Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

HOWTO: Windows Vista x86 and x64 in the same DVD

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#1
chon_

chon_

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 04-September 03
Well, seeing how little information is around in the net about this topic and seeing there's some interest in this topic I decided to write this little guide to accomplish this task. Hope it helps. ;)

chon's guide to Windows Vista x86 and x64 Versions in one DVD



NOTE: I'll be using my x64 and x86 MSDN DVDs, you can use the ones you have (retail, etc.), the procedure is the same.

1. Please download and install the Windows Automated Installation Kit (AIK) from here
2. Please create a working folder with a structure similar to this. Obviously you can change folder names according to your needs ;) In this case, i'll be using the following folder: D:\VistaAIO. My folder structure is as follows:
Posted Image

3. Now, copy all the contents of your x86 DVD to the distribuition folder, in this case D:\VistaAIO\Distribucion
4. Move the file named “install.wimâ€￾ from D:\VistaAIO\Distribucion\Sources to D:\VistaAIO\x86
5. Copy the file named “install.wimâ€￾ from the Sources folder of your x64 DVD to the folder D:\VistaAIO\x64
6. Delete al .clg files from your distribution folder (D:\VistaAIO\Distribucion)
7. Now, with admin rights, open the Windows PE Tools Command prompt (click in Start/All programs/Microsoft Windows AIK)
8. We change directory to our working folder:

CD D:\VistaAIO\Distribucion\Sources
9. OK, here's the tricky part. We are now about to export the images of each windows version to a single .WIM image file. The command to do this is IMAGEX.EXE. The syntax is as follows:

imagex /export SourceImageToExport.wim SourceNumber DestinationImageFile.wim "Name of the Operating System"
For example:
imagex /export D:\VistaAIO\x86\install.wim 1 .\install.wim "Windows Vista Business x86"
imagex /export D:\VistaAIO\x64\install.wim 1 .\install.wim "Windows Vista Business x64"
This is what the first line of code does: export Version 1 of the source image file named Install.wim located in the folder D:\VistaAIO\x86 to the destination image file named Install.wim located in D:\VistaAIO\Distribucion. The number 1 corresponds to the Business edition of Windows, take a look at the following table, for the SourceNumber and its corresponding Windows Edition:

Number	Windows Edition
1		   Business
2		   Home Basic
3		   Home Premium
4		   Ultimate
5		   Home Basic N
6		   Business N
7		   Starter
Thus, for example if we wanted to add the 64bit Ultimate version of Windows Vista to our newly created image we type the following command:

imagex /export D:\VistaAIO\x64\install.wim 4 .\install.wim "Windows Vista Ultimate x64"
Please note that we only changed the number 1 for the number 4 (wich corresponds to the Ultimate version) and the name we give to the Windows Edition, for this name you can type whatever you coinsider a descriptive name of the windows version, everything else in the syntax remains the same. You can add as many Windows Editions as you want this way.
If you have any doubts regarding the imagex command, you can type the following line in the command prompt at any time:
imagex /export /?
10. Now that we've created our .WIM image file, let's create our ISO image file to make it ready to burn it to a DVD. To do this, still in the Windows PE Tools command prompt window, we type:

oscdimg -n -bD:\VistaAIO\distribucion\boot\etfsboot.com D:\VistaAIO\distribucion D:\VISTA_AIO.iso -m
This will create an ISO file named VISTA_AIO.iso in D:\
11. We're almost done! We can now burn this image with our favorite burning software (Nero, alcohol. Etc).

The final result when installing Vista, should look similar to this:
Posted Image

That's all!!!
Hope you find it useful!

Let me know any comments/doubts ;)

Edited by chon_, 18 April 2007 - 09:18 AM.

Hope it helps.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
batson0974

batson0974

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 43 posts
  • Joined 18-January 06
I noticed the only file you say to export from the x64 dvd is the install.wim file. Is there a reason why you do not extract the x64 files to the AIO DVD, or was this an accident.

#3
chon_

chon_

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 04-September 03
@batson0974
Yes, the procedure is correct.
All the files needed for setup are inside the .WIM files, remember that WIM stands for Windows Imaging Format, this is why you only need this file.
So, if you export from your x86 install.WIM file, you're exporting all the files needed for the x86 setup.
In the other hand, if you export from your install.wim file located in your x64 DVD, you are exporting the x64 needed files.
As for the other files on the DVD, (like boot sector, etc) are common in both DVDs.
Remember: what we're doing here is exporting from two image files(x86 and x64 Install.wim) to only one "big" install.wim file.
Hope it helps.

#4
orbit30

orbit30
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 16-April 07
Thanks chon_

Edited by orbit30, 22 April 2007 - 05:16 PM.


#5
chon_

chon_

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 04-September 03
@orbit30
sorry, my mistake :blushing:
There's an "extra" space in the code line, is now corrected, the correct syntax should be:

oscdimg -n -bD:\VistaAIO\distribucion\boot\etfsboot.com D:\VistaAIO\distribucion D:\VISTA_AIO.iso -m
Sorry for the inconvinience
Hope it helps.

#6
orbit30

orbit30
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 16-April 07
Thanks again orbit.. :thumbup

Edited by orbit30, 24 April 2007 - 01:03 PM.


#7
prtec

prtec
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 16-April 07
can this support multi-language Vista in one DVD?

like: Vista 32/64 en and cht in 1 dvd

#8
prtec

prtec
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 16-April 07
Windows could not set the offline locale information. Error Code: 0x80000001

when i do multi-language vista in 1 dvd ,it was got the fail

#9
tim427

tim427
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 25-May 07

can this support multi-language Vista in one DVD?

like: Vista 32/64 en and cht in 1 dvd


I have made my custom install dvd :P .... I'm a dutch man, working in a computer shop... we build the computer self to sell... but some times a custommer wants a english version of vista and the most of the times a dutch version... and the 32 bit and then 64 bit...

7 editions x 2 BIT architecturs.. x2 languages... so i try to make a install dvd with 28 !!! versions !!! on DVD-9 or a install share at the server...




PS. Sorry for my bad english...

Edited by tim427, 26 May 2007 - 12:02 AM.


#10
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
Hello,
I'm currently confused on:
1. What's the number for Enterprise Edition x86 and x64 of Vista
2. What does "N" mean?

Thanks.

~gjs1992

#11
Thauzar

Thauzar

    4th Star Learner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 415 posts
  • Joined 10-August 04
Look here for informations I just googled about the different vista builds.
http://www.microsoft...ns/default.mspx

The N stands for the "light" version of vista which doesnt have WMP and maybe some other stuff. You don't want that, nobody want's it, they were just forced to do it by the EU else they would have [more] fines to pay.
5. Images in signatures shall NOT exceed a total of 300x100 and 80kb. -- Tarun

#12
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
Hello again,
Thanks for your help on the second question, but yet I can't gigure out the "Number" for the "Windows Edition" Enterprise.
Could you please help me? :)

And btw, how can I make them automatically activated when Windows is being Installed?

Thanks.

~gjs1992

#13
steviewonder

steviewonder

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Joined 01-April 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks, i wondered ho Winbeta did it. ;)

#14
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
BUMP!

Please answer my questions. Thanks. :)

~gjs1992

#15
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
For god's sake, would anyone mind answering my questions? :)

~gjs1992

#16
Cycl0pe

Cycl0pe
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 05-April 07

For god's sake, would anyone mind answering my questions? :)

~gjs1992

Enterprise not this in he himself DVD. Is number 1 using install.wim of his dvd.
:hello:

#17
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
Will hAwie's Permanent Activation method work for this?
And for god's sake chon_ or anyone, tell me what's the Windows Edition Number for Windows Vista Enterprise, I know about all the Windows Editions from MS
But what I mean is:

Number........Windows Edition
1..................Business
2..................Home Basic
3..................Home Premium
4..................Ultimate
5..................Home Basic N
6..................Business N
7..................Starter
#..................Enterprise

I want to know what's the number corresponding to the "Enterprise" edition.

~gjs1992

Edited by gjs1992, 05 June 2007 - 02:30 AM.


#18
chon_

chon_

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 04-September 03
@gjs1992
ENTERPRISE version of vista is NOT included in the retail or OEM DVDs, as it's a "special" version sold only via specific channels to enterprise customers.
That's why you won't find this version in a "standard" DVD; hence it has no corresponding numer in the WIM image. In fact, if you want to add this version to your proyect, you'll need two DVDs: one "standard" DVD, and the enterprise DVD, this will leave you with two WIM file to work with ;)
Hope it helps.

#19
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
Thanks for your reply mate. But I've gotten Enterprise Edition already, so how to merge it with the other WIM?
I've seen a torrent online somewhere which has Enterprise along with all other editions in one DVDs... *-)

~Gjs1992

#20
patronu

patronu

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Joined 19-June 05
can you integrate windows longhorn with this method?

#21
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
Windows Longhorn is pretty old!
@Chon_ Originally, Windows Vista installation comes only in English, so how did you get it in another language? :o

~Gjs1992

#22
gjs1992

gjs1992

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 31-May 07
BUMP.
How did Chon_ use a different (Probably French) language in the setup? :o
Originally Microsoft gives the setup in English by default.
Please reply with a decent way of doing it.
Thanks. :)

~Gjs1992

#23
sp00f

sp00f

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Joined 30-November 06
Nice idea , but doesnt work for me.

After : imagex /export F:\VistaAIO\x86\install.wim 4 .\install.wim "Windows Vista Ultimate x86"
The timer starts but at 47% it stops and it says error exporting image #4 cant find the file.

EDIT:

I got it now
imagex /export F:\VistaAIO\x86\install.wim 1 F:\VistaAIO\Distribucion\SOURCES\newfile.wim "Windows Vista Ultimate x86"
imagex /export F:\VistaAIO\x64\install.wim 1 F:\VistaAIO\Distribucion\SOURCES\newfile.wim "Windows Vista Ultimate x64"

And how when i want this unattended?
How does a XML file looks like from a Vista AIO? :unsure:

Edited by sp00f, 03 July 2007 - 07:25 AM.


#24
korndog2003

korndog2003
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 15-July 07
Hey thanks I did this with my Vista and Windows Longhorn Server 2008!!! All 13 editions of 2008!

Number	Windows Edition
1		   Standard
2		   Enterprise
3		   Datacenter
4		   Standard CORE*
5		   Enterprise CORE*
6		   Datacenter CORE*


* CORE Is the server system with no GUI "Graphical User Interface"

Posted Image

Edited by korndog2003, 19 July 2007 - 09:58 PM.


#25
chon_

chon_

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Joined 04-September 03

Windows Longhorn is pretty old!
@Chon_ Originally, Windows Vista installation comes only in English, so how did you get it in another language? :o

~Gjs1992

I got spanish version DVDs, that's why my installations are in spanish, it is not multilanguage ;) (although it can be done the same way, you just need the .WIM files for each language);)
Hope it helps.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN