Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Change windows version with regedit

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06
I recall discussions, a few years ago, somewhere, about using regedit to modify Windows version info that would trick *some* programs into installing. I have tried googling to no avail. I have already switch the info that IE pumps out (user strings).

I have a feeling that it this
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion
that should be modified, but am uncertain.

Does anyone know what I am talking about? If so could you tell me how to do this, or point me to a link? I am using Win98 SE and want to put info in for WinXP sp2.

Thanks,

SW :)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Skyfrog

Skyfrog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Joined 10-September 03
I don't know how or if you can do that, but if you are trying to install a program that uses an msi installer you can use the Orca msi editor to modify the installer. I did this with Doom 3 for example, worked fine after that. There are tutorials that tell how to use it and you can find out where to get it here if you want:

http://support.insta...ticleid=q107066

#3
galahs

galahs

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Joined 01-December 05
I did this trick with Win98 FE so Media Player 9 thought it was Win98 SE and it worked!

This will only work for programs that only check the registry to deterine if the program is allowed to install/run. It won't allow all programs that require additional resources ffrom the NT/2000/XP kernell etc.

I'll have a look to see if I can find what I did.

Posted Image
Australia, it's time we became a Republic!


#4
galahs

galahs

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 401 posts
  • Joined 01-December 05
click on Windows Start button. Select Run. Type,
regedit

Double click on the following folders in the correct order;
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
Software
Microsoft
Windows
CurrentVersion

In the right section in the Name column, double click on the following names and change their data value to:

ProductName Microsoft Windows 98 Second Edition
Version Windows 98SE
VersionNumber 4.10.2222

or

ProductName Microsoft Windows ME
Version Windows Millennium Edition
VersionNumber 4.90.3000

or


ProductName : Microsoft® Windows ® 2000 Operating System
VersionNumber : 5.00.2195.7035
Version Windows 2000 Professional


Hit OK after changing each value. Close Regedit.



Not sure if Changing them to Windows 2000/Xp values is a good idea?

Posted Image
Australia, it's time we became a Republic!


#5
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06
That's the ticket, I'm looking for XPsp2 info though. Thanks for replying does anyone know what to put in for Xp? And should the go into Windows NT\CurrentVersion

Edited by Steven W, 25 September 2006 - 12:34 PM.


#6
awergh

awergh

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
dont think orca works on 98se

#7
eidenk

eidenk

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,442 posts
  • Joined 28-March 05

dont think orca works on 98se


Maybe older versions if any exists.
Asus A8V Deluxe - Athlon 64 FX-55 2.6Ghz - 1GB DDRAM 400 - Windows ME (IE 5.5 SP2 Shell) + KernelEx 4.0 and Revolutions Pack 10

#8
Guest_TM0d_*

Guest_TM0d_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --


dont think orca works on 98se


Maybe older versions if any exists.


I don't think that there are older version cuz ORCA is the part of a kit (forgot the name) and Microsoft usually puts up a test (Beta) version of "independent" programs...

#9
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,365 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
1. Install Orca 2.0.3790:
download this CAB [3 MB, right-click to save] = part of Installer SDK 2.0:
http://download.micr...-common.3.0.cab
Extract Orca_Msi.FD66E721_5AA0_41BC_AA26_1EC8F7FA1175 from CAB -> rename it to orca.msi -> double-click on orca.msi to install Orca -> run orca.exe [usually installed under C:\Program Files\Orca].

2. Install Orca 1.10.1124:
download Installer SDK 1.1:
http://www.microsoft...ad-bfc98e3ae4a3
file [7.92 MB, right-click to save]:
http://download.micr...US/IntelSDK.msi
Install IntelSDK.msi -> look under the \Tools subfolder -> should see orca.msi -> double-click on orca.msi to install Orca -> run orca.exe [usually installed under C:\Program Files\Orca9x].

3. Orca 3.1 [part of Installer SDK 3.1] does *not* work with 9x OSes:
http://www.microsoft...3E-40C0EC4F68E5

HTH

Edited by MDGx, 03 October 2006 - 11:09 AM.


#10
awergh

awergh

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
so it does work

#11
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,365 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
Only Orca 1.x + 2.x work under 9x OSes, Orca 3.x does not.

#12
zaezd

zaezd
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 18-February 14
Please help!
 

1. Install Orca 2.0.3790:
download this CAB [3 MB, right-click to save] = part of Installer SDK 2.0:
http://download.micr...-common.3.0.cab
Extract Orca_Msi.FD66E721_5AA0_41BC_AA26_1EC8F7FA1175 from CAB -> rename it to orca.msi -> double-click on orca.msi to install Orca -> run orca.exe [usually installed under C:\Program Files\Orca].

2. Install Orca 1.10.1124:
download Installer SDK 1.1:
http://www.microsoft...ad-bfc98e3ae4a3
file [7.92 MB, right-click to save]:
http://download.micr...US/IntelSDK.msi
Install IntelSDK.msi -> look under the \Tools subfolder -> should see orca.msi -> double-click on orca.msi to install Orca -> run orca.exe [usually installed under C:\Program Files\Orca9x].

3. Orca 3.1 [part of Installer SDK 3.1] does *not* work with 9x OSes:
http://www.microsoft...3E-40C0EC4F68E5

HTH

 
 
Link 2 "2. Install Orca 1.10.1124: download Installer SDK 1.1:" not work.
 
P.S. I'm sorry for my english

#13
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,833 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
This works: IntelSDK 1.1 (but, then again, the second link already provided does so, too).