Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

vLite 0.5 alpha - Vista Lite

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
131 replies to this topic

#76
DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,550 posts
  • Joined 18-August 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I think I've found a bug, but I do need to test more.
The "Windows Media Center Receiver Service" will not start after removing seemingly unrelated services with vLite 0.5
This will cause Media Center to crash after about 10 seconds when it tries to start the service.

I apologize for the lack of information I will have more tomorrow, including hopefully what service is responsible.
Just posting now in case anyone else has noticed this. Otherwise so far so good!
Recommended Software: KeePass | Microsoft ICE | VisualWget | Vitamin D Video |


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
damian666

damian666

    creator of the vistapack

  • Developer
  • 679 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
well thanx man for this new toy, im like a child in a toyfactory!
i used it and made an iso and got no bugs at all!
so keep going man!

:thumbup

damian666

untitled.png


#78
LeveL

LeveL

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Joined 30-September 05

i used vlite on vista RTM, selected the x86 directory in sources, and chose vista ultimate

after doing removals, made the iso, mounted it in daemon tools, used vpc2007beta and told it to capture my vlite drive

had this error before any user interaction..

Posted Image


On a x86 only DVD (for instance my Vista Ultimate Beta 5384 DVD) the sources folder is here:

DVD:\sources

On the DVD with x86 and x64 the sources folder is here:

DVD:\sources\x86\sources

The 5384 Beta DVD is laid out like so:

boot
docs
efi
sources
support
upgrade
autorun.inf
bootmgr
bootmgr.efi
readme.htm
serial.txt
setup.exe

The RTM with x86 and x64 is laid out like so in the x86 folder:

boot
efi
sources
support
upgrade
autorun.inf
bootmgr
setup.exe

So this means, in the RTM DVD in x86 it is missing these files
and folders compared to the Beta (x86 only) version:

docs
bootmgr.efi
readme.htm

So I think, copy everything thats in the x86 folder to your C:\Vista folder
and then from the root of the RTM DVD, copy those two files and one folder
into C:\Vista to make it what would be a single install DVD.

I can't see the docs folder not being there making any difference, or the htm file,
that leaves only one other file - bootmgr.efi.

The RTM I have does not even have a readme.htm on the root of it anyway. :rolleyes:

#79
-.-PhanTom-.-

-.-PhanTom-.-

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Joined 13-October 05
Cool, but will wait for one with 64bit support before trying out this new wondertool :)
Keep up the good work!

#80
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,390 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
bei, it's still early. Give it a month or two.

bledd, is Level right that you're not using build 5744+ ? (haven't reread the topic)

XPero, wow take it easy :)

piXelatedEmpire, ok corrected

DigeratiPrime, ok gonna check that too, let me know if you find anything else.

damian666, great
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#81
bledd

bledd

    msfn is a friend of mine!

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,733 posts
  • Joined 24-March 04
yup

using rtm, build 6000

#82
dAbReAkA

dAbReAkA

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Joined 11-July 05
lol i installed the filter and i still get that error..

#83
Spooky

Spooky

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 718 posts
  • Joined 12-November 03
"Should we start a topic focusing on Vista compatible registry tweaks?"

If you get me a list of the reg tweaks from nlite i'll be happy to check each one to see if they work in Vista, or provide changes for the existing ones to make them work in Vista if it can be done. A lot of reg tweaks that formerly worked in XP need either modifications to work in Vista or don't work at all because the facilities for them that were present in XP no longer exist in Vista. I'm already posting reg tweaks in the Vista Tweaks and Tips section I know work, might as well throw these into the mix because i'm already set up for testing reg tweaks. I don't use the product my self but i'd be happy to contribute by testing out the reg tweaks for you.

there are a lot of registry tweaks that can be used in Vista from nLite.
Should we start a topic focusing on Vista compatible registry tweaks?

One little thing I noticed first time using vLite is it behaved weird when my disk ran out of free space, it had an error message but it did not say low on free space, and it kept trying to write to the disk even though there was no free space. Of course I freed up some space, just fyi.


Edited by Spooky, 22 November 2006 - 10:00 AM.


#84
Cronner

Cronner
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 30-December 04
Nice!

Can't wait to slim down vista x64 :D

#85
DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,550 posts
  • Joined 18-August 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Components that Passed:
[Components];# Drivers #Modem driversPrinter drivers;# Languages #JapaneseKoreanSimplified ChineseTraditional Chinese;# Multimedia #Movie and DVD MakerSpeech SupportTablet PCWindows Media Samples;# Network #Windows Mail;# Services #Content IndexingMicrosoft DFS ReplicationWindows Remote Management;# System #AccessibilityDisk DefragmenterFax SupportHelpMicrosoft AgentWelcome CenterWindows DefenderWindows SATZip Folder

Remaining Suspect Component responsible for ehRecvr crash:
[Components]
;# Services #
Error Reporting


Remaining Suspect Components responsible for MCE crash:
[Components]
;# System #
Security Center
System Restore


BTW this is the MCE error message:

Description:
Stopped working

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: ehshell.exe
Problem Signature 02: 6.0.6000.16386
Problem Signature 03: 4549b55e
Problem Signature 04: ehshell
Problem Signature 05: 6.0.6000.0
Problem Signature 06: 4549bcf3
Problem Signature 07: 4435
Problem Signature 08: 27
Problem Signature 09: System.IO.FileNotFoundException
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft....mp;clcid=0x0409


Edited by DigeratiPrime, 23 November 2006 - 02:15 AM.

Recommended Software: KeePass | Microsoft ICE | VisualWget | Vitamin D Video |

#86
dot-bot

dot-bot
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 20-May 06

lol i installed the filter and i still get that error..


TESTED - Host OS: Vista x64 untouched; vLite v0.5; distrib: Vista RTM x64 copied to HDD; Filter Manager installed from WinXP x64:

vLite still complains about not being able to mount, needing Filter Manager...

Please Help! Thanks Nuhi, you're the man!

Edited by dot-bot, 22 November 2006 - 06:13 PM.


#87
DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,550 posts
  • Joined 18-August 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
another little bug - Mode:"Direct Burn" does not burn a bootable dvd. I must first use Mode:"Create Image" and then burn the resulting iso file.

This is a requst or suggestion please enable the ISO 'page' without needing to first apply changes, because sometimes I might just want to burn the files and not make changes.
Recommended Software: KeePass | Microsoft ICE | VisualWget | Vitamin D Video |

#88
Cronner

Cronner
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 30-December 04
dot-bot > from vlite homepage: "Only 32bit for now, working on the 64bit adaption, shouldn't take long."

#89
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
I got error "Registry file not found, Report error" while building

and i removed everything possible with vlite
got blank screen after first reboot and thereafter

I didint used 5744 or up ( used 5600)
didnt used vmware 5.5.3 (used 5.5.2)
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#90
pierre626

pierre626
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 25-January 06
Does anybody have any miniature ISO's then or is this not allowed

#91
3aces

3aces

    Bass Lover!!! :D

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05

Does anybody have any miniature ISO's then or is this not allowed



as far as im aware....it is not allowed


Posted Image


#92
pierre626

pierre626
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 25-January 06
Oh well,

I'm gonna have to get a copy of RTM from my mate

#93
3aces

3aces

    Bass Lover!!! :D

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05

Oh well,

I'm gonna have to get a copy of RTM from my mate



best idea i guess :blink:


Posted Image


#94
amigafan

amigafan

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 24-April 04

im just curious,, what are some of the final disk sizes that some of you ppl are coming up with after vliting it ? me im still in the process of testing it out on free trial,, ill have to wait until june until i get my real copy,


Mine is 1.07GB, after I removed everythin except video drivers and wallpaper (because of that OOBE problem).
"I may be drunk, but you are ugly, and in the morning I will be sober."

#95
3aces

3aces

    Bass Lover!!! :D

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
mines just under 1gb.....bout 970mb, everything removed except Windows Mail, because of the WLM problem


Posted Image


#96
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,390 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
bledd, ok then we'll see how it develops with next version

DigeratiPrime, niice bug reports, gonna take care of it, thanks. And reward for you is already existing option to Always Enable ISO Page in the options ;)

Innocent Devil, well retry it when you get the RTM, don't rush it, it's for 5744+.

pierre626, how about not playing the invincible pirate.
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#97
toxin

toxin
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 23-November 06
hi everyone !

this is my first reply on this forum and i wanted to say that nlite is great app and that nuhi is doing a great job ! can't wait for the final vlite...

the thing is that i am trying to use vlite with built 6000 and for some reason whan i finish removing only the games for example (103mb) the file shows that i actually removed 400 mb or more ! strange..

anybody bumped into this error?

#98
DigeratiPrime

DigeratiPrime

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,550 posts
  • Joined 18-August 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

DigeratiPrime, niice bug reports, gonna take care of it, thanks. And reward for you is already existing option to Always Enable ISO Page in the options ;)

Ok thanks nuhi :)
Recommended Software: KeePass | Microsoft ICE | VisualWget | Vitamin D Video |

#99
3aces

3aces

    Bass Lover!!! :D

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Joined 10-December 05
nuhi...do you have any idea what causes the WLM error


Posted Image


#100
br0adband

br0adband
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 25-January 05
bledd: I'm not pointing a finger or anything but I saw that error myself, and it's because you're probably using the WinBeta AIO DVD, and if so, it's not going to work.

The WinBeta AIO DVD, for those that don't know it, is a hacked version; the WinBeta team did some tinkering with it before releasing it. They added some network code early on for some reason I haven't been able to figure out - you'll see a Command Prompt open up with a net start command that sits in the background on the initial setup screen in the GUI - and they replaced the wallpaper also. There are some other little hacks/glitches also that simply prevent vLite from working properly in my testing, and I tried Home, Home Premium, and Business editions - not one of them worked properly and resulted in that same error each time.

To put it bluntly, so far in my testing it's this simple: vLite doesn't work on the WinBeta AIO DVD release, so if you have that one, forget it. Even copying the files to the hard drive doesn't help, nor does trying to copy just the necessary files and skipping the included 64 bit sources. You need to get an unmodified AIO disc, either from Microsoft or some other source, or a straight pure 32 bit Vista RTM DVD image to work with.

I located a real Vista RTM ISO I grabbed almost as soon as Vista went RTM; it's nice and clean and the exact 32 bit ISO Microsoft has, and vLite works perfectly with it. I haven't had one single issue so far in my testing of the three editions: Home, Home Premium, and Business.

I could care less about Ultimate, so my focus is Home and Business editions. Right now I'm vLiting Business and the ISO is about 1.17GB so... now to burn it and reinstall again, see how it fares.

Home and Home Premium are most closely associated with XP Home, so Business - which is more like XP Pro - is my "ultimate" goal. A nice trim vLite edition of Business that's fast and mean... almost there...

Thanks again, nuhi... simply amazing piece of work you've created...

bb
The difference between genius and stupidity?
Genius has limits.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users