Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Windows 2000 Revolutions Pack

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
193 replies to this topic

#26
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
It doesn't look like a proper testing scenario. But what do I know?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

DllRegisterServer in rpl2k.dll failed. Return code was 0xffffffff

This means rpl2k.dll was already registered from this or another directory.
Try to unregister before registering. If it won't help, manually clean AppInit_DLLs.

#28
nicke85

nicke85

    Chetnik

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
Tihiy RP for 2000 is great idea. :thumbup
Since I were bought new computer in my PC isn't 98SE.
Now I can use nLite to build new W2K0.
Thanks a lot for your work!
U are the best!!!!!!!!! :ph34r:

I hope there will be the same skining engine like in 98SE...

#29
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
These are the 4 bugs i've found so far. I should say bugs #1-#3 don't happen all the time and they are not exclusive to any particular program. Bug #4, on the other hand, does happen all the time.

Bugs #1-#3:

Posted Image


Bug #4:

Posted Image

Edited by Dave.Net, 20 February 2007 - 11:06 AM.


#30
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Bugs #1,2: known, random, weird, trying to fix.
#3: not explored & not known how to fix: Windows XP also doesn't display all 32-bit .ico files, only some of them.
#4: this bug happens because when 32-bit & non-32 bit image is composited, it is impossible to distinguish what result is. Render may be either with weird arrow or weird arrow and no image at all. Don't know what to do either.
Other than that, i'll try to fix #1-#2, and also add 32-bit icons in taskbar at least.

#31
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
So...you mean the shortcut overlay issue could be avoided by using a 32-bit arrow. Great.

Thanks.

#32
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
I don't know if it's coincidence or not, but my system became very unstable after installing RPL2K.DLL. I'd get an error message that explorer.exe has caused problems, and the shell restarted after I clicked OK. This happened opening random folders (just viewing them), very often. I deinstalled RPL2K.DLL about 7 hours ago and so far I didn't experience any crash. I haven't witnessed a shell restart for over two years on my computer (reinstalled a few times, of course, in those two years) so I'd exclude "bad system maintenance", but you never know, hehe... :)

If it would help, I can install RPL2K.DLL again and provide you with some logs. I usually use Inspector IIXII but if you prefer something else let me know...
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#33
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

I'd get an error message that explorer.exe has caused problems, and the shell restarted after I clicked OK.

Believe or not, this bug is known. However, i though it to be extremely rare.
That's how reputation is lost, eh :rolleyes:
Wait please for 1.5 where i'll fix it. I just need to find time for that.

#34
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Version 1.5 attached to the first post
- Fixed Explorer crash which can occur while image-lists are being refreshed
- Added 32-bit icon support into taskbar (Note: not every application will support it. Opera and applications compiled on Borland compilers may not show 32-bit icons on taskbar)

#35
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
Thanks for the update.

#36
vnt87

vnt87
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Awesome work! Thanks.

#37
XibaD

XibaD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
Great! Thaks Tihiy

#38
Scramjet

Scramjet

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
Tihiy, the shell icons work fine. But what about explorer toolbar icons? I have the 32-bit toolbar bitmaps from Vista (Browseui.dll - bitmap#265, 266, 276, 277) but they're oversized ie. 384x24 instead of 320x20 and 1128x24 instead of 940x20. If I apply them directly the white areas become transparent (which must mean that the toolbar supports 32-bit bitmaps), but the icons are all misaligned because of the size discrepancy. If I resize the bitmaps, the icons are aligned properly but the white areas show up around the icons.

Since both original and resized images are 32-bit bitmaps I fail to see why they behave differently.

Do you have any idea why this happens and/or any workarounds? Since your screenshot doesn't show toolbar icons I don't know if you have modified your toolbar or intend to. I'm using RPL2K 1.2 BTW.

#39
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Since both original and resized images are 32-bit bitmaps I fail to see why they behave differently.

Are you sure they're both 32-bit? Check them for transparency with some tool which is able to show it.

I'm certainly looking for a way to provide 32-bit icons with 24x24 size into Explorer toolbar.
It is easily possible by patching files, but i want to find a way to do it on the fly.

#40
Scramjet

Scramjet

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
I use GIMP. It says "Display Type: RGB Color", "Visual class: True Color", and "Visual depth: 32" for both images. And if I move the cursor to the white background, it shows "Red: 255", "Blue: 255", "Green: 255" and "Alpha: 255" in both images. Or is GIMP incapable of detecting the alpha value in bitmaps?
I don't know much about graphics editing, so if you're "looking for a way to provide 32-bit icons with 24x24 size into Explorer toolbar", I'll just wait for you to implement it; since it's obviously going to be better than anything I can cook up.
If you can point out any place where I might have got it wrong, I'll try again. If it's easily possible to use 24x24 icons by patching files, can you please tell me how? I'll settle for the manual method till you figure out how to automate the process.

#41
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

If it's easily possible to use 24x24 icons by patching files, can you please tell me how? I'll settle for the manual method till you figure out how to automate the process.

Here you go:
http://www.msfn.org/...howto...w=&st=

#42
Scramjet

Scramjet

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
Thanks I'll try it.

#43
Scramjet

Scramjet

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
I changed only the value "Toolbar size: (20->24) S: 6A1458A3 R: 6A1858A3" and it worked. There's just the minute issue with the disabled toolbar buttons but Dave.Net has already pointed that out.
Thanks a lot!

Attached Files

  • Attached File  2KXP.jpg   8.87KB   37 downloads


#44
prx984

prx984

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,091 posts
Simply amazing Tihiy, great work ;)

Will be using this on my 2000 laptop :P

#45
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
i found another bug:

Display Properties > "Effects" Tab > Desktop Icons. This list can't show the alpha channel properly.

However:

1) I don't care that much.
2) It can't even show 48px icons.
3) Worse color limitations exist on every other list in this applet.

#46
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

There's just the minute issue with the disabled toolbar buttons.

i found another bug:
Display Properties > "Effects" Tab > Desktop Icons. This list can't show the alpha channel properly.

Those aren't bugs which are because of bugs in 32-bit icon algorithm; those bugs are by design in Windows because of not implemented features or patch required.
They're not present in Windows 98 RP, but that's another issue.

#47
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
Yeah, Tihiy. I know it's no bug but I didn't have a better word for it. :lol:

By the way: I was really impressed by your tip on how to make windows use 24px toolbar images, so the question is how do you find that kind of things while hex-editing an exe or dll? I once drove myself crazy trying to rise outlook express' color palette with IDA PRO and a hex editor.

#48
rrvcpt

rrvcpt
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Does it work under win 2k portuguese?

#49
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,915 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Does it work under win 2k portuguese?

It should be language neutral.

#50
Yagami_ex

Yagami_ex
  • Member
  • 5 posts
Excellent work Tihiy. The Windows 2000 Revolutions Pack will have skins on future as the Revolutions Pack Seven?
Sorry for my bad english i am brazillian and used a translator^^
Windows 2000 Professional + Revolutions Pack
AMD K6-II 450Mhz
HDD 10GB
128Mb RAM DIMM PC100
Motherboard PCChips M585-LMR
CD-RW/DVD Reader LG Eletronics
2 USB 1.1 Ports
The computer is poor, but i am happy with it ^^




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN