Allowing Users to Install Hardware Device Drivers

Zoom7000

I work in a school and teachers and students are expected to save documents and files on USB flash drives. However, I have an issue where when the USB flash drive is plugged in Windows tries to install device drivers for "USB Mass Storage Device", "Disk Drive" and "Generic Volume". Obviously regular users can't do this. I have tried going to:

secpol.msc > Security Settings > Local Policies > User Rights Assignment > Load and unload device drivers > Add User or Group

However, the Add User of Group option is greyed out. All I have in the Allowed Users is Administrators and Print Operators.

So is there anyway I can allow users to, in theory, add hardware?

Zoom7000

Well, its a pretty tough measure to do. The area is generally regarded as one of the most deprived areas in London. So kids generally look for the quick bargain outside of school. You'll find cheap MP3 players, cheap USB flash drives, branded drives. So it's a problem I need to work around rather than go back to planning from scratch.

Thanks for the help guys, however any more ideas are very welcome! :)

Well, actually under 2000/XP, the actual drivers, at least those that allow read-write access to standard Mass Storage devices, i.e. those that do not have "private" partitions or other custom or brand specific formatting, are 99,99% the same, USBSTOR.SYS.

Problem is the way that the corresponding .INF file is structured and the number of different ID's the different sticks have.

Open with a Registry editor or viewer the registry on one of the machines of which the sticks have been mounted, at this key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\USBSTOR

or corresponding

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet00x\Enum\USBSTOR

You will see a (LONG) list of all devices that were ever mounted.

This happens because devices have their own identity "coupled" with the driver.

Check this entry also: