Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

OEMScan - Automated Multi Manufacture Pre-Activation Utility

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
353 replies to this topic

#26
TheUni

TheUni

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
that almost makes TOO MUCH sense. Hah!

Brilliant. Thanks.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Bezalel

Bezalel

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 591 posts

Sounds nice, right now I’m busy disassembling Microsoft’s Genuine Advantage code to better understand how OEMBIOS files work, I don’t have much time to add it.

If you want a quick hacked solution.

[AMI]
CMD=".\PromptForChange.exe"

[AWARD]
CMD=".\PromptForChange.exe"

[PHOENIX]
CMD=".\PromptForChange.exe"

put at the end of the oemscan.ini file will have the same effect as ELSE :)


Or you could search for a string that appears in every BIOS.
[SM]
CMD=".\PromptForChange.exe"


#28
xehqter

xehqter

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 87 posts
@Bezalel even better :) didn't think of that.

#29
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts

on another note...
I've already created a .vbs script that changes the key that takes a file (containing a key) as an argument. it works successfully in sp2 to change my key. For example:
cscript changekey.vbs "..\dell\serial.txt"

Does this detect the difference between Home & Pro? so it can be made universal

#30
TheUni

TheUni

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
the key isnt what changes the distro btw home and pro. They're different disks.

afiak you'd still have to use a home cd to install home and a pro to install pro. if you're wanting to do both, you should look into Powerpacker made by siginet.

#31
FreeStyler

FreeStyler

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
  • OS:none specified

the key isnt what changes the distro btw home and pro. They're different disks.

afiak you'd still have to use a home cd to install home and a pro to install pro. if you're wanting to do both, you should look into Powerpacker made by siginet.


I dont see a problem why this couldn't... tweak the changekey.vbs or alike so it checks what kind of install it is home, pro or mce and specify which key to use...
doesn't sound to hard to acomplish

Edited by FreeStyler, 22 September 2006 - 01:13 PM.

Posted Image

#32
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts

the key isnt what changes the distro btw home and pro. They're different disks.

afiak you'd still have to use a home cd to install home and a pro to install pro. if you're wanting to do both, you should look into Powerpacker made by siginet.

I am very aware of this, the reason for my asking is that I use the same update packs, drivers, and addin software for both my Home & Pro distro's... and it would be nice to not have to modify the keys and software every time I want to compile a different vesion. So, basicly if I would type in all the keys for Home and All the keys for Pro... and it would detect that is one or the other, and use the appropriate key.

#33
TheUni

TheUni

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
i see where you're going, i guess

i have 2 .vbs files.

1 for changing the key to a string found in a file. ie:
changekey.vbs "..\dell\serial.txt"

2 is for prompting for a new key. This is the case for a NON-Royaltiy oem sticker:
promptkey.vbs

for changekey, i guess i could have the script try more than 1 key for each file. That would be alot easier than checking for home/pro, then using that key. it would be easier to try them both. if one fails (if you try to use a home key for pro it WILL fail) then use the other

so your dell\serial.txt would just look like this:

123ab-123ab-123ab-123ab-123ab 'DELL XP Home Key
123bc-123bc-123bc-123bc-123bc 'DELL XP Pro Key

it wouldnt have to prompt you at all. just quietly use whichever one works
good enough?

Edited by TheUni, 22 September 2006 - 02:56 PM.


#34
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts

it wouldnt have to prompt you at all. just quietly use whichever one works
good enough?

Yeah, as long as it works... but I have seen some key-changers that allow you to type anything (after windows is installed) and it will change it to an invalid key, but windows complains after the fact. that is the only thing that I am concirned about.

But if it works, it works. Sounds good to me :)
Maybe after the scripts are complete, could you be so kind as to share the wealth? ;)

Thanks

#35
TheUni

TheUni

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
sure

The script wont let you change to an invalid key. i've tried.
i haven't tested it during an install, but it works fine otherwise. i assume it'll work fine.

they're on my pc at home, i'll post when i get back.

#36
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts

they're on my pc at home, i'll post when i get back.

I'm patiently waiting, it sounds exciting :)

#37
severach

severach

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
>So, basicly if I would type in all the keys for Home and All the keys for Pro... and it would detect that is one or the other, and use the appropriate key

To install home & pro from the same disk, wouldn't you just use CDShell like everyone else? With two separate folders, there's nothing to detect. The Pro keys would live in the pro folder and the home keys would live in the home folder.

Seems to me the optimal way to produce the disk is to have CDShell test the BIOS and tell the user that the system isn't supported, instant confirmation, or continue installing the user's selected Windows. Half way through, a custom QFE, the same for all Windows, tests the BIOS again and updates the OEMBIOS set and another QFE, different for each Windows, changes the key. The key needs to be updated before the first logon before it is written to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\WPA\KEY-* where it is hard to delete.

#38
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts

>So, basicly if I would type in all the keys for Home and All the keys for Pro... and it would detect that is one or the other, and use the appropriate key

To install home & pro from the same disk, wouldn't you just use CDShell like everyone else? With two separate folders, there's nothing to detect. The Pro keys would live in the pro folder and the home keys would live in the home folder.


Seems like some ppl are missing my point...
I dont want 2 seperate scripts for when I compile my CD's. All the rest of the files that I use are universal... aka RyanVM Updates, BTS Driverpacks and can be used with Home AND Pro... why not the key script? I would rather have 1 big code to do so, rather than a seperate code for each version of windows... make sense to me, and would make it easier IMO

Edited by discountpc, 23 September 2006 - 11:14 PM.


#39
Siginet

Siginet

    Windows XP PowerPacker Creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
Hey xehqter...
Do you mind if I post some Integrator addons on my forum using your oemscan tool? It will make it much easier for people to use your tool. :) I think oemscan has pretty much made my tool, ("The OEM ACT") obsolete. Honestly I think oemscan is pretty much perfect the way it is now. :)

@discountpc I think the script TheUni is making will be exactly what you want. ;) At least that is what it sounds like to me.

Edited by Siginet, 23 September 2006 - 11:56 PM.

Posted Image
For those of you interested in my next software venture you can check it out here:
www.ITTechware.com


#40
twig123

twig123

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 325 posts

@discountpc I think the script TheUni is making will be exactly what you want. ;) At least that is what it sounds like to me.

I think so too, I just wanted to clarify for the people that didn't understand what I was requesting.

:) Thanks :)

#41
Siginet

Siginet

    Windows XP PowerPacker Creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
With xehqter's permission I created some OEMScan Integrator addons for the members here.

http://siginet.ryanv...wtopic.php?t=61

Enjoy! And please help by shareing some more OEMScan Addons by studying how I made these. They are very simple to create.

Posted Image
For those of you interested in my next software venture you can check it out here:
www.ITTechware.com


#42
Ghostrider

Ghostrider

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts

With xehqter's permission I created some OEMScan Integrator addons for the members here.

http://siginet.ryanv...wtopic.php?t=61

Enjoy! And please help by shareing some more OEMScan Addons by studying how I made these. They are very simple to create.

Siginet, I've been too busy and away from the forum for awhile and noticed the updates and this very useful tool as I, like you, reinstall hundreds of Dell, HP, Compaq etc etc machines and hate that **** phone call.... :realmad: anyway i went to your site via this link and saw a list but they all just download Dell, was that intentional... ?

Edited by Ghostrider, 25 September 2006 - 08:38 AM.


#43
Siginet

Siginet

    Windows XP PowerPacker Creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
Aww man I am sory. I will fix it now. :(

Posted Image
For those of you interested in my next software venture you can check it out here:
www.ITTechware.com


#44
TheUni

TheUni

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
Haven't had much time to play around with these scripts lately, so i figured i'd let you guys take a look. Still haven't tried them in a pre-boot environment, so i can't guarantee they'll work. Anyway, see my previous posts to see what they (hopefully) do.

Btw, there's hardly any error checking. Feel free to add some simple checks if you see fit. Also, i have not messed around with taking more than one key, or differentiating btw home and pro, so feel free to give that a shot as well.

Most of the code for changing the key was taken directly from an MS script.

Usage
For ChangeKey.vbs:

Cscript changekey.vbs filepath\serial.txt
--Serial.txt should contain 1 line containing the serial number. w/ dashes or w/o. doesnt matter.

For PromptKey.vbs:
Cscript promptkey.vbs abc12-abc12-abc12-abc12-abc12
--obviously the argument here is your desired key. This is only needed for an OEM install that is NOT a royalty version. This makes it so that you don't have to create a seperate disk.

Please let me know if this works or not. If so, maybe i can find some more time to add some functionality.

Attached Files



#45
Ghostrider

Ghostrider

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
I have read most of the posts relating to Pre-Activation but i wanted to get something straight as i'm not clear on it.... i create multiboot cd's of OEM home + Pro and Retail Home and Pro and also a DVD. I use the integrator and powerpacker linked with batch scripts with some extra copy/remove commands, the whole process creates the Cd's and DVD as iso's and takes all day...
My question is whether the addons will work in a multiboot environ' (OEM Only) and are all the oembios files required thereby adding 100mb to the cd (doesn't matter about the DVD, plenty of room)

#46
Siginet

Siginet

    Windows XP PowerPacker Creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
Yes this method will work on a multiboot dvd on your oem copies. I do want to make a couple modifications so you don't have to add the 100+ MB of file on each OS. Instead have a batch that is run during svcpack to run oemscan from within the oem dir on the root of the disk.

I know from my experiance that if you have too many oses on a dvd you can sometimes run into read errors. So of course... use trial and error.

Posted Image
For those of you interested in my next software venture you can check it out here:
www.ITTechware.com


#47
Ghostrider

Ghostrider

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
Thanks, I use Corporate, Home and Pro OEM and Home and Pro Retail on 1 DVD otherwise 1CD of OEM and retail each. I'll let you know how things go as i try them on new installs.. Good Job...!!!!

#48
Randy Rhoads

Randy Rhoads

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 133 posts

My question is whether the addons will work in a multiboot environ' (OEM Only) and are all the oembios files required thereby adding 100mb to the cd (doesn't matter about the DVD, plenty of room)


Removing the LANG folder inside I386 will free up alot of room. You can then use cdimage with the optimize option which should give you enough room on a cdr, but i havent tested how many sets of oembios files can be added before space runs out.

#49
Randy Rhoads

Randy Rhoads

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 133 posts

II. Making changes to the OOBEinfo.ini file

OEM pre-activation can be preserved if changes are made to the OOBEinfo.ini file by ensuring that the %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\oobe\oobeinfo.ini file contains the information shown below but substituting the appropriate product key.

[Version]ProductKey =”XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX”


Source: http://www.microsoft...y/oempreac.mspx

If the above is true, would'nt one just need to add this file, along with the OEMBIOS files, inside each manufacturer's folder, enter the correct keys for each, and let oemscan copy over the oobeinfo.ini which would'nt require any physical key changes? Or have i totally got this confused ?

Does oemscan copy over anything you place inside the folders to system32 or will it only look for the four oembios files?

Edited by Randy Rhoads, 26 September 2006 - 01:59 AM.


#50
vpn-user

vpn-user

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 46 posts

II. Making changes to the OOBEinfo.ini file

OEM pre-activation can be preserved if changes are made to the OOBEinfo.ini file by ensuring that the %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\oobe\oobeinfo.ini file contains the information shown below but substituting the appropriate product key.

[Version]
ProductKey =”XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX”


Source: http://www.microsoft...y/oempreac.mspx

If the above is true, would'nt one just need to add this file, along with the OEMBIOS files, inside each manufacturer's folder, enter the correct keys for each, and let oemscan copy over the oobeinfo.ini which would'nt require any physical key changes? Or have i totally got this confused ?

Does oemscan copy over anything you place inside the folders to system32 or will it only look for the four oembios files?



You' re right, this works. Thats the method I used all the time, BTW. Of course this needs the Windows Welcome page to be displayed and used so not 100% unattended automation. But I like it to make some individual changes to a system after the whole process, especially for entering the computer name and user name.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN