Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account

Photo

Can I install vista on SATA drive?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

Romeo26222

Romeo26222

• Members
  • 39 posts
Hello..I am new to know about SATA drives and i decided to use a western digital sata hard disk...now i want to ask can i use the sata drive alone without IDE one?and will i face any problems installing vista or winxp on this drive??
thanx in advance..

How to remove advertisement from MSFN

LLXX

LLXX

MSFN Junkie

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,399 posts
If you set in BIOS option to emulate PATA device then it will be recognised as standard IDE disk and works fine.

If you want to use "native" SATA mode then you'll need drivers.

uvmain

uvmain

Junior

• Members
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
sorry, but that's just FUD.

Vista installs to SATA drives perfectly fine without the need for drivers.. The same as XP does.

The only time you'll need drivers is if you are installing to a RAID array.. and this goes for PATA as well as SATA.

When Vista asks for drivers, unlike XP which needs a floppy, setup will let you search all detetcted devices.. including your hard drives, usb drives etc.

*NO* drivers or IDE emulation are needed whatsoever to install to a single SATA disk.

Edited by uvmain, 23 November 2006 - 02:10 AM.

Romeo26222

Romeo26222

• Members
  • 39 posts

sorry, but that's just FUD.

Vista installs to SATA drives perfectly fine without the need for drivers.. The same as XP does.

The only time you'll need drivers is if you are installing to a RAID array.. and this goes for PATA as well as SATA.