Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

What's your internet connection like?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
174 replies to this topic

#151
lightning slinger

lightning slinger

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • OS:none specified

Good grief!! :unsure:

When I look at some of the speeds posted here, you would think I lived in some backward Third World country (possibly I do!). :blink:

Here in the UK, unless you are served by some small community local cable network (few and far between) or Virgin Cable (only in city areas) you have to rely on British Telecom's archaic attitude of serving up the telephone system via a network of the thinnest and cheapest copper cables up the oldest wood poles they can find.

The result is the best that can be achieved from a max of 8Mb/s is around 4-5Mb/s.


Yes, I knew it!! I do live in a Third World country after all.  :angry:

The UK comes 25th out of 66 countries when it comes to download speeds. Anyone thinking otherwise would do well to read this article from the BBC.


http://news.bbc.co.u...ogy/8282839.stm


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#152
rendrag

rendrag

    grrrrrr

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Verizon upgraded me when I renewed FiOS. Not as fast as others here, but certainly good enough for me

Posted Image

#153
blade1357

blade1357

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted Image

my speed

#154
luke77

luke77

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted Image

I just thought it could be interesting if we compared internet connections. If you want to post your speed in this thread, please post using http://www.speedtest.net/ and copy-pasting the forum link. Thanks.


This is what I am getting with an AT&T DSL modem.

Posted Image

#155
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,528 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted Image

#156
Cnoevil

Cnoevil
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted Image

#157
jcarle

jcarle

    MSFN Master

  • Developers
  • 2,579 posts
Posted Image

They upgraded the cables in the street. It nudged my downstream up a bit. Yay!

#158
Blekthor

Blekthor

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Dear old Comcast at home

Posted Image

#159
VideoRipper

VideoRipper

    CSI Eastwood City

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
My current stats:

Posted Image

#160
DJPro

DJPro

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
Posted Image

Cable @ Home

#161
todarsey

todarsey

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 109 posts
Posted Image

#162
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,506 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Weird, I never posted a home test before. I just got cable today and disco DSL... which my router said I was getting 900K down. So here is my new test:

Posted Image

Work test:
Posted Image

:blink:

#163
Cheitanya

Cheitanya
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
http://www.speedtest...t/908812660.png

hi this is my speed

Edited by Cheitanya, 09 August 2010 - 01:03 PM.


#164
bns

bns
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
My bandwidth is so large that it can't be shown on a regular internet page. So I am the winner :whistle:

#165
GrofLuigi

GrofLuigi

    GroupPolicy Tattoo Artist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,342 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

My bandwidth is so large that it can't be shown on a regular internet page. So I am the winner :whistle:

It's not the size that matters, it's how you use it. ;)

Edited by GrofLuigi, 26 September 2010 - 04:36 PM.


#166
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,506 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Work test again.

Posted Image

#167
tal ormanda

tal ormanda

    RuneScape Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 554 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Home

Posted Image

#168
the-matrix

the-matrix

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 198 posts
Download 15.08 MB - Upload 1.63 MB

I just got an upgrade

#169
Mr Snrub

Mr Snrub

    Former MSFT

  • Super Moderator
  • 775 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Upgraded to 100/10Mbps a while ago, just had a replacement (Netgear) cablemodem as the previous (Cisco) one appeared to fry itself last weekend.

Posted Image

Weird how they correctly use "Mbps" on the site, but then switch to the horribly ambiguous "Mb/s" in the dynamically generated summary...

#170
Mr Snrub

Mr Snrub

    Former MSFT

  • Super Moderator
  • 775 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
New house, new Internet connection (fiber), new ISP, new test results (behind NAT router):
Posted Image

When connected straight to the dirty switch:
Posted Image

#171
mitraark

mitraark
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted Image

College Internet :)

#172
endlessness

endlessness

    for large values of 5

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Posted Image

University is around 20Mb/s, but the bandwidth is limited in some pages (like YouTube).

#173
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,181 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Dug out alllll the way from the 2nd page of this forum, for tain as he struggles with his memory. :D

#174
John305

John305

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well I live in Canada so our internet just sucks LOL. I use sympatico as I live in a small town cable has just arrived here but its so poor its not worthwhile. I am on a old account the ultra one it is unlimited downloads you cant get that here anymore but I get 6 meg down and 64k up for 81 $ per month now that sucks LOL. But I remember dialup all to well so it helps to think what if I had dialup.

#175
-X-

-X-

    Member

  • Patrons
  • 2,321 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Posted Image

Advertised as 3.0 but that's all I get. I'm too far from the CO. On the bright side, I only pay $21.50 a month. I have to call every 6 months and threaten to cancel to get the discount.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN