Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

[How To] Multi-boot DVD Guide

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
177 replies to this topic

#26
chon_

chon_

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 04-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@damian666
I'll try to help you to include Win98 to your DVD, please feel free to ask any question if there's something not clearly specified.

1) Create a Windows 98 or Windows ME boot disk. You can do it from within your win98 OS, or you can get an image file from here.

2) Create a Win98 folder within your setup folder, your folder structure should look like this:
C:\DVD
C:\DVD\SETUP
C:\DVD\SETUP\Win98
3) copy the content of your Win98 CD to the C:\DVD\SETUP\Win98 folder (you may remove the "Extras" and "Support" folders.

4) If you have a Win98 boot disk image file (.ima or.img file), skip this step. If not, we assume you've created your Win98 startup diskette.
- Please download winimage (shareware). You can download it from here.
- Install it.
- Insert your win98 startup diskette on your floppy drive
- Open Winimage
- Click on Disk\Read Disk (or just press Ctrl+R)
- Click on File\Save As. Name it Win98.ima (be sure to select "Image file [*.IMA] from the 'Save as' dropdown list.
- Voilá! you have your Win98 Boot Image!

5) Copy Win98.ima to a folder of your choice, I personally prefer C:\DVD\Setup\BootSect, but it's up to you, just be sure it's not in the root folder of your project. Now here's the tricky part:
* Open Win98.ima file with winimage.
* Drag and drop Autoexec.bat file to your desktop. Don't close WinImage!!
* Right click Autoexec.bat file (in your desktop), and select Edit.
* find the following line (or the most similar)
path=%RAMD%:\;a:\;%path%;%CDROM%:\
* modify it to include your Win98 source in the path variable:
path=%RAMD%:\;a:\;%path%;%CDROM%:\;%CDROM%:\SETUP\Win98\
* Below that line type: Setup.exe, your autoexec.bat now should look like this (among other lines of code):
echo Loading...
echo.
path=%RAMD%:\;a:\;%CDROM%:\SETUP\Win98\
Setup.exe
echo. 
GOTO QUIT
* Save your autoexec.bat file
* Drag it to your WinImage open window, click yes when prompted if you want to overwrite it.
* Save your Win98.ima file and close winimage.

6) Now goto C:\DVD\BOOT and open CDShell.ini (we'll be using André Guimarães Casal's file for this example) Add the following line just below the XP Professional one: print "2) Windows 98 \n". Part of your cdshell.ini should now look like this:
print c "\n\cXXÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄ<\c0B$time $date\cXX>ÄÄ \n\n"
print c "\cXXMicrosoft Windows XP Professional \n\n"
print l "\cXXPress \c0BF1 \cXXfor Help"; print r "\c0Bwww.globalgrooves.pt.vu \n"
print c "\cXXÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄÄ \n\n"
print "1)  Windows XP Professional \n"
print "2)  Windows 98 \n"
print "\n"
print "X)  More Options... \n\n"
Now go to the getkey part and add: "if $lastKey == key[2]; THEN DISKEMU /Setup/BootSect/Win98.IMA" (without the quotes), be sure to point where your .IMA file resides. Now it should look like this:
MainKey:
getkey 20 boot 0x80
if $lastKey == key[1]; then goto XP_Pro
if $lastKey == key[2]; THEN DISKEMU /Setup/BootSect/Win98.IMA
if $lastKey == key[q]; then end
Save changes to your cdshell.ini file.

Now if you type number 2 key in the cdshell boot menu, cdshell will load win98.ima boot disk, which will run the autoexec.bat file, who is responsible for calling setup.exe from the C:\DVD\SETUP\Win98 folder.

Well, that's it, that should do the trick! :thumbup
Of course if you want your win98 setup to be unettended you'll have to deal with the msbatch.inf file. But that would take another tutorial beyond the scope this topic ;)
Again: fell free to ask! :whistle:

Edited by chon_, 15 September 2006 - 01:04 PM.

Hope it helps.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
andregcasal

andregcasal

    Amoguai

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Joined 25-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Wow, awesome chon_!

That's really great, i'll update the guide first thing tomorrow :D

#28
some1

some1

    Blah Face

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 63 posts
  • Joined 24-September 06
Hey!
I have (for Windows 98):

@ECHO OFF
set EXPAND=YES
SET DIRCMD=/O:N
cls
set temp=c:\
set tmp=c:\
path=a:\

IF "%config%"=="NOCD" GOTO QUIT
LH MSCDEX.EXE /D:oemcd001 /L:D

echo.
IF "%config%"=="SETUP_CD" goto AUTOSETUP
GOTO QUIT

:AUTOSETUP
set CDROM=FOO23
FINDCD.EXE
if "%CDROM%"=="FOO23" goto NOCDROM
path=a:\;%CDROM%\
%CDROM%
cd \WIN98
echo.
OEMSETUP.EXE /K "/IE /NF"
goto QUIT

:NOCDROM
echo.
echo The Windows 98 Setup files were not found.
echo.

:QUIT











should i mod it to...

@ECHO OFF
set EXPAND=YES
SET DIRCMD=/O:N
cls
set temp=c:\
set tmp=c:\
path=a:\

IF "%config%"=="NOCD" GOTO QUIT
LH MSCDEX.EXE /D:oemcd001 /L:D

echo.
IF "%config%"=="SETUP_CD" goto AUTOSETUP
GOTO QUIT

:AUTOSETUP
set CDROM=FOO23
FINDCD.EXE
if "%CDROM%"=="FOO23" goto NOCDROM
echo Loading...
echo.
path=%RAMD%:\;a:\;%CDROM%:\SETUP\Win98\
Setup.exe
echo.
GOTO QUIT

:NOCDROM
echo.
echo The Windows 98 Setup files were not found.
echo.

:QUIT




Thanks for your time!

#29
damian666

damian666

    creator of the vistapack

  • Developer
  • 683 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
wow nice one man, i am going to take it home with me and look in to it man.
i'll get back on you when i tried that.
thanx alot dude.

:w00t:

damian666

untitled.png


#30
slipk487

slipk487

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 30-September 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
im tring to make a muiltboot dvd but the windows i want to put on dont have then winnt32.exe so i cant get $WIN_NT$.~BT and $WIN_NT$.~LS and i was wondering if there was some way to get aroud that cuz im trying to make a aio with 8 different windows xp and 1 windows 2003 and i was tring to use magiciso to make it but evey time i test it i get cannot boot from cd and ive made it twice and got the same probly and going through this guide i dont knwo how to get the to files needed sence i dont have winnt32.exe in any of my i386 folders

#31
chon_

chon_

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 04-September 03
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@slipk487
If you have a legit XP CD, I can't explain myself how you ended up with no winnt32.exe. Anyway, here's a link for the XP Pro SP2 files
Hope it helps.

#32
slipk487

slipk487

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 30-September 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i have a real xp but i was workign with tinyxp and i wanted to make a aio with those but none of them have the winnt.exe's in them

#33
damian666

damian666

    creator of the vistapack

  • Developer
  • 683 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@slip487
well i tried your way of inserting win98 in my cd and at last it workt!
im so stupid that it took so long to complete that.
but its okay now thanx man!

damian666

Edited by damian666, 17 October 2006 - 03:42 AM.

untitled.png


#34
pmshah

pmshah

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Joined 10-September 05

im tring to make a muiltboot dvd but the windows i want to put on dont have then winnt32.exe so i cant get $WIN_NT$.~BT and $WIN_NT$.~LS and i was wondering if there was some way to get aroud that cuz im trying to make a aio with 8 different windows xp and 1 windows 2003 and i was tring to use magiciso to make it but evey time i test it i get cannot boot from cd and ive made it twice and got the same probly and going through this guide i dont knwo how to get the to files needed sence i dont have winnt32.exe in any of my i386 folders

The files you want are on the install drive aftrer the first boot. You have to start a fresh install. When the system reboots you have to prevent it from booting from c: drive. Boot from a cd & the files you are looking for will be there. If the c: drive is ntfs formatted you would have to boot BartPE to be able to read them. Fat32 are visible from even win98 floppy disk.




i have a real xp but i was workign with tinyxp and i wanted to make a aio with those but none of them have the winnt.exe's in them

Tinyxp is for fresh install only. I don't think winnt.exe or winnt32.exe would work as files & folders required for upgrading your win98, ME or 2K are missing.

#35
fevoldj2

fevoldj2

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 20-November 04
Has anyone gotten this to work with XP x64? I looked at the post about it, but it is quite vague.

#36
xpforall

xpforall
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 05-December 06
:thumbup this site is great but i still need some help.
it seems that www.cdshell.org is offline and was wondering if someone could point me in the direction to where i could find cd shell, boot scripter or something else that will work to make a multi boot cd/dvd menu for windows xp based operating systems

to anyone that was reading my post i did a little more searching and found the files that i needed to finish up what i was doing and thanks to all who put all this info out on the web

Edited by xpforall, 07 December 2006 - 08:49 PM.


#37
NOJ

NOJ
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 04-December 06

it seems that www.cdshell.org is offline



hi, it seems that this is still the case, is anyone able to point me in the right direction for another source? i have tried google and not found anything as yet.

thanks

#38
TheExterminator

TheExterminator

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 07-January 07
How i do thats ??? i can not upen the file with winrar, someone tell me how ????

Note that svcpack.inf may come as svcpack.in_, just open it up with WinRar (for example) and extract the svcpack.inf inside it, then delete the svcpack.in_. As you can see Svcpack.inf will launch RunOnce.cmd at T-13 stage. The thing is that you'll have to addapt svcpack.inf according to the files you allready have in it, because when you change CatalogSubDir="\whatever" to CatalogSubDir="\i386" it may point to a diferent location and you'll get an error during installation, if you don't have any files inside then just don't worry about it. After you change svcpack.inf move it to C:\, open a command line and write this:

The File svcpack.inf I Have Starte With This, I Have All Updates To 16/12/06 In My svcpack.inf
[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\I386\svcpack"
[SetupHotfixesToRun]
KB926255.exe /q /n /z /b:SP2GDR
KB926247.exe /q /n /z /b:SP2GDR
KB925486.exe /q /n /z /b:SP2GDR

The Guide Will Have This
[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\i386"
[SetupHotfixesToRun]
CMD\RunOnce.cmd

Can someone tell a stupid danish gay, what it mean.

Thanks

#39
andregcasal

andregcasal

    Amoguai

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Joined 25-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi all!
It seems this post has been outdated for a while now... That's because MSFN stoped sending me emails for new posts :/
Well, now i'm here, and will be continuing writing on this thread.

TheExterminator you only have to right-click and choose "Open With..." and then choose WinRar. Easy ;)

#40
TheExterminator

TheExterminator

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 07-January 07
I can not uppen .inf file with winrar and i have not the .in_ file.

Can i mail you my .inf file, and so can you put the lines to it, and mail me the file back ???

Thanks

Hi all!
It seems this post has been outdated for a while now... That's because MSFN stoped sending me emails for new posts :/
Well, now i'm here, and will be continuing writing on this thread.

TheExterminator you only have to right-click and choose "Open With..." and then choose WinRar. Easy ;)



#41
Pliek

Pliek

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Joined 07-February 06
nice andregcasal I will test soon and hope if anything doesn't work for your help.
Have been looking here before (several months ago)...thought this subject was dead...but no.
nice.
Hardcore Windows 7 Ultimate x64 and WPI addict..

#42
OzOne

OzOne
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 07-January 07
Nice guide, big thx

Edited by OzOne, 11 January 2007 - 10:52 AM.


#43
andregcasal

andregcasal

    Amoguai

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Joined 25-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
TheExterminator let me explain :)
All extensions that end in *.in_ are compressed files. These files can be uncompressed with WinRar and the *.inf file within is the one you want :)
You can open *.inf files are simple text files, so you can open them with Notepad.

Now there may or may not be *.in_ files in your installation source. If there's only *.inf files, then you don't have to uncompress anything, easyer ;)
I hope I answered your question :)

Pliek, i'll be here if you need me ;)

Edited by andregcasal, 14 January 2007 - 06:21 PM.


#44
TheExterminator

TheExterminator

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 07-January 07
Okay, But when i paste this in
[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\i386"
[SetupHotfixesToRun]
CMD\RunOnce.cmd

I will Chance my CatalogSubDir="\i386\svcpack"

And it will not work.

TheExterminator let me explain :)
All extensions that end in *.in_ are compressed files. These files can be uncompressed with WinRar and the *.inf file within is the one you want :)
You can open *.inf files are simple text files, so you can open them with Notepad.

Now there may or may not be *.in_ files in your installation source. If there's only *.inf files, then you don't have to uncompress anything, easyer ;)
I hope I answered your question :)


Edited by TheExterminator, 11 January 2007 - 10:35 AM.


#45
andregcasal

andregcasal

    Amoguai

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Joined 25-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh yes, i believe i understand your question now. If you change CatalogSubDir="\i386\svcpack" to CatalogSubDir="\i386" just edit your svcpack.inf from
[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\I386\svcpack"

[ProductCatalogsToInstall]
KB873339.cat
to
[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\I386"

[ProductCatalogsToInstall]
svcpack\KB873339.cat
For example :)

Edited by andregcasal, 11 January 2007 - 04:20 PM.


#46
TheExterminator

TheExterminator

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 07-January 07
Thanks alot, why the hell i dont think on this.

Thanks alot again, and again and for the great guide you have made.

I have made a .cmd file where it download all update from microsoft, will you have it. ??

Oh yes, i believe i understand your question now. If you change CatalogSubDir="\i386\svcpack" to CatalogSubDir="\i386" just edit your svcpack.inf from

[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\I386\svcpack"

[ProductCatalogsToInstall]
KB873339.cat
to
[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\I386"

[ProductCatalogsToInstall]
svcpack\KB873339.cat
For example :)



#47
andregcasal

andregcasal

    Amoguai

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Joined 25-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Welcome :D

What you mean by all updates? Service packs or hotfixes? Does your .cmd file checks the installations source to determine which updates it needs?

#48
TheExterminator

TheExterminator

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 07-January 07
Is hotfixes. The file download it to you computer and install it with you xp cd

Welcome :D

What you mean by all updates? Service packs or hotfixes? Does your .cmd file checks the installations source to determine which updates it needs?



#49
Black Wolf

Black Wolf

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 09-January 07
Thanks for the amazing valuable information guys
Posted Image

#50
andregcasal

andregcasal

    Amoguai

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Joined 25-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, i would appreciate if you could post this to us :) And i would post it in the guide too :)
Glad to help Black Wolf :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users