Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Windows 2000 Revolutions Pack

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
193 replies to this topic

#51
alexanrs

alexanrs

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Joined 30-August 05
Great work, Tihiy! Although I have migrated to XP a long time ago I still have this older PC I love playing arround with, and Windows 2000 is its main OS.
Now I have one question: does Windows 2000 Revolutions Pack enable the use of 32-bit alpha-blended icons in the system tray as well or we still have to patch explorer.exe to get anything better than 16 colors?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,931 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Windows 2000 Revolutions Pack will have skins on future as the Revolutions Pack Seven?

It depends.

Great work, Tihiy! Although I have migrated to XP a long time ago I still have this older PC I love playing arround with, and Windows 2000 is its main OS.
Now I have one question: does Windows 2000 Revolutions Pack enable the use of 32-bit alpha-blended icons in the system tray as well or we still have to patch explorer.exe to get anything better than 16 colors?

You can patch explorer.exe OR you can create explorer.exe.32bitimgl file in %systemroot% and you will have 32-bit icon it tray then.

#53
wilderer

wilderer
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 05-January 07

You can patch explorer.exe OR you can create explorer.exe.32bitimgl file in %systemroot% and you will have 32-bit icon it tray then.


Thanks Thihy here it works :D !!! Did you contact the author of tclock3 to implement the taskbar skinning into rp7(for win2k)?

Edited by wilderer, 09 March 2007 - 01:54 PM.


#54
XibaD

XibaD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 07-August 06

You can patch explorer.exe OR you can create explorer.exe.32bitimgl file in %systemroot% and you will have 32-bit icon it tray then.


Sorry for my ignorance: what's a explorer.exe.32bitimgl file? How can I create it? Is it simply a blank text file with that name?

:s

#55
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 17-July 05
Yes, it's a simple txt file.

(And no .txt extension, of course)

Edited by Dave.Net, 10 March 2007 - 10:29 AM.


#56
Quisquose

Quisquose

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 59 posts
  • Joined 19-November 06

Not much success here either.

There were no changes to be noticed in the Administrator account. In the Power User account, I got black, toothy edges on quite a few icons.

Same here, and I am using ATI (Radeon X1950 Pro).

Outpost tray icon is wrecked (as are Nero install icons) and I have folders of XP icons that all have very jagged black edges. Strangely, a couple of icons in the control panel seem to be displaying correctly, but I may be mistaken as I can't be sure how they looked before (I did not pay them that much attention).

I have cleared icon cache, unregistered DLL and re-registered, but it's still the same unfortunately.

#57
XibaD

XibaD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 07-August 06

Not much success here either.

There were no changes to be noticed in the Administrator account. In the Power User account, I got black, toothy edges on quite a few icons.

Same here, and I am using ATI (Radeon X1950 Pro).

Outpost tray icon is wrecked (as are Nero install icons) and I have folders of XP icons that all have very jagged black edges. Strangely, a couple of icons in the control panel seem to be displaying correctly, but I may be mistaken as I can't be sure how they looked before (I did not pay them that much attention).

I have cleared icon cache, unregistered DLL and re-registered, but it's still the same unfortunately.


I've noticed that you CAN'T check "show icons with all possible colors" in desktop properties. When you register this dll, that box is unchecked. Have you re-checked it after applying the dll register?

#58
alexanrs

alexanrs

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Joined 30-August 05

Not much success here either.

There were no changes to be noticed in the Administrator account. In the Power User account, I got black, toothy edges on quite a few icons.

Same here, and I am using ATI (Radeon X1950 Pro).

Outpost tray icon is wrecked (as are Nero install icons) and I have folders of XP icons that all have very jagged black edges. Strangely, a couple of icons in the control panel seem to be displaying correctly, but I may be mistaken as I can't be sure how they looked before (I did not pay them that much attention).

I have cleared icon cache, unregistered DLL and re-registered, but it's still the same unfortunately.


I've noticed that you CAN'T check "show icons with all possible colors" in desktop properties. When you register this dll, that box is unchecked. Have you re-checked it after applying the dll register?

You'd set ShellIconBPP back to 16 instead of 32, actually disabling Win2K Revolutions Pack

#59
damian666

damian666

    creator of the vistapack

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hi guys, i have asked tihiy if i can use it in my vista2000 pack and has give me a ok.
so check out the thread under windows customisation.
there is going to be an update today.
oh and tihiy, would it be a good idea if we"you, wildbill, and me" work together to make a hell of a pack for 2000?!
let me know if you like that, just pm me.

damian666
Posted Image

#60
Targaff

Targaff

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Joined 22-August 05
Hrm, explorer.exe seems to be an either/or thing, since I have a hacked .exe and it doesn't appear to work. That's a shame.

Do I need to do anything specific to get it to work with alt-tab?

#61
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 17-July 05
Any updates coming soon?

#62
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,931 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Any updates coming soon?

I don't have time/inspiration.
Any specific ideas?

#63
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 17-July 05

Any updates coming soon?

I don't have time/inspiration.
Any specific ideas?


Not really besides the alt-tab dialog and those small issues. The patch does what it says and that's ok.


Edit:

One thing i'd like to see in w2k is a better thumbnail view, similar to xp's, where the big folder icons are useful to preview what's inside

Edited by Dave.Net, 14 March 2007 - 11:43 PM.


#64
alexanrs

alexanrs

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Joined 30-August 05

Any updates coming soon?

I don't have time/inspiration.
Any specific ideas?


Maybe you could include an installer that automatically uninstalls previous versions and create *.exe.32bitimgl files for explorer.exe (more colorful sysem tray + 32-bit icons in folder options dialog) and for taskmgr.exe.

EDIT: installer could create cleanmgr.exe.32bitimgl as well

Edited by alexanrs, 15 March 2007 - 09:12 AM.


#65
Seina

Seina
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 04-June 05
Is there a Winrar icon that doesn't show up as just a box or a way to make it display? I've tried making the .exe.32bitimgl files with some success except for this.

#66
Scramjet

Scramjet

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 27-August 05
If I try to associate a file-type with an application by right clicking on a document, selecting 'Open With...', select a program, check 'Always use this program to open these files' and click 'OK' - the document's icon is screwed up.
Look at the file called 'sample' below. The second image is the 'Properties' dialog for a similar file. It is as if a small transparent image has been placed on top of the icon. The third image - same procedure when done in XP.

Any idea why this is happening?

Attached File  Untitled2.jpg   16.8KB   40 downloads

#67
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,931 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

This is problem similar to shortcut arrows.
Notice that Shell is combining 32-bit and not 32-bit image. In such case, it is impossible to determine what result is (because non 32-bit image has zero alpha channel in 32-bit color space -> it will become transparent).
It is possible to workaround this by forcing resulting alpha-channel white, however, if i'm to implement this, you'll lose alpha blending video card acceleration (i don't want to).
It may be possible to work around this directly in Shell in future versions.

Edited by Tihiy, 19 March 2007 - 12:30 AM.


#68
Scramjet

Scramjet

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 27-August 05
In the case of shortcut arrows all you had to do was use a 32-bit arrow and problem solved. Not so in this case. I tried replacing the background icon with the original 16-colour 2k icon and that didn't work either. In this case the background icon became transparent as well.

So how is XP implementing this - since in the example I provided 'keynote.exe' only had a 32x32 16-colour icon. Does XP convert the lower bit-depth icon into a 32-bit image before combining it with the background icon?

I don't have time/inspiration.
Any specific ideas?

Hope this counts as inspiration/specific idea

#69
damian666

damian666

    creator of the vistapack

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hi tihiy, what about the treeview in mapoptions, and other places?
maybe thats an idea to implement?
also netshell uses some sort of strange way to show icons.
look in to that also?

btw, its the best thing that ever happened to win2k!!!

damian666 :thumbup
Posted Image

#70
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,931 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

hi tihiy, what about the treeview in mapoptions

Where? :blink: :blink:

#71
damian666

damian666

    creator of the vistapack

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Joined 19-July 06
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
well the folderoprtions in the explorer window.
youo know, extra's\folderoptions.
there the icons are in 16bit i think.
and in the display properties, when you select a wallpaper.
also in 16bit.

damian666
Posted Image

#72
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 17-July 05

well the folderoprtions in the explorer window.
youo know, extra's\folderoptions.
there the icons are in 16bit i think.
and in the display properties, when you select a wallpaper.
also in 16bit.

damian666


If you mean those icons under the General tab, they can be changed with reshacker. If you mean the "View" tab (there is a list showing some ugly folder icons at the bottom) then i don't know.

Regarding display properties: every single inch of that applet is fugly as hell. :lol:

#73
alexanrs

alexanrs

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Joined 30-August 05

well the folderoprtions in the explorer window.
youo know, extra's\folderoptions.
there the icons are in 16bit i think.
and in the display properties, when you select a wallpaper.
also in 16bit.

damian666

To improve the icons in the "Folder Options" dialog create an empty file in C:\WINNT (where Win2000 is installed) and rename it to explorer.exe.32bitimgl.

Edited by alexanrs, 19 March 2007 - 11:11 AM.


#74
Dave.Net

Dave.Net

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts
  • Joined 17-July 05
Then I guess all applets -including display properties- could be forced to display 32-bit icons by using system32/rundll32.exe.32bitimgl. Is that correct?

#75
alexanrs

alexanrs

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Joined 30-August 05

Then I guess all applets -including display properties- could be forced to display 32-bit icons by using system32/rundll32.exe.32bitimgl. Is that correct?

It doesn't seem to work for display properties. Maybe it doesn't use ImageLists to store and paint their icons...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN