STOP: C000021A & STOP: 000000144 UNKNOWN HARD ERROR

acmeco

Hello guys...

this is wonderful website and a very helping forum. i have been using this website for about last 6 months now - but felt the need to post a problem today only.... pls help!

a pentium d 820 with intel d101 board system was infected with a virus (i ascertained this much as after logging in as administrator i was not able (permitted!) to run a regedit..!! as soon as i typed regedit, the system wud restart stating that i did not have privileges to run this program). so i just advised a format to the pc owner and he agreed ( i should have checked it first with an updated anti virus and cleaned it of any infections).

but now after formatting the hard drive and reinstalling winxppro, it goes upto the windows desktop only for the first time - and then when i restart, it gives a bsod stating the subject error msg. first it was

STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}

The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc0000034 (0x00000000 0x0000000)

The system has been shutdown.

and after a couple of restarts it changed to

STOP: D0000144 UNKNOWN HARD ERROR

i again deleted the c: drive, re=partitioned it with winxp inbuilt disk manager,formated it and then installed xp, but with same results.

i am trying a "zero fill" operation right now, but am not sure whether it will help. its an seagate 80g sata hard drive. tried low level format before, but it failed - so doing a zero fill right now. the tool is ontrack disk manager v9.57

please help me overcome this problem guys!

thanks in advance!

Nitesh

Not scanning for a virus was a mistake on my side - i just went ahead with formatting the system. Yes, I looked up the stop:21a error and it says

==============================================