Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Auto-Patcher For Windows 98se (English)

* * * - - 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1194 replies to this topic

#26
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,531 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Check this out for IESP1
if you already havent
http://www.msfn.org/...p...st&p=530392

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 17-February 05
I needed to use the Auto-Patcher again and found some work-arounds. Perhaps you'll soon eliminate the need for this, but for now it got the program to work.

For the Out of Environment error and the cannot locate fullfile.bat -

I first ran the original version and exited out, then the module update.

Then I went to the Windows\AutoPatch (extracted files folder) and right clicked the main Auto-Patch bat file and in the Memory properties tab I chose the largest Environment in the drop-down. I think it's 4096.

Then I ran the new shortcut pif that changing the environment created to run the Auto-Patcher.

Since the files had been updated by the module update the whole thing ran fine.

I had to use this again because my motherboards built in Ethernet driver likes to hold on to the device, not letting me easily disable the internet from Device Manager. It winds up crashing Device Manager and not disabling the card. This didn't happen on XP, but I guess the Via driver isn't as stable on 98.

McAfee was also giving me a problem with the newest DAT's where I was getting freezing and BSOD's in the McAfee vxd's. They used to fix this stuff pretty quickly in an updated DAT but I fear they're not bothering to test these on Windows 9x anymore.

So I formatted and installed fresh with ZoneAlarm and Avast instead along with a D-Link PCI Ethernet card, a DGE-530T. A shame really, since I liked that Mcafee suite with the VirusScanner, Firewall, and QuickClean (7.03, 4.02, 3.02 versions).

The motherboard's Ethernet shares with the AGP card! How stupid? Now I put the PCI card in a slot that doesn't and no more disconnecting problems. I like to do it that way rather than shutting down and pulling the plug. It's quicker. I do this for defragging, video editing, etc.


An idea for the Auto-Patcher - How about the latest Netmeeting? Don't use it, and I forgot to run it this time. But that is a possibility to include for those that do, eh?

Oh! I forgot to mention that I installed Gape's Unofficial 98SE Service Pack first this time. Solved the problem of digging out the Windows 2000 Color Scheme and the 256 Tray Icons, as well as the matching Desktop array of icons.

Gape's pack also does some nice tweaks such as the Shell Icon Cache is increased. I get the ASPI driver installed and TweakUI as well.

Hey, maybe you could run the Gape Service Pack first instead of figuring out how he does some of his updates. Have it run normally with the options available to the user then on reboot start your batch files.

The only problem might be that for older versions of Microsoft Office through Office 2000, they should be installed before Gape's pack. And for OfficeXP, that should be installed afterwards instead. This is due to otherwise conflicting versions of MDAC files that sometimes make Windows mess up the registry unless doing it in that order.

I don't know. It's just a thought. I still like to have the stuff Gape's pack does done automatically rather than my figuring and doing myself. I like easy!

Edited by Eck, 03 November 2006 - 12:45 PM.

Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#28
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05

I needed to use the Auto-Patcher again and found some work-arounds. Perhaps you'll soon eliminate the need for this, but for now it got the program to work...then I went to the Windows\AutoPatch (extracted files folder) and right clicked the main Auto-Patch bat file and in the Memory properties tab I chose the largest Environment in the drop-down. I think it's 4096.

Sorry about all the environment space probs --- i was setting totally unrealistic spaces to begin with which some systems obviously can't handle. The program now records what the current used space is in the log file (i've added a log function) - and I can report the highest amount I've reached is 897 ... it mostly varies between 500 and 800. I dunno what the unit of measurement is ... bytes?

An idea for the Auto-Patcher - How about the latest Netmeeting? Don't use it, and I forgot to run it this time. But that is a possibility to include for those that do, eh?

I'll get around to adding more component options, just keep suggesting them ... I may ignore the suggestions but only for a good reason, i promise.

Hey, maybe you could run the Gape Service Pack first instead of figuring out how he does some of his updates. Have it run normally with the options available to the user then on reboot start your batch files.

The user may as well do that. I'll try my best to include whatever is useful and what I can discern from Gape's work, but I can tell you now that I most likely won't be adding the service pack as it stands. Everything else the autopatcher installs is controlled --- checks are done to see if installs are needed, and log entries are created that specifies exactly what is being installed and I'll lose all of that. This is not a comment on the quality of the service pack, but just common sense. People can run the service pack before running the autopatcher, and all the autopatcher will do is fill in the gaps. So what you did is what others should do also.

the first post has been updated with news of the imminent release of v1.5 --- i'm very very proud of this version. It's nearly ready ...

#29
jimmsta

jimmsta

    computer janitor

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Joined 04-May 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

- the program can now be run in any folder on any drive (except don't put it in the root of a drive -- i've tested that and it doesn't work, but who would do that anyway?), however, you must be able to write to the directory you choose, so you can't burn it to a CD and run it from there.


I for one, will take your package, and compress it with 7zip, then wrap it with 7zip's SFX extra addon, which will make the package self-extractable to the 'C:\Windows\Temp' directory, and execute the script. This way, you can distribute the package on CD, and still have it work properly. Many of my patches are deployed in this way. (IE6 SP1, DX 9, both on Win9xPP v4.1).
Creator and Maintainer of BootZilla.org

#30
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 17-February 05
Oooh, goody!

This is almost as fun as waiting for a new monthly ATI catalyst release.

I likey the noted improvements.

On my latest (hopefully last for a while) new 98SE install I did as I said, installing some of my stuff first including Gape's Unofficial 98SE Service Pack.

For your information, Windows Update claimed it needed Internet Explorer SP 1 Cum update KB916281, IE6 Security update KB833989, and 98 Securiy update KB918547 this time.

I let it do it, then reinstalled MDGx's Unofficial KB918547, KB891711 and KB918899. (And then the IEBugFix thing.)

How come it didn't detect 918899 installed, when Internet Explorer's About and the Windows Updates Checker did? And then it installed that older one (916281)!

After reapplying those, Windows Update was happy everything was there.

But there still is a problem with stuff registering in System Information. Nearly all Internet Explorer files are listed as missing when clicking file versions, and the Internet Explorer link itself there brings up a blank page with no information. Any idea what's causing this?

Edited by Eck, 07 November 2006 - 11:00 AM.

Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#31
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05

I for one, will take your package, and compress it with 7zip, then wrap it with 7zip's SFX extra addon, which will make the package self-extractable to the 'C:\Windows\Temp' directory, and execute the script. This way, you can distribute the package on CD, and still have it work properly. Many of my patches are deployed in this way. (IE6 SP1, DX 9, both on Win9xPP v4.1).

7-zip has an SFX add-on??!?? --- YES !!!!!! --- go here to grab the add-ons if you are like me and have only just found out (by reading this!)

For your information, Windows Update claimed it needed Internet Explorer SP 1 Cum update KB916281, IE6 Security update KB833989, and 98 Securiy update KB918547 this time.

I've confirmed Windows Update says you have all the updates installed when you have run v.1.5 - Seriously, v1.0 of this project was not really up to scratch on so many levels. I hope you like the new version.

But there still is a problem with stuff registering in System Information. Nearly all Internet Explorer files are listed as missing when clicking file versions, and the Internet Explorer link itself there brings up a blank page with no information. Any idea what's causing this?

No, but I'll check it out ...

Edited by soporific, 07 November 2006 - 04:52 PM.


#32
jimmsta

jimmsta

    computer janitor

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Joined 04-May 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

7-zip has an SFX add-on??!?? --- YES !!!!!! --- go here to grab the add-ons if you are like me and have only just found out (by reading this!


That looks like someone's customized GUI... the official 7Zip SFX addon is here: http://prdownloads.s...ar.bz2?download
Creator and Maintainer of BootZilla.org

#33
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Another 7-zip SFX GUI tool [EasySFX], very easy to use [copyright free software]:
http://www.excessive-software.eu.tt/

HTH

#34
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05

Another 7-zip SFX GUI tool [EasySFX], very easy to use [copyright free software]:
http://www.excessive-software.eu.tt/

Thanks for the tips ... I can't for the life of me work out how to use the offical add-on so it'll be one of the other two it seems ...

OK, some help is needed ...

* Dial-up Networking 1.4 --- i've been studying Gape's service pack for quite a while and I can't for the life of me work out what he's done to install DUN 1.4 --- I can't even find the files inside the install package that InstallWatcher tells me is needed to install it. This is a real shame because this is a highly recommended update (and its needed to install stuff like IPsec VPN). If there is anyone that can repackage this update to fix the unattended issues, that would be great. Otherwise DUN 1.4 will need to be installed manually.

* ditto the Webfolders update (kb892211) - although this is nowhere near as important. The problem is it wants to immediately reboot after installation. I have even tried to accomodate this, ie set a runonce command to restart autopatcher after the computer reboots, and then exit out immediately after starting the update. When I do this, the installer plays funny buggers with me by exiting like it is supposed to (ie exits without rebooting) --- and when I think that its OK to not accomodate the automatic reboot, it does it anyway. Its like it knows what I want it to do and does the opposite just to spite me.

* ditto the .Net Framework 2.0 update (kb917283) --- the problem with this seems to be the switch -- it works by itself ( /q) but when used within the program it causes the same problem as kb892211 (see above)

* ditto NUSB23e .... this is just bewildering ... please see the screenshot below:

Posted Image

As you can see (look at the title of the window), the switch is /Q:A /R:N -- and it still wants to reboot with a message prompt. Arrgghhhh!!! MDGx has helpfully tested it on his system and didn't get the reboot message. So maybe this is a problem with the batch file process. Does anyone know of any issues where the switch functionality gets changed for some reason? This would explain a lot ...

I'm going ahead with releasing v1.5 with the above issues outstanding because v1.5 is mighty fine!!

#35
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
soporific:

Please download NUSB23E.EXE from my site:
http://www.mdgx.com/spx/NUSB23E.EXE
That's the one I've used to install unattended without any prompts.
You may have an older/buggy/test version. [?]

HTH

#36
jimmsta

jimmsta

    computer janitor

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Joined 04-May 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I'd use the RyanVM silent .NET 2.0 installer, if I were you - it doesn't require a reboot, and works fine on 9x.

Download here: http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/
Creator and Maintainer of BootZilla.org

#37
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05

Please download NUSB23E.EXE from my site:
http://www.mdgx.com/spx/NUSB23E.EXE
That's the one I've used to install unattended without any prompts.
You may have an older/buggy/test version. [?]HTH


MDGx -- thanks for the link, but I've already tried that but I did it again just to be sure. I have some other ideas about how to defeat this so i'll report on my progress soon ... thanks again

#38
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05
it's coming, promise!! --- just while you're waiting, any comments on the following:

the 'High Performance' tweak update makes the following adjustments to SYSTEM.INI:

%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "LocalLoadHigh=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MaxPhysPage=60000"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "LocalLoadHigh=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "PageBuffers=32"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "DMABufferSize=64"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "PerVMFiles=200"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MinSPs=4"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MaxBPs=300"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "VGAMonoText=Off"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "VideoFastPaste=On"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "PageOverCommit=20"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MinTimeSlice=40"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "RemovableIDE=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "SysVMEMSLimit=-1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "NoWaitNetIO=On"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "NetHeapSize=20"

%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "Chunksize=1024"
%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "NameCache=4096"
%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "DirectoryCache=96"
%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "MaxFileCache=524288"

These are directly from the performance tweaks INF in the Upgrade Pack 98 by X-Pachner. I admit to being mostly ignorant of exactly what these do. Any information I'm sure will be greatly appreciated by all.

Edited by soporific, 13 November 2006 - 06:55 AM.


#39
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

the 'High Performance' tweak update makes the following adjustments to SYSTEM.INI:

%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "LocalLoadHigh=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MaxPhysPage=60000"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "LocalLoadHigh=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "PageBuffers=32"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "DMABufferSize=64"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "PerVMFiles=200"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MinSPs=4"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MaxBPs=300"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "VGAMonoText=Off"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "VideoFastPaste=On"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "PageOverCommit=20"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "MinTimeSlice=40"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "RemovableIDE=1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "SysVMEMSLimit=-1"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "NoWaitNetIO=On"
%10%\system.ini,386Enh, , "NetHeapSize=20"

%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "Chunksize=1024"
%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "NameCache=4096"
%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "DirectoryCache=96"
%10%\system.ini,vcache, , "MaxFileCache=524288"
These are directly from the performance tweaks INF in the Upgrade Pack 98 by X-Pachner. I admit to being mostly ignorant of exactly what these do. Any information I'm sure will be greatly appreciated by all.

Most of these system.ini [386enh] section tweaks are explained here:
http://www.mdgx.com/...week.htm#SYSINI

MSKB official system.ini settings:
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=83435
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=83436

Please note that MaxBPs is obsolete in all 9x OSes = reminiscent from Win3.x days.

System.ini [Vcache] section tweaks here:
http://www.mdgx.com/newtip1.htm#THRASH

Please note that DirectoryCache is not a valid system.ini setting.

HTH

Edited by MDGx, 13 November 2006 - 11:59 AM.


#40
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 17-February 05
Uucchh!!

That's exactly the kind of stuff that made me dislike the UpgradePack98 immensely.

Just a few tweaks for memory are all 98 needs, and those can be made by the user. Gape does some in his pack and MDGx does a few more (mostly just learned about the icon cache increase and the renabling the removal of shortcut arrows after shell.dll fixes) but that's about all that's needed for average folks. After running Gape's, the AutoPatcher, and 98SE2ME, 98SE2XP and the MP10 update I sure didn't need to tweak my Autoexec or Systemini files.

Well, as long as you make the selection of that option voluntary then I guess it's all right but really, most folks will install the full 98SE2ME afterwards anyway. That installs the needed tweaks that Gape installs and adds a couple of its own. Mostly just to overcome stuff that Microsoft security updates break.

When I tried the UpgradePack I was surprised by all the registry tweaks. After trying to undo nearly all of them, I gave up and formatted.

Best not to mess with the System.ini file or add stuff to folk's Autoexec.bat. MaxFileCache=393216 is better for most systems than the huge Max amount. Tests showed Windows performs better with the lower amount there.

I just like to have updates, not a system I no longer recognize. Which is what I got with that UpgradePack98 thing. Heh, I didn't get mad because his web page warns that if we're upset with his tweaks,"I don't care!" He made me laugh so I couldn't really get too angry. A sense of humor goes a long way.

Edited by Eck, 13 November 2006 - 05:00 PM.

Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#41
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
  • Joined 28-March 05

"ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1"


I don't think this is a good one. In my experience I found that it significantly degradated system performance.
Asus A8V Deluxe - Athlon 64 FX-55 2.6Ghz - 1GB DDRAM 400 - Windows ME (IE 5.5 SP2 Shell) + KernelEx 4.0 and Revolutions Pack 10

#42
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05

That's exactly the kind of stuff that made me dislike the UpgradePack98 immensely.

Fair enough, but you haven't seen how the options work --- you can very easily ask AutoPatcher to skip installing any of the optional extras you don't want to install. It is very quick to do this as well. So, until you see it in action, its best to proceed assuming you'll be easily able to choose which updates you want.

"ConservativeSwapfileUsage=1"

I don't think this is a good one. In my experience I found that it significantly degradated system performance.

So what would be the "safe" high performance tweaks?

I could go nuts and create a separate option for each and every SYSTEM.INI option so you can select at will -- I could even add a function that allows you to enter your own desired setting.

But I only want to write code for stuff people are going to use. Maybe I should just release v1.5, you can see what I'm going on about, and then we could re-visit this question ...

recent updates and add-ons to the project:

- the best news is the report function is now complete. You can ask AutoPatcher to search for all missing updates and it will open the results in Notepad so you can see before-hand what AutoPatcher wants to install. How cool is that? It uses the same module routines and was so easy to implement it wasn't funny.

- many more things have been added:
Netmeeting 3.01, Microsoft Management Console 1.2, Microsoft L2TP/IPSec VPN Client, Internet Explorer 6 Administration Kit, Unofficial Update to Allow Drives over 137Gb (both versions), Unofficial Fix for Bug with Windows Explorer and numerous large files, Windows Media Encoder 7.1, NPUpdW98 (the update for notepad ), and the controversial High Performance Tweaks update.

All the above can be selected and unselected. So don't fret!!

#43
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 17-February 05
Heh, heh, all righty then.

98 hates me anyway.

"Error Loading Device IOS"
"Real Mode Memory Allocation Failed"

It happened again. With no smartdrv anywhere, still won't boot.

I've lost the ability to run Windows 98. P's me off!

Every single time I install 98, eventually I get hit with that. Last time I solved it by getting rid of smartdrv.exe, then it happened later on anyway.

BUT, it never happens on VMWare. So I suppose that's the route I'm stuck with. I couldn't even run 98 on a new Intel SE440BX.

I'm the guy that fixes all my friends and relations computers. And I can't even run a Windows 98SE system myself. I AM the tech guy here, so I don't have anyone to ask. The internet has NO information about this besides renaming or removing smartdrv.exe or rmm.pdr or running the commercial RegRepair2000. That thing just screwed with my fonts but couldn't fix the problem. I've tried messing with the WMP Roxio stuff too. Makes no difference.

I don't have a clue about this. I ran 98 since about when it was released and never encountered this problem until just a few months ago. Since I first saw this, it now has happened every single time I've tried to setup a 98SE system.

I'm ranting, but can you blame me?

Currently running XP Pro SP2 and Vista. But I really wanted 98SE, XP Pro SP2 and Vista. Oh, well. I'll be using the AutoPatcher when I get around to installing VMWare. Actually, in that scenario the only thing I'll need 98 for is running Star Trek Captain's Chair. Everything else I would use in 98 are Direct X and MS-DOS stuff that VMWare won't do. My dos games don't even give me video in VMWare. And VirtualPC was horrible when I tried it. It crashed constantly whereas VMWare hasn't ever crashed on me.

It'll be a while before I bother with a real 98 install. Too much recent frustration!
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#44
oscardog

oscardog

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Joined 29-June 06
Eck try going through the step by step confirmation on boot up F8, not loading the vxds one at a time until you find the culprit, if it is a via chipset look out for viagart.vxd it can be a real pain.

#45
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05
AutoPatcher for Windows 98se v1.5 alpha has been released...

go get it from here: http://www.filefactory.com/file/43b15f

its a fast server --- should not take over an hour if you have fast broadband.

#46
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,937 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

its a fast server --- should not take over an hour if you have fast broadband.

180 MB :crazy:
That's definitely too much even if it includes ALL updates.

#47
myelin

myelin

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Joined 29-July 06
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag


its a fast server --- should not take over an hour if you have fast broadband.

180 MB :crazy:
That's definitely too much even if it includes ALL updates.


I agree with you; its large.

#48
Eck

Eck

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 669 posts
  • Joined 17-February 05
Thanks, oscardog.

Viagart.vxd, interesting you mentioned that. I would suspect the video-agp interface if the same problems didn't crop up when using a old box with an Intel chipset and a Voodoo 5 5500 AGP or PCI card or a Voodoo 3 3000 AGP or PCI card.

I do use an unconventional approach when using the newer (Socket A KT880) Via chipset motherboards with 98SE. The standard Via 4-in-1/Hyperion Pro setup only installs a redirect from AGP to PCI that only activates PCI speeds for video. I manually install the AGP Gart driver by extracting it from the Via 4.43 4-in-1 package, the AGP folder and direct Device Manager to it. This enables full Direct X AGP acceleration and AGP textures on 98SE.

But that works properly without crashing games. And, again, I get the same IOS errors when using boards designed during the 98 era.

I'll do the step-by-step next time I have a 9x setup and run into the inevitable problem. I will say that I have refreshed the bootlog the last few times and it is nearly all clean with successful reports for all but an ndisup driver. Even the font problems I got in earlier problem setups weren't there, possibly because I've begun running Norton WinDoctor to keep things in good shape. That checks and corrects font problems, though it has never reported any so perhaps it isn't related. Bootlog hasn't shown any problems loading the vxd's either.

I just wonder what all the rest of the 98 enthusiast's here are doing that does not result in the IOS error I always get nowadays.

Just downloaded the new 1.5 Autopatcher. Well, I'll file it away and use it in VMWare for now. Eventually I'll try a 98SE setup again.
Epox EP8KRAIPRO AthlonXP3200+ NVidia GeForce 6600GT AGP Audigy 2 ZS Crucial 2x1024MB 3200 RAM

#49
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
@ soporific: does your autoupdate has a language check ? So that I avoid downloading 180mo for nothing... Thanks

@ eck: don't give up! It's harder to make win98 work with modern Mobos/GPUs but just wait a week and give it a chance. I reinstalled win98 8 times on my new PC before getting it to work. It worth the effort. (the ndis2sup error in bootlog is normal BTW if this is what your refered to)
Traductions fran├žaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#50
soporific

soporific

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 705 posts
  • Joined 12-June 05

180 MB :crazy: - That's definitely too much even if it includes ALL updates.

Tihiy: i'd be interested to hear what could (or should) be left out of it ... fair enough there's lots of duplication of files within each of the hotfixes but this doesn't really add up to that much.

the autopatcher for XP is over 200mb, mine is in good company.

@ soporific: does your autoupdate has a language check ? So that I avoid downloading 180mo for nothing...

No, it doesn't - sorry. Is there some info I can read that will help me implement a languange check? What is it exactly supposed to do?

Edited by soporific, 14 November 2006 - 04:26 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users