultimate bliss.

Edited by nowinscenario, 26 May 2006 - 12:50 AM.


#16
Submariner

Submariner
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 21-May 06
Tweaks:

Speed:
Use Windows classic folder/No Tasks side panel

Visual Effects:
Use Common tasks in folders

If you disable/tick both these, it enables the tasks side panel. Tick one of them and you disable the tasks side panel. Is there a reason for having both of these settings in nLite?

#17
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
Namor is correct, as far as I can remember for all recent builds: Common Tasks seems to always be enabled for me (even though I don't want that way)--and I always tick to have classic and tick to have no common tasks. So, yeah, somthing is awry here.

N.B.--my last install was SO screwed up (for whatever ephemeral reason) that I'm not even going to bother upping any files: I don't want to create untold chaos!--so I'm rebuilding again tonight. (I suspect medium errors and such when it's this severe.)

Edited by nowinscenario, 01 June 2006 - 12:21 PM.


#18
Shuttle

Shuttle
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 21-November 05
So what's the bottom on this bug list? Sounds like to me that most of the tweaks basically dont work. Does that mean nLite is currently good for integrating service packs, drivers and RyanVM updates but we should be wary of the other tabs as they dont behave how they are supposed to?

#19
Submariner

Submariner
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 21-May 06
Shuttle, removing components and getting rid of some of the WinXP fat, is one of the major reasons I use nLite and so far that has worked without a problem. Some things are a little hit and miss with the tweaks and that is why I use nLite to add the TweakUI cab, so that I can quickly do a lot of the tweaks after the install.

#20
Binog

Binog
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-April 05
Hey Folks


My bugs:
In RC8 I can't integrate some new hotfixes!

Windows-KB913433-x86-DEU.exe
WindowsMedia10-KB911565-v2-x86-DEU.exe
WindowsXP-KB904942-v2-x86-DEU.exe
WindowsXP-KB913580-x86-DEU.exe
windowsxp-kb905474-x86-DEU.exe

they are all german. the English ones - on a US version didn't work either.

After integrating some others and trying to make an ISO. I recognized the Iso is a 10th of the real Folder.(6,82MB) If I quit and relauch Nlite and doing merly the ISO it were 100% (682MB)

Someone got the same bugs ?

Or knows some solutions?

Thx

Johny

#21
nowinscenario

nowinscenario

    Incorrigible Tweaker

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 14-March 06
Most likely will add more to list tonight (one example, extended: this time NET 2 joined NET 1 as a downed soldier in the customization fight: neither installed, even though the popup screen indicated that they were installing ... another example, extended: logon weirdness again confirmed: if I check auto-login; change the Admin account; change the User account that, supposedly, auto-logs-in--nLite will not change the Admin account, does not create the User account, yet tries to auto-login with that absent User account, which creates the incorrect log-in error, from where I have to change it to just simply the default Administrator). For the brief moment, I can't recall any original or new behavoir--just variations on the above theme (I will say that there's something in the tweaks that basically ends up turning ALL the effects on--aarrrgh!)

#22
Camarade_Tux

Camarade_Tux

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,732 posts
  • Joined 22-May 05
I tried to install .Net 2 at T-12: it is not possible. This is not nLite's fault.

#23
hmaster10

hmaster10

    Stalker

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Joined 23-February 05
so far all is good, and all bugs that i experience have already been posted in the first post. mostly all errors are on the "Tweaks". and the rest are all working. (correct me if i'm wrong)

Life isn't always black & white... but it's the opposite for me...


#24
EchoNoise

EchoNoise

    Defender of the Penguin

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 885 posts
  • Joined 10-April 05
erm... why not use Trac for this kind of thing?

http://www.edgewall.com/trac/

:blink: :)
Posted Image

#25
Ver Greeneyes

Ver Greeneyes

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Joined 03-December 04

I tried to install .Net 2 at T-12: it is not possible. This is not nLite's fault.


Actually, it -is- possible: http://www.ryanvm.ne...opic.php?t=2249

Still not nLite's fault that the easy way fails though.