Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Install Vista from USB "Hard Disk"

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
mehargags

mehargags

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 63 posts
i know most of us have seen, "How to Install Windows Vista from a high speed USB 2.0 Flash Drive"

where u use these commands
1. diskpart
   2. select disk 1
   3. clean
   4. create partition primary
   5. select partition 1
   6. active
   7. format fs=[i][b]fat32[/b][/i]
   8. assign
   9. exit
  10. xcopy d:\*.* /s/e/f e:\ (Copy Windows Vista's DVD ROM content to the Flash Drive E:)

being a sys admin I always carry my USB hard drive (Transcend Storejet 160gb). Its partitioned as single NTFS & not FAT32 as mentioned in the above code. I can't boot from the USB hard drive even though the bios supports it. I tried FixMBR on the USB hdd but it still din't work. All I get is "NTLdr missing".

Is there no way i can use my 2.5" USB hard drive to boot & install Vista from it, just like i'd do from a FlashDrive ??

any pointers pls, im desperate at achieving this.
Thx


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
All the documentation that I've read says that it has to be formatted in FAT32 as a single partition spanning the entire drive, although I'm not sure why.

#3
Mike69

Mike69

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts
i have the same problem...ive tried with fat32 and i still cant boot

#4
mmarable

mmarable

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 377 posts
I use a 40GB USB drive with a 10GB FAT32 partiton and a 30GB NTFS partiton.

I just copied the Vista DVD as is directly to the FAT32 partition and it boots and runs the Vista install. If you are looking for something simple like that, it works.

Edited by mmarable, 28 March 2007 - 07:24 AM.

"There are three classes of men; lovers of wisdom, lovers of honor, and lovers of gain." - Plato
"Winning is not everything, but wanting to win is." - Vince Lombardi - "If you wait, all that happens is that you get older." - Mario Andretti
"Do it no matter what. If you believe in it, it is something very honorable. If somebody around you or your family does not understand it, then that's their problem. But if you do have a passion, an honest passion, just do it." - Mario Andretti

#5
Mike69

Mike69

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts

I use a 40GB USB drive with a 10GB FAT32 partiton and a 30GB NTFS partiton.

I just copied the Vista DVD as is directly to the FAT32 partition and it boots and runs the Vista install. If you are looking for something simple like that, it works.



how did you manage to do that???

wont it needs a boot loader to start the setup?

#6
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
I've just tried this out on my 60GB usb hard drive and confirmed that it works. Here are the steps I used.

Run diskpart (v6.0.6000):
select disk 1
clean
create partition primary size=10240
create partition primary
select volume 2								  //10GB USB partition
format fs=fat32 label="VISTA_BOOT" quick
active
assign
select volume 3								  //46GB USB partition
format fs=ntfs label="USB_DISK" quick
assign
exit

Copy Vista contents to USB drive:
xcopy d:\*.* /s /e /f e:\

Just make sure that you mark the VISTA_BOOT partition as active and you should be good to go.

*EDIT: I just tried it with NTFS format and it works also.

Edited by zorphnog, 29 March 2007 - 08:55 AM.


#7
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,225 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Some related info:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=1123&hl=

jaclaz

#8
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm getting a

Remove disks or other media.
Press any key to restart.

error when I do this.

My Vista is vLited. My HDD is in a external HDD enclosure and is 2GB and formatted to FAT32.

Wonder if vLite had anything to do with it.

Thinking that vLite may have modified my boot files, I tried replacing my vLited install.wim in the original ISO image of Vista (using UltraISO) and still got the same error.

I have to vLite because my external HDD is 2 Gb. I can't fit the darn whole Vista on it.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Edited by spacesurfer, 17 May 2007 - 07:15 PM.

_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#9
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
Tried this yesterday without success :(

copied my files from my working ISO to the usb stick

Got it to boot once, but after the first pictures vista tells me some driver is missing :(

Tried different settings in bios and after a while I cant get it to boot from the usb at all, invalid partition, insert bootable media and so on..

Made all steps again several times...no success

Is there a problem that I have a 8gb stick ?

Any suggestions ?? I really want this to work...

Edited by kentk, 24 October 2007 - 02:17 AM.


#10
Static_Nexus

Static_Nexus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts

I'm getting a

Remove disks or other media.
Press any key to restart.

error when I do this.

My Vista is vLited. My HDD is in a external HDD enclosure and is 2GB and formatted to FAT32.

Wonder if vLite had anything to do with it.

Thinking that vLite may have modified my boot files, I tried replacing my vLited install.wim in the original ISO image of Vista (using UltraISO) and still got the same error.

I have to vLite because my external HDD is 2 Gb. I can't fit the darn whole Vista on it.

Any thoughts appreciated.


i have this same problem using a 250gb sata 2.5" in a usb enclosure. did you ever find a solution?!

#11
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
nope. i abandoned vista. good old xp!
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#12
$h@d0w

$h@d0w
  • Member
  • 1 posts

I've just tried this out on my 60GB usb hard drive and confirmed that it works. Here are the steps I used.

Run diskpart (v6.0.6000):

select disk 1
clean
create partition primary size=10240
create partition primary
select volume 2								  //10GB USB partition
format fs=fat32 label="VISTA_BOOT" quick
active
assign
select volume 3								  //46GB USB partition
format fs=ntfs label="USB_DISK" quick
assign
exit

Copy Vista contents to USB drive:
xcopy d:\*.* /s /e /f e:\

Just make sure that you mark the VISTA_BOOT partition as active and you should be good to go.

*EDIT: I just tried it with NTFS format and it works also.


Used this process with my 500GB Porsche Lacie drive and it worked great. I am installing to an Asus eee 1000H

Edited by $h@d0w, 05 September 2008 - 09:27 AM.


#13
Static_Nexus

Static_Nexus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 29 posts
let me know how it performs! i was thinking about doing that myself but unsure of vista on a 1.6ghz atom with 1gb ram....

#14
jrxnelson

jrxnelson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
Don't forget to rename 'bootmgr' to 'ntldr'.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN