Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Vista unattended Guide

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
288 replies to this topic

#51
extrasoft

extrasoft
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
Hi,

I have the same problem as Shampoo ( can't install windows on the selected location , Error 0x80300001), I've tried another harddrive, another computer, tried all the suggestions in this post , rebuild the autounattend.xml a few times, but the problem remains!
Here's m XML file:

 
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
<settings pass="windowsPE">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<SetupUILanguage>
<UILanguage>nl-NL</UILanguage>
</SetupUILanguage>
<InputLocale>0413:00000413</InputLocale>
<SystemLocale>nl-NL</SystemLocale>
<UILanguage>nl-NL</UILanguage>
<UserLocale>nl-NL</UserLocale>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<Display>
<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
<HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
<VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
</Display>
<UserData>
<ProductKey>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
<Key>XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX</Key>
</ProductKey>
<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
<FullName>Extrasoft</FullName>
<Organization>Extrasoft cvba</Organization>
</UserData>
<ImageInstall>
<OSImage>
<InstallFrom>
<MetaData wcm:action="add">
<Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
<Value>Windows Vista HOMEPREMIUM</Value>
</MetaData>
<Path>install.wim</Path>
</InstallFrom>
<InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
</OSImage>
</ImageInstall>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="specialize">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-Licensing-SLC-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
</component>
</settings>
<settings pass="oobeSystem">
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<InputLocale>0413:00000413</InputLocale>
<SystemLocale>nl-NL</SystemLocale>
<UILanguage>nl-NL</UILanguage>
<UserLocale>nl-NL</UserLocale>
</component>
<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.micro...fig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/20...hema-instance">
<Display>
<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
<HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
<VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
</Display>
<AutoLogon>
<Enabled>true</Enabled>
<LogonCount>2</LogonCount>
<Username>Administrator</Username>
</AutoLogon>
<OOBE>
<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
<NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
<ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
<SkipMachineOOBE>true</SkipMachineOOBE>
<SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
</OOBE>
<TimeZone>Romance Standard Time</TimeZone>
</component>
</settings>
<cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:d:/vistawork/dvd/sources/install.wim#Windows Vista HOMEPREMIUM" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
</unattend>


Thanks.

BTW, I've tried the "Windows Vista Deployment Step by Step guide" from Microsoft and that worked like it should.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05
Hello extrasoft!

Please try to remove the following section from your Autounattend.xml:

<Path>install.wim</Path>

Regards,
Martin

#53
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

If i use administrator as accountname, it gives an error saying the name is allready taken. When i pick user named "test" and log in, there is no other account than test , and test is the administrator account (what happened to "administrator"?

You cannot use Administrator for a User name, its a hidden account that can be enabled using <AutoLogon> as FireGeier suggested or here http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=84696. The other Admins are just that but not as powerfull as the Hidden Admin account
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#54
extrasoft

extrasoft
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 28-April 06
@ FireGeier,

removing the path section from the xml file works!

(I had tried to leave the value "path" blank from within WSIM, but that didn't work)

 
<ImageInstall>
<OSImage>
<InstallFrom>
<MetaData wcm:action="add">
<Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
<Value>Windows Vista HomePremium</Value>
</MetaData>
<Path></Path>
</InstallFrom>
<InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>
<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>



Strange, but it works perfectly like u suggested, thanks alot!

Edited by extrasoft, 17 April 2007 - 10:11 AM.


#55
urie

urie

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts
  • Joined 30-July 03

@ FireGeier,

removing the path section from the xml file works!

(I had tried to leave the value "path" blank from within WSIM, but that didn't work)



Strange, but it works perfectly like u suggested, thanks alot!



remove
<Path></Path>
from .xml file vista doesn't like empty entries that may help

#56
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05

@ FireGeier,

removing the path section from the xml file works!
...

Strange, but it works perfectly like u suggested, thanks alot!


Hello extrasoft!

Thanks for the feedback. Like urie said, Setup does not like empty tags inside xml. But what's realy strange is, that for some it's working with the path entry and for others it is not. :blink:

I think I will change the guide than, and remove the path section or add a note.

Thanks,
Martin

#57
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05
GUIDE UPDATE:

Now available:

HowTo: Partitioning

and

Partitioning XML snippets


Regards,
Martin

#58
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,768 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@Martin

You are very good indeed in explaining this in your tutorials, much easier to understand than MS. I have infact carried out many of what you have explained previously, mostly muddled through it trial & error. You have taken that out of it for most now.

Excellent work.

#59
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
FireGeier
Kudos man it looks really awesome with the pics you got. Should be easy enough to understand for anyone.
Can anyone say Sticky, this covers it all nearly.
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#60
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05
Thanks a lot folks! :blushing:

Good to hear, that my free time seems not to be wasted than! :thumbup

Thanks again!

Regards,
Martin

#61
vim

vim

    Junior

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 23-May 06
Great job!

I started reading yesterday and today I got to partitioning and didn't realize you had already updated it to English.
Very easy to follow. A great help regarding imageX. I never found a more simple approach. Makes a seemingly complex issue childs play.

Why this hasn't been done earlier, amazes me.

Most tutorials are either very complex (more so than needs to be), or of the kindergarten variety

Kudos to you for the great effort !!!

#62
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04
Nice guide and I have a question regarding the Microsoft updates part. If I follow instructions that you provided in Part 1 then I don't need to follow Part 2 right? Part 2 covers the batch install?

Also regarding driver install. When you mean you want the .inf files, it's similar to Windows XP's unattended method where only the .inf files are used?

Is it normal for Vista to ask for network settings after it hit the desktop even though I set it in the answer file to "Home Network" settings?

Why did you set logon count to "2" and not more? What does the numerical value mean?

I set the "protect your PC" value to "3" and yet auto updates is still enabled. Why is this the case?

Edited by Sgt_Strider, 22 April 2007 - 04:47 AM.


#63
coucou

coucou

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
Many TNX FireGeier,

It's a real GREAT job :thumbup .

As i prefer to get this guide at hand, i set it up (107 pages), convert it to a .pdf file then i could print it.
I allso automatic google-translated the "partition" part from gremain to english.

If FireGeier give me the go-ahead, i'll share my "FireGeier_UAVista_Guide.pdf" here.

Regards
coucou

#64
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05
Hello Sgt_Strider,

Nice guide and I have a question regarding the Microsoft updates part. If I follow instructions that you provided in Part 1 then I don't need to follow Part 2 right? Part 2 covers the batch install?


That's right! The batch is an alternate only. Part I and II doing the same thing at least.

Also regarding driver install. When you mean you want the .inf files, it's similar to Windows XP's unattended method where only the .inf files are used?


That means, you can't use exe. or .msi installations. You can extract .msi or .exe driver packs certainly. So you will have folders with infs. You could install these infs than using the method. But keep in minde that some of these packages install applications - like most video adapters do. These applications will not be installed using the described method. It could cause trouble if you install the infs first, using the described method and install the apps of the drivers later. But you have to trial and error for that.

Is it normal for Vista to ask for network settings after it hit the desktop even though I set it in the answer file to "Home Network" settings?


Yes, that is a know problem and alreday described in Guide. Look here.

Why did you set logon count to "2" and not more? What does the numerical value mean?


This value describes how often Administrator will be loged on automatically. "2" is the lowes value that works for me. So it should log on Administrator 2 times only. But if you don't have created an other account so far it will still log on the Administrator automatically. Don't know if I should call that a bug.

I set the "protect your PC" value to "3" and yet auto updates is still enabled. Why is this the case?


If I remember right that happens if you use SkipMachineOOBE on true. Try to remove SkipMachineOOBE from your answer file and than follow the steps described here on MSTechNet.


Ask again, if this was not detailed enough!

Regards,
Martin

Edited by FireGeier, 22 April 2007 - 06:36 AM.


#65
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05

...
If FireGeier give me the go-ahead, i'll share my "FireGeier_UAVista_Guide.pdf" here.

Regards
coucou


Hello coucou!

I appreciate your help in building a pdf. But please do not publish it for the moment, cause I still remove some mistakes from the guide and change the layout a little bit. This weekend I brought out the English partitioning guide, which is more actual and a little bit better again than the German version.

Give me one more week please. Than you may could redo the pdf with actual version. Is that ok?

I want to avoid, that different versions of the guide are in the wild. That could cause confusions and a lot of requests.

Hope you will understand!

Thanks again for your effort!

Regards,
Martin

#66
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04

Hello Sgt_Strider,

Nice guide and I have a question regarding the Microsoft updates part. If I follow instructions that you provided in Part 1 then I don't need to follow Part 2 right? Part 2 covers the batch install?


That's right! The batch is an alternate only. Part I and II doing the same thing at least.

Also regarding driver install. When you mean you want the .inf files, it's similar to Windows XP's unattended method where only the .inf files are used?


That means, you can't use exe. or .msi installations. You can extract .msi or .exe driver packs certainly. So you will have folders with infs. You could install these infs than using the method. But keep in minde that some of these packages install applications - like most video adapters do. These applications will not be installed using the described method. It could cause trouble if you install the infs first, using the described method and install the apps of the drivers later. But you have to trial and error for that.

Is it normal for Vista to ask for network settings after it hit the desktop even though I set it in the answer file to "Home Network" settings?


Yes, that is a know problem and alreday described in Guide. Look here.

Why did you set logon count to "2" and not more? What does the numerical value mean?


This value describes how often Administrator will be loged on automatically. "2" is the lowes value that works for me. So it should log on Administrator 2 times only. But if you don't have created an other account so far it will still log on the Administrator automatically. Don't know if I should call that a bug.

I set the "protect your PC" value to "3" and yet auto updates is still enabled. Why is this the case?


If I remember right that happens if you use SkipMachineOOBE on true. Try to remove SkipMachineOOBE from your answer file and than follow the steps described here on MSTechNet.


Ask again, if this was not detailed enough!

Regards,
Martin


Hi FireGeier,

So what is the best way to integrate the drivers so that I can install the graphic application as well? Are you saying that if I go with the .infi method, the Nvidia Control panel won't be installed? Also for your guide, I notice that you forgot to include a pic regarding the language input option. You only included the picture for Windows PE, but not for the actual Vista installation. I figured it out and everything worked. Now I'll try the MS Updates and registry tweaks. Btw, do you have a complete list of registry tweaks that works with Vista?

#67
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05
Hello Sgt_Strider!

Are you saying that if I go with the .infi method, the Nvidia Control panel won't be installed?


Yes, this is what I want to say. You could try to install the control panel separatly in auditUser pass, like the other apps! If this does not work, than you would have to install the whole dirver package during auditUser pass. But than you will may prompted for driver signing. Found no way so far to disable driver signing control. :no:

I have to mention, that the whole driver installation is more complicated, than it was in XP. That is the worst part of Vista unattended setup. :angry:

Btw, do you have a complete list of registry tweaks that works with Vista?

It's not my list and it's still under progress, but I think this is what you're looking for. There was a further list here on forum, if I remember right.

Also for your guide, I notice that you forgot to include a pic regarding the language input option. You only included the picture for Windows PE, but not for the actual Vista installation.


Are you talking about the language you're prompted for in Windows Welcome screens? If yes, I've explained that later in the guide. If no, than please let me no which setting you're talking about exactly, cause you may have to set it for localized languages than. I would add it to the guide, once I know what you're talking about exactly.

Thanks for the feedback!

Regards,
Martin

#68
Sgt_Strider

Sgt_Strider

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 529 posts
  • Joined 18-January 04

Hello Sgt_Strider!

Are you saying that if I go with the .infi method, the Nvidia Control panel won't be installed?


Yes, this is what I want to say. You could try to install the control panel separatly in auditUser pass, like the other apps! If this does not work, than you would have to install the whole dirver package during auditUser pass. But than you will may prompted for driver signing. Found no way so far to disable driver signing control. :no:

I have to mention, that the whole driver installation is more complicated, than it was in XP. That is the worst part of Vista unattended setup. :angry:

Btw, do you have a complete list of registry tweaks that works with Vista?

It's not my list and it's still under progress, but I think this is what you're looking for. There was a further list here on forum, if I remember right.

Also for your guide, I notice that you forgot to include a pic regarding the language input option. You only included the picture for Windows PE, but not for the actual Vista installation.


Are you talking about the language you're prompted for in Windows Welcome screens? If yes, I've explained that later in the guide. If no, than please let me no which setting you're talking about exactly, cause you may have to set it for localized languages than. I would add it to the guide, once I know what you're talking about exactly.

Thanks for the feedback!

Regards,
Martin


I'm talking about the oobeSystem \ Windows-International-Core. I don't think you remember list it as a requirement to add. Maybe I'm wrong.

I'm having some trouble with the MS Updates slipstreaming. Is it just me or that install.wim doesn't exist?

#69
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05
Hello again!

I'm talking about the oobeSystem \ Windows-International-Core. I don't think you remember list it as a requirement to add. Maybe I'm wrong.


Well, you're partly right. Haven't mentioned that in Basic Answer File section, cause I'm using SkipMachineOOBE tag there, so you will not be prompted for the language. This was working fine for US English and German. Cause both are the main languages and they are not localized - like Canadian English for example.

I've listed this setting later in the guide (Copy profile section).

But you're right! If you use a localized language Version. Than you need to add that, to get it setted for the final desktop. I will add that to the guide!

Thanks, for pointing me to it! :thumbup


EDIT:
Strange! :blink: I start loosing the overview of my own guide! :whistle: Here it's listed already!

I'm having some trouble with the MS Updates slipstreaming. Is it just me or that install.wim doesn't exist?


Do you do it manually or using the batch. If you're using the batch, you need to let run preplab.cmd of VU Batch Modules to prepare your system first OR you need to adapt the pathes inside offline_update.cmd.

If you do it manually have you copied the Vista DVD to your hd?

If you still should have problems, please describe a little more detailed, what kind of error messages you're getting and where your Vista DVD is located on hd or if you've done everything using VU Batch Modules.

Thanks and Regards!

Martin

Edited by FireGeier, 23 April 2007 - 02:23 AM.


#70
coucou

coucou

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04

...
If FireGeier give me the go-ahead, i'll share my "FireGeier_UAVista_Guide.pdf" here.

Regards
coucou


Hello coucou!

I appreciate your help in building a pdf. But please do not publish it for the moment, cause I still remove some mistakes from the guide and change the layout a little bit. This weekend I brought out the English partitioning guide, which is more actual and a little bit better again than the German version.

Give me one more week please. Than you may could redo the pdf with actual version. Is that ok?

I want to avoid, that different versions of the guide are in the wild. That could cause confusions and a lot of requests.

Hope you will understand!

Thanks again for your effort!

Regards,
Martin

No problem FireGeier.
Just let me know when you're ready.

Again good job :thumbup
coucou

#71
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05
GUIDE UPDATE:

No new HowTo this time. But I've added a sitempa/toc, added a short explanation how to use the batch modules, unitized the layout and have tried to make it a bit more concise.

Comming soon:
1. HowTo: Adapting boot.wim to start your own tools/scripts/shell before unattended setup (German Version here)

2. "Workarounds" for OEM DVDs


Regards,
Martin

Edited by FireGeier, 24 April 2007 - 07:53 AM.


#72
amit_talkin

amit_talkin

    Experienced

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Joined 05-October 05
Thnx for such a nice guide FireGeier, how much time it took to create this guide for u?
Primary - Q9450@3.6GHz | 8GB G.Skill 1000MHz | Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 F3b mobo. | 1.5TB Storage | Sappgire HD4890 | HomeMade H2O Kit | Antec NeoPower Blue 650w
Secondary - E8400 3.00@ 4.05GHz | 4 GB Crucial Ballistix | ASUS P5B Deluxe mobo. | 250GB Storage | Sapphire Toxic HD4850 512MB | OCZ Vendetta2 CPU Cooler | Coolermaster 500w

#73
jacky44

jacky44
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 02-January 07
Two Question :
First here : http://firegeier.una.../regtweaks.html
You said : "Synchronous Command" / "Pass 6 auditUser" ....
Ok but "auditUser" exist only if you set "sysprep /audit /quiet" on "specialize" pass.
Second : On a French version of VISTA with a admin : "Administrateur" and not "administrator", the Autologon tric not work, did you have an idea ?

<AutoLogon>
<Enabled>true</Enabled>
<LogonCount>2</LogonCount>
<Username>Administrateur</Username>
</AutoLogon>
<Password>
<Value>xxxxxxx</Value>
<PlainText>false</PlainText>
</Password>


He said "Account disabled"

EDIT : I find my Pb on Administrateur account!!

Edited by jacky44, 26 April 2007 - 08:04 AM.


#74
maxXPsoft

maxXPsoft

    MSFN Master

  • Developer
  • 2,889 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
jacky44
You can enable the built-in administrator account during unattended installations by setting Username to Administrator (only the English word automatically enables the account). This enables the built-in administrator account, even if a password is not specified in AdministratorPassword.
Download ++> Windows 7 + 8 Unattended DVD + App Installer + Services Disabler + Load All Button + XML Creator
Jump2Reg - Registry: - Oct 4, 2013 - Version 3.0.4 - 98, ME, NT, 2K, XP, VISTA, Seven, Windows 8+ and 32 or 64 bit

XP Unattended CD/DVD creator - Version 4.1.7
Sample xml + Setupcomplete + Add Right click .wim Windows 7 or Windows 8/8.1

#75
FireGeier

FireGeier

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Joined 24-October 05

Two Question :
First here : http://firegeier.una.../regtweaks.html
You said : "Synchronous Command" / "Pass 6 auditUser" ....
Ok but "auditUser" exist only if you set "sysprep /audit /quiet" on "specialize" pass.
...


Hello jacky!

You're right. It does work only, if you boot to audit mode using sysprep. I've explained that in Applications section. But you're rigth, would be helpfull to make a note for that in Regtweaks section, too.

I will add that later. Thanks! :thumbup

@amit_talkin:
It took about half a year - daily free time work - to write the German and English guide. Estimated 700 hours including writing, layout and testing.

Thanks 'n' regards,
Martin




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users