Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

What's your internet connection like?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
174 replies to this topic

#76
CptMurphy

CptMurphy

    Just another techie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Joined 15-October 05
Posted Image
--- Signatures with a resolution greater then 300pix in width and 100pix in height will be removed ---
--- Please read the rules ---


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
Messerschmitt

Messerschmitt

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • Joined 30-June 05
Wtf people having 66k kbps up and down in Vancouver? And 6 ms? Do you have the hole IPS server in your home and your connecting through LAN or something?
Dam you :realmad: :P

Oh well, i'm pretty happy with mine, except that stupid latency.

Posted Image

And one from London, even tho I think their server are limiting the connection

Posted Image

And one from Toronto

Posted Image

And Inferno, how come you got such low latency? Is your home all by itself on a 3 km radius? :)

Edited by Messerschmitt, 11 June 2007 - 11:59 PM.

Bambi board: http://bambi.myftp.org
-a fan board for the Bambi masterpiece

#78
bledd

bledd

    msfn is a friend of mine!

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,733 posts
  • Joined 24-March 04
Posted Image

4mbit ntl

cool site :)

#79
prx984

prx984

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,091 posts
  • Joined 22-March 06
Heres mine:

Posted Image

Dam rogers <_<

Edited by prx984, 12 June 2007 - 06:44 AM.


#80
Livewings

Livewings
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 25-June 07
Nah... you cannot beat my fastest internet yet... 100mbps Internet Connection by Cable... DOCSIS 3.0

Posted Image

Edited by Livewings, 25 June 2007 - 07:49 AM.


#81
Zxian

Zxian

    Scroll up - see the Google bar?

  • Super Moderator
  • 5,066 posts
  • Joined 30-September 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Nah... you cannot beat my fastest internet yet... 100mbps Internet Connection by Cable... DOCSIS 3.0

Posted Image

:blink:

oy... how did you manage to get that? and how much does it cost per month? :lol:

#82
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04

Nah... you cannot beat my fastest internet yet... 100mbps Internet Connection by Cable... DOCSIS 3.0

Posted Image

That's orgasmic.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#83
Nerwin

Nerwin

    Photographer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Joined 31-May 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
This is mine :

Posted Image

Thats till I get my new modem Which will be 8 MB/S with Power boost which will bring it up to around 25 MB/S

Desktop: Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8ghz || G. Skill Ripjaws 8GB DDR3 2133 || ASUS P8Z77-V LK || 128GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD || 640gb WD SATA HDD || Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO || Corsair TX650M || ASUS 24X SATA DVD Burner || Fractal Designs Arc Midi || Windows 7 64-bit 


#84
CaptainStacks

CaptainStacks

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 97 posts
  • Joined 31-July 07
Posted Image

I think it's whacked. I know I can't upload at over 100kb/s over dialup.

Oh, and by the way, it's not my choice to use AOL :ph34r:

Edited by CaptainStacks, 01 August 2007 - 09:04 AM.

"When we don't know who to hate, we hate ourselves." Chuck Palahniuk

#85
efrain

efrain

    Beta Tester?

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 81 posts
  • Joined 16-July 07
Work... :o
Posted Image
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

#86
Andrew932

Andrew932

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Joined 18-October 04
Does it really matter how fast the connection is, as long as you can surf the internet without problems.

#87
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,579 posts
  • Joined 14-August 04

Does it really matter how fast the connection is, as long as you can surf the internet without problems.

YES!! Slow internet is like having your bones ground while waiting for the bus.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#88
tain

tain

    Cyber Ops

  • Super Moderator
  • 3,682 posts
  • Joined 24-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

YES!! Slow internet is like having your bones ground while waiting for the bus.

:lol: exactly like that :)

#89
KamiQuazi

KamiQuazi

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Joined 26-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I definably need an upgrade on mine. lol
Posted Image

A little farther north and i almost double my speed?! :crazy: :blink:
Posted Image

Edited by lostincyberspace2007, 02 September 2007 - 08:13 PM.


#90
Wicket20519

Wicket20519

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Joined 23-February 05
If only we had fast internet like the Japanese: 66mbps!

#91
DL.

DL.

    Tweaker or whatever I happen to be focused on at the moment..

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • Joined 05-March 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

If only we had fast internet like the Japanese: 66mbps!

In Sweden 100Mbit Fibre-LAN is widely available to those in apartments (unfortunately I'm not one of them right now, but have been). Most of the time you won't even be close to those speeds since the servers etc are the limiting factors. Uploading was often faster than downloading.

I've read somewhere that some Asians, I don't know where (probably in Japan or S.Korea), have even faster connections...

#92
Nerwin

Nerwin

    Photographer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,827 posts
  • Joined 31-May 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I got a new connection :P You Like?

Desktop: Intel Core i5-3570K @ 3.8ghz || G. Skill Ripjaws 8GB DDR3 2133 || ASUS P8Z77-V LK || 128GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD || 640gb WD SATA HDD || Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO || Corsair TX650M || ASUS 24X SATA DVD Burner || Fractal Designs Arc Midi || Windows 7 64-bit 


#93
RJARRRPCGP

RJARRRPCGP

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,190 posts
  • Joined 13-April 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted Image

I think it's whacked. I know I can't upload at over 100kb/s over dialup.

Oh, and by the way, it's not my choice to use AOL :ph34r:


Dial-up! That isn't the right reading then!

You're supposed to max out at 56 kbps and then the typical is 40 kbps to 45 kbps!

Also, with POTS, the upload reading probably will always be wrong, for me, it usually reported at least around 200 kbps!

But, the days of POTS are over for me, back in May, I gotten ADSL.

Edited by RJARRRPCGP, 18 October 2007 - 04:47 PM.

Asus P5QL Pro, Core 2 Duo E4500, eVGA GeForce 9500 GT with XP Pro x64 Edition -> Works great with Asus P5QL Pro!

#94
RJARRRPCGP

RJARRRPCGP

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,190 posts
  • Joined 13-April 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

This is mine :

Posted Image

Thats till I get my new modem Which will be 8 MB/S with Power boost which will bring it up to around 25 MB/S


IMO, you're lucky to get 10 Mbps with Comcast. VTel, which is in Springfield is supposed to be the fastest!

With VTel, I'm taking about 24 Mbps! VTel in the worst case scenario should be at least the same as Comcast for less.

The uploads are usually at least 512 kbps.

Also, with Comcast, expect the uploads to be capped to 384 kbps, unless you get the expensive package, which is expected to be in the neighborhood of $100 per month!

-------------------------------NEWS FLASH-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sad news is that there has been a major slowdown with my VTel DSL connection, lately, at least since October, it has been pokey Joe, at only 1.0 Mbps to 1.5 Mbps for the download and around 384 kbps for the upload and sometimes not more than 200 kbps!

I tried to get my ADSL modem replaced and I already gotten another Ethernet cable.

Edited by RJARRRPCGP, 18 October 2007 - 05:00 PM.

Asus P5QL Pro, Core 2 Duo E4500, eVGA GeForce 9500 GT with XP Pro x64 Edition -> Works great with Asus P5QL Pro!

#95
Toontwnca

Toontwnca

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Joined 16-October 07
Posted Image

Nothing fancy. Middlle of the road adsl.

#96
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,287 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted ImageHome; probably better if Business Class (capped)...

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#97
RJARRRPCGP

RJARRRPCGP

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,190 posts
  • Joined 13-April 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Here's mine again. It seems to be fixed for now:

Posted Image
Asus P5QL Pro, Core 2 Duo E4500, eVGA GeForce 9500 GT with XP Pro x64 Edition -> Works great with Asus P5QL Pro!

#98
RJARRRPCGP

RJARRRPCGP

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,190 posts
  • Joined 13-April 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Today is majorly better:

Posted Image
Asus P5QL Pro, Core 2 Duo E4500, eVGA GeForce 9500 GT with XP Pro x64 Edition -> Works great with Asus P5QL Pro!

#99
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,311 posts
  • Joined 23-December 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i need to try this out at my school, a couple of months ago we got a fiber connection :)


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#100
gamehead200

gamehead200

    SEARCH!!! SEARCH!!!

  • Super Moderator
  • 7,039 posts
  • Joined 02-September 02
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted Image
:whistle:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users