Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How many Operating Systems Do You Boot


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

Poll: How many Operating Systems Do You Boot (144 member(s) have cast votes)

How many Operating Systems Do You Boot?

  1. Just the one (48 votes [33.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 33.33%

  2. Voted 2 (43 votes [29.86%])

    Percentage of vote: 29.86%

  3. 3 (25 votes [17.36%])

    Percentage of vote: 17.36%

  4. 4 (11 votes [7.64%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.64%

  5. 5 (2 votes [1.39%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.39%

  6. 6 (3 votes [2.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.08%

  7. 7 (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  8. 8 (2 votes [1.39%])

    Percentage of vote: 1.39%

  9. 9 (1 votes [0.69%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.69%

  10. 10-20 (6 votes [4.17%])

    Percentage of vote: 4.17%

  11. 21-30 (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  12. 40+ (3 votes [2.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.08%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1
awergh

awergh

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So how many OS's do you boot and what are they?
i run 3
98se, XP Pro and Ubuntu 6.06


(yes i know that 40 is very unrealistic but there might be just one person who does boot that many)

Edited by awergh, 07 September 2006 - 05:38 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,311 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
right now im booting vista and xp x64. but at other time ive had up to 5 at once...


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#3
Maleko

Maleko

    Gold Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,111 posts
just the one, XP Pro, for me to messy with other OS's

tired it b4, just wound me up, but thats me. Dual booting is good for those who use it :)
Posted Image

#4
Kamus

Kamus

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
I use 4
1.- Windows 98 SE
2.- Windows XP Pro
3.- Windows Vista RC1
4.- Mandriva Linux 2007

And in the XP VMware other 5, 3 linux diferent distributions and 2 XP.
I need a life !!!
life easy? may be no, but the computers can be

#5
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,680 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Between my personal machines I boot roughly 10 OSs depending on the role and task. So I picked 10-20, but I doubt if I get anywhere near 20.

My faves:
Win2k
Win2k3
OpenBSD
Various flavors of Linux

#6
Thunderbolt 2864

Thunderbolt 2864

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I always dual boot with two operating systems.

On the machine I'm using, its dual booting:

Windows XP Pro SP2
Windows Server 2003

On the other machine:

Windows XP Pro SP2
Windows 2000 Pro
PC 1: Intel Xeon E5 2687w | 32GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133Mhz | Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI | Corsair AX1200 watt Power Supply | 20x LG SATA DVD+/- RW | LG BluRay/HD DVD Combo Drive| Logitech Z-5500 5.1 speakers | 42" Toshiba 42XL700a at 1920x1080 1080p | ASRock X79 Fata1ty Champion | Aerocool Strike-X ST Black | 1x OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 1x 4TB Western Digital Hard Drive | Windows 8 x64 Pro

#7
Omik

Omik

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
just one

#8
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,953 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

[X] just one
Posted Image

#9
nitroshift

nitroshift

    Beware of programmers with screwdrivers!

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,904 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I only use 1 OS at a time - Xp Media Center. When testing Vista, I just make a ghost image of xp and store it on a different partition.

Please read the rules, folks!


#10
KamiQuazi

KamiQuazi

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Windows XP Pro Sp2
Windows Vista RC2
Unburtu

#11
DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,550 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Unburtu


Ubuntu? lol :P
Recommended Software: KeePass | Microsoft ICE | VisualWget | Vitamin D Video |

#12
seanbdesign

seanbdesign
  • Member
  • 5 posts
I boot Microsoft Windows XP Professional

That's All!!!!

:)

#13
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
I cannot have more than 4 different *types* of OS becoz of the 4 primary partition limitation as i hav only one HDD :(
( why is such limitation ???, 512 byte mbr ?)

with 1 primary windows partition i boot XP, XP x64,2k3,
Vista need another primay partition otherwise (if in logical) it remap C: drive

linux dont need any primary partition if u use GRUB
so i install Ubuntu, SuSE & Fedora,debian

Then with another primary HFS+ use Mac OS X

the rest 1 primary partiton for any OS => for testing (if available -when vista installed in logical)

so total abt 8+
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#14
claudius

claudius
  • Member
  • 1 posts
I boot 5 OS :

1. NT 4.0
2. Win 2000 Adv srv
3. Win XP Familial
4. Win 2003 R2
5. Linux Centos

#15
pipsta

pipsta
  • Member
  • 2 posts
Just 2 will do me, Xp Pro Sp2 and ME

#16
flyingfiddler

flyingfiddler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
Windows XP Pro SP2 at both work (IBM T42) and home (self-built rig)... 1 is enough for me! Although I have been playing with Virtual PC 2004 lately with DOS and soon Windows 3.1 if I can ever find my old diskettes. I've been working on converting some OLD but proven aviation programs.

Regards,
Dan

#17
Lost Soul

Lost Soul

    Snap ... Crackle ... Pop

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,746 posts
2 for me

This is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But, it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.

- Winston Churchill

#18
Jaqie Fox

Jaqie Fox

    Genuine Girl Techie

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
[x] 10-20 -- Whew. too many!

Hardwired (host) OSes I run on my various machines:
Windows XP Professional SP2 RTM (32 bit)
Windows XP Professional x64
Windows Server 2003 Standard SP1 (32 bit)
FreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE i386
FreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE amd64
MS-DOS 6.22
DD-WRT (for my router)

OSes I run inside a VM:
*most of the above plus
Windows 2000 Professional
Windows 98 SE
Windows 95B
Various flavors of linux (at least four, change all the time)

OSes I run on boot-CDs
Windows 98 SE (just the boot portion)
DOS 6.22
DR-DOS
Knoppix 5.01
DBAN Linux
*many more I just can't remember off-hand

#19
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Really, 10 or more? How much time do you spend on that ??? :blink:
For me, 2:
- Win98 SE
- WinXP Pro
Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#20
wfunction

wfunction

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 76 posts
For you guys who boot 10+ - Do you have EFI or do you have 6+ Linux systems, which don't need a primary partition? Either way, it seems crazy :D
I have 2 - 3: it changes frequently (1-2 XP Pro, 1 Vista RC2)

Edited by wfunction, 20 December 2006 - 02:02 PM.


#21
McTavish

McTavish

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
If you mean on one machine then I might have had close to 40 not long ago when I had various betas of Vista and most versions or each as well – Home, Ultimate, Business, BusinessN etc. At the moment that machine must have around 20 different OSes. But if you’re counting clones as well then it usually has up to 70 fully independent OSes all on their own partitions with just one boot manager. And several in VMware. It’s just a standard 3-4 year old x86 PC. Screenshot

#22
awergh

awergh

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
wow what a lot of partitions what size disks do you have?

#23
McTavish

McTavish

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 74 posts
There is four 160gig drives there. 18 bootable OSes per drive is a limitation of my bootmanager.

There have been a few people in this thread saying they can’t run Windows independently from logical partitions. It’s true you can’t install to a logical without using the Windows bootmanager, but you can clone an install there and so free up the primaries, then use another boot manager. If you use a compatible cloning tool and bootmanager then all you have to do with NT is edit the boot.ini in the clone to point to the correct partition number, (normal cloning precautions apply with NT if the parent is going to be present on the system during first boot of the clone). With Win9x there is no boot.ini so they boot fine as is. You just need your bootmanager to hide the partitions before it.

You can do the required partition tweaks manually if need be.
http://www.goodells....boot/ptedit.htm

#24
sonu27

sonu27

    Panjabi By Nature

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 762 posts
With 20GB theres not much you can or want to do.

WinXP Home good enough, with a 5 year old PC, reaching 6.

#25
Fredledingue

Fredledingue

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,267 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Just one:
w98SE usp3.0

HTASoft.com

superchargedwindows9xig1.png
Still Using W98SE+++ ...Daily.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN