Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Vista unattended Guide

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
288 replies to this topic

#176
Dobby

Dobby

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Joined 17-May 04
Can you install Vista manually? I'm sure you can but I just wanted to check.

Also, have you checked the Windows\Panther logs setupact.log and setuperr.log and also in the UnattendGC folder (under the panther folder). Sometime (but not often) they give a bit more info about the error. If you press Shift+F10 when you get the error you'll get a command prompt. You could just try navigating to the folder mentioned just to make sure it's visible.

Lastly, try removing all but one of the drivers you are trying to install. If you list the drivers this may help us diagnose the problem. Also what medium do you have the Autounattend.xml and drivers on and what filesystem is it formatted as.

Edited by Dobby, 17 October 2007 - 02:59 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#177
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
The vista installation iso is/was working before this...

I have just altered the needed steps for "install drivers from media or dvd" and then this problem occoured :(

I have tried to burn DVD and ISO on VM same result

I tried to rename folders without 000_xxx and removed all but the .inf files, same error :(

I have added AHCI, Intel inf, Yukon LAN, intel LAN drivers...

setupact.log shows all files, tells that some is not .inf and pass on..in the end there is 0x0640ae IBSLIB publishmessage:It is not possible to install one or more drivers which is necessary for systemstart, check that the drivers are correct and restart installation

no UnattendGC folder !?

EDIT:

Another question, in the guide : imagex /mountrw D:\VistaWork\DVD\sources\boot.wim 2 D:\VistaWork\Mount

to mount boot.wim, but should it not be a "1" for the PE and not a "2" as in the guide ???

Edited by kentk, 18 October 2007 - 02:53 AM.


#178
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
Anyone ??? Dobby ?

Have we lost Martin ? have not seen posts from him for a long while :(

Edited by kentk, 21 October 2007 - 01:43 AM.


#179
Dobby

Dobby

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Joined 17-May 04

Lastly, try removing all but one of the drivers you are trying to install. If you list the drivers this may help us diagnose the problem. Also what medium do you have the Autounattend.xml and drivers on and what filesystem is it formatted as.

Have you tried this?

2 is correct

What's the Intel INF? Do you mean the lan drivers. Start with one set of drivers. And BTW it doesn't matter what other files/folders are in the drivers folder. I find it easiest just to place the whole bundle in there.

Edited by Dobby, 21 October 2007 - 02:43 AM.


#180
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
Maybe I missunderstand what this pass is for !?

I thought I would add up all known drivers for my system so I dont need to install them after vista is installed..

I thought that this pass would make all drivers present for vista...

Intel INF is intel chipset drivers..

#181
Dobby

Dobby

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Joined 17-May 04
You are correct in your assumption. However, Vista is now pretty good at installing the correct drivers for your hardware so I recommend that unless you are seeing unknown devices in Device Manager that you let Vista install the default drivers. Of course if you using vLite to remove the default drivers you may have problems with drivers that rely on the default Vista components. These days the only drivers I tend to put into the special drivers folders are for hardware that is not recognised. Video drivers and sometimes chipset tend to be the only exception but certainly nVidia's ones need to be installed with the installer.

Make sure also that the drivers you have there are signed. Non-signed or XP drivers don't tend to work very well.

Can you post you Autounattend.xml and the exact folder structure of the drive (screenshot would do)

#182
razormoon

razormoon

    Little boots...!

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts
  • Joined 17-February 06
@Kentk

After you install Vista, did the intel inf ever give you the red unsigned driver box?
I have found that drivers that do this NEVER get installed during UA.
I learned the hard way with a beta nvidia driver. No fun.

Edited by razormoon, 21 October 2007 - 11:20 AM.

Zero in 2012

#183
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
Razormoon: I think I dont come by the first PE pass when I add the drivers :( the install.exe doesnt seem to be started !?

When I boot the ISO, in the first PE pass I get a cmd window which say driversroot = d:

Shortly after I get a error window:

It is not possible to install one or more drivers which is necessary for systemstart, check that the drivers are correct and restart installation, Press OK...

Pressed Shift-F10 and looked in the log files, but I did not see any particularly :(


Dobby, I will post this tonight when I am home from work..


Ps. I have made a copy of the ISO BEFORE I altered the settings as of the Firegeier guide to install drivers from media or usb stick and that ISO is working so there is something wrong with this step.. Ds.

Edited by kentk, 21 October 2007 - 11:58 PM.


#184
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
Dobby, here is my autounattend.xml...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
	<settings pass="windowsPE">
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<SetupUILanguage>
				<UILanguage>sv-SE</UILanguage>
			</SetupUILanguage>
			<SystemLocale>sv-SE</SystemLocale>
			<UILanguage>sv-SE</UILanguage>
			<UserLocale>sv-SE</UserLocale>
			<InputLocale>041d:0000041d</InputLocale>
		</component>
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<UserData>
				<ProductKey>
					<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
					<Key>xxxx-xxxx--xxxxxxx-xxx-xxxxx</Key>
				</ProductKey>
				<FullName>Datorn</FullName>
				<AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
			</UserData>
			<Display>
				<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
				<HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
				<VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
			</Display>
			<ImageInstall>
				<OSImage>
					<InstallFrom>
						<MetaData wcm:action="add">
							<Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
							<Value>Windows Vista ULTIMATE</Value>
						</MetaData>
					</InstallFrom>
					<InstallToAvailablePartition>false</InstallToAvailablePartition>
					<WillShowUI>OnError</WillShowUI>
				</OSImage>
			</ImageInstall>
		</component>
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpCustomizationsWinPE" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<DriverPaths>
				<PathAndCredentials wcm:keyValue="427209fc" wcm:action="add">
					<Path>%DriversRoot%\Drivers</Path>
				</PathAndCredentials>
			</DriverPaths>
		</component>
	</settings>
	<settings pass="specialize">
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Security-Licensing-SLC-UX" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<SkipAutoActivation>true</SkipAutoActivation>
		</component>
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<RunSynchronous>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>1</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c &quot;FOR %i IN (C D E F G H I J K L N M O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST %i:\AppsRoot.txt SETX AppsRoot %i: -m&quot;</Path>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>2</Order>
					<Path>%WINDIR%\system32\sysprep\sysprep.exe /quiet /audit</Path>
					<Description>Boot to audit Mode</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
			</RunSynchronous>
		</component>
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<Display>
				<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
				<HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
				<VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
				<DPI>96</DPI>
			</Display>
			<ComputerName>Datorn</ComputerName>
			<CopyProfile>true</CopyProfile>
			<TimeZone>W. Europe Standard Time</TimeZone>
		</component>
	</settings>
	<settings pass="oobeSystem">
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<AutoLogon>
				<Enabled>true</Enabled>
				<LogonCount>2</LogonCount>
				<Username>Administrator</Username>
			</AutoLogon>
			<Display>
				<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
				<DPI>96</DPI>
				<HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
				<VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
			</Display>
			<OOBE>
				<HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
				<NetworkLocation>Home</NetworkLocation>
				<ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
				<SkipMachineOOBE>false</SkipMachineOOBE>
				<SkipUserOOBE>true</SkipUserOOBE>
			</OOBE>
			<TimeZone>W. Europe Standard Time </TimeZone>
			<UserAccounts>
				<LocalAccounts>
					<LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
						<Description>Admin</Description>
						<DisplayName>Admin</DisplayName>
						<Group>Administrators</Group>
						<Name>Admin</Name>
					</LocalAccount>
					<LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
						<Description>Datorn</Description>
						<DisplayName>Datorn</DisplayName>
						<Group>Administrators</Group>
						<Name>Datorn</Name>
					</LocalAccount>
					<LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
						<Group>Administrators</Group>
						<Description>HTPC</Description>
						<DisplayName>HTPC</DisplayName>
						<Name>HTPC</Name>
					</LocalAccount>
				</LocalAccounts>
			</UserAccounts>
		</component>
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<InputLocale>041d:0000041d</InputLocale>
			<SystemLocale>sv-SE</SystemLocale>
			<UILanguage>sv-SE</UILanguage>
			<UserLocale>sv-SE</UserLocale>
		</component>
	</settings>
	<settings pass="auditSystem">
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<AutoLogon>
				<Enabled>true</Enabled>
				<LogonCount>5</LogonCount>
				<Username>Administrator</Username>
			</AutoLogon>
			<Display>
				<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
				<HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
				<VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
				<DPI>96</DPI>
			</Display>
		</component>
	</settings>
	<settings pass="auditUser">
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<RunSynchronous>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>15</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\AdobeReader\AdobeReader81.exe</Path>
					<Description>Adobe reader 8.1</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>20</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Anydvd\SetupAnyDVD6184.exe /S</Path>
					<Description>AnyDVD</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>30</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Clonedvd2\CloneDVD2Silent.exe SetupCloneDVD2.exe</Path>
					<Description>CloneDVD2</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>40</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\PowerDVD7\setup.exe</Path>
					<Description>PowerDVD</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>50</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\winrar\wrar371sw.exe /s</Path>
					<Description>Winrar</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>51</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\winrar\Register.exe</Path>
					<Description>Register Winrar</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>60</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Winzip\Winzip11_1_7466.exe</Path>
					<Description>Winzip</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>61</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c REGEDIT /S %AppsRoot%\Install\Winzip\Register.reg</Path>
					<Description>Register Winzip</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>90</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Hotfix\KB890830.exe /Q</Path>
					<Description>KB890830</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>91</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Hotfix\msxml4-KB936181-enu.exe /Q</Path>
					<Description>KB936181</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>92</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Hotfix\msxml4-KB941833-enu.exe /Q</Path>
					<Description>KB941833</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>99</Order>
					<Path>%WINDIR%\system32\sysprep\sysprep.exe /generalize /quiet /oobe /reboot</Path>
					<Description>Restart</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>10</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c REGEDIT /S %AppsRoot%\Install\Regtweaks.reg</Path>
					<Description>Regtweaks</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>70</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Nero7\Nero7_10_1_0.exe</Path>
					<Description>Nero 7</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
				<RunSynchronousCommand wcm:action="add">
					<Order>80</Order>
					<Path>cmd /c %AppsRoot%\Install\Office2007\Office2007.exe</Path>
					<Description>Office 2007</Description>
				</RunSynchronousCommand>
			</RunSynchronous>
		</component>
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<Display>
				<ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
				<HorizontalResolution>1024</HorizontalResolution>
				<VerticalResolution>768</VerticalResolution>
				<DPI>96</DPI>
			</Display>
		</component>
	</settings>
	<settings pass="generalize">
		<component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpSysprep" processorArchitecture="x86" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
			<PersistAllDeviceInstalls>true</PersistAllDeviceInstalls>
		</component>
	</settings>
	<cpi:offlineImage cpi:source="wim:d:/vistawork/dvd/sources/install.wim#Windows Vista ULTIMATE" xmlns:cpi="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:cpi" />
</unattend>

Directory structure
Posted Image
Posted Image

Edited by kentk, 22 October 2007 - 12:48 PM.


#185
Dobby

Dobby

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Joined 17-May 04
I can only assume there is a problem with one of the drivers. Since I have successfully integrated the ACPI drivers I recommend you remove all others and test the installation again. Then add them back in one by one until you find the one causing the problem.

#186
kentk

kentk

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Joined 08-July 05
So you dont see any problems with my xml and dir structure ?

#187
Dobby

Dobby

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Joined 17-May 04
looks fine

#188
davidzhzo

davidzhzo
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 04-November 07
great job.
well, a bit long, but all-around
thanks

#189
SKiNNiEH

SKiNNiEH

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 14-April 05
So eeehh... your site is inaccessible for a few days at least now. When will it go back online?

#190
morgancroft

morgancroft
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 12-October 06
Does anything in this guide change now that SP1 has been released for Vista... I know that there is the new version of WAIK. I have downloaded the Vista DVD with SP1 integrated from Microsoft, so is it just the same process for recreating the unattended install? Thanks in advance.

Edited by morgancroft, 21 February 2008 - 12:18 AM.


#191
music5_5

music5_5

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 17-December 07
Hi All,

Can you please take a look at my autounattended.xml and let me that why it would not ask me to enter a computername? I have tried to write an empty string for computername (also tried leaving it empty but then it would not save anything in xml file) and which looks like this:

<ComputerName />

everything else works fine but it will skip the computername part. Can anyone give me an idea about what to do?

Thanks,

I forgot to mention that i have been following FireGeier's wonderfull guide for my unattended vista install.

Attached Files


Edited by music5_5, 21 February 2008 - 09:42 AM.


#192
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,780 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Does anything in this guide change now that SP1 has been released for Vista... I know that there is the new version of WAIK. I have downloaded the Vista DVD with SP1 integrated from Microsoft, so is it just the same process for recreating the unattended install? Thanks in advance.


All working as posted for me.

#193
Dechy

Dechy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 41 posts
  • Joined 25-February 08
Hi,

I'm having a weird problem, started using the VU Batch tools to integrate updates in my Enterprise image. Worked fine the first time. Now it simply won't, and it's probably because of something that wasn't documented in the guide for integrating them or something I'm doing wrong the second time around.

Nothing changed on my PC except for the download of 20 some-odd new updates. Here at the steps I used when it worked:

1) Copied all MSU to Vistawork\Updates
2) Mounted a "virgin" install.wim
3) Ran offline_update with no errors
4) unmounted with commit
5) burned/installed/checked for installed updates and they were all fine.

Now, this is what I'm trying to do.

6) Add ~20 MSUs to Vistawork\Updates (the other older ~20 are also there, so 43 of them now)
7) mount an already updated install.wim
3) run offline_update, but this time getting errors, errorlevel 161

So I'm thinking to myself, I probably can't overwrite updates that were already there, so I remove the 20 some older updates that were already done and only leave the newer ones in Vistawork\Updates... still same error.

At this point I just copy a new virgin install.wim into Vistawork\DVD and re-mount and try to re-update with the whole 43 updates. Now I'm getting errorlevel 1. Unmount with no commit, and only keep the updates that had worked the first time... STILL getting errorlevel 1. What's even weirder are the logs now, my txt logs are totally garbled up, can't read anything from them, but the first time it worked I had very readable txt file and those garbled files are also completely locked even when I shut down 75% of my processes, just can't delete them, keep getting the great "file in use" message box.

How in god's name did I get it working the first time?? Using AIK build 6000, Vista Enterprise VL and doing the lab work using XP.

WTB XP Update integration method...

Thanks.

#194
nftk

nftk
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 04-March 08
:blushing: Is it possible to auto unattended install vista with office on one DVD?
And if i put extra software to install with the dvd than he still aks witch lauguage he must install.

If you want to see the xml file i will post it. I following the guide so far so good but now the little things must be installed.

Tnx
:thumbup

I uploaded my file. I didn't get it to work maybe you guys now something i could try?

I tryed a couple of things about now. But nothing works. Also i don't get the office installation unattended.
Maybe you guys now something i could give a try.
And what are the various commands to install the application unattended.

Many tnx.
:thumbup

Attached Files


Edited by nftk, 01 April 2008 - 02:14 AM.


#195
easy

easy

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
  • Joined 27-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hi firegeier,

i have seen now your vista integration batch tool.
i will try it, thx.

this tool needs some improvements, here a some tips from me ;)

first, this tool must run after extraction the starting batch.

then ...,

SET Count=0

...

:CheckWAIKVerz
IF NOT EXIST "%PMgrDir%\pkgmgr.exe" ECHO The directory "%PMgrDir%" does NOT exist! >> EnvCheck.log
IF NOT EXIST "%PMgrDir%\pkgmgr.exe" SET /a Count+=1
IF EXIST "%PMgrDir%\pkgmgr.exe" ECHO The directory "%PMgrDir%" does exist. >> EnvCheck.log

IF NOT EXIST "%PETools%\oscdimg.exe" ECHO The directory "%PETools%" does NOT exist! >> EnvCheck.log
IF NOT EXIST "%PETools%\oscdimg.exe" SET /a Count+=1
IF EXIST "%PETools%\oscdimg.exe" ECHO The directory "%PETools%" does exist. >> EnvCheck.log

IF NOT EXIST "%ImgX%\imagex.exe" ECHO The directory "%ImgX%" does NOT exist! >> EnvCheck.log
IF NOT EXIST "%ImgX%\imagex.exe" SET /a Count+=1
IF EXIST "%ImgX%\imagex.exe" ECHO The directory "%ImgX%" does exist. >> EnvCheck.log


::IF %Count% is NOT "0" batch will execute FehlerVerzeichnis subroutine.

IF NOT "%Count%"=="0" GOTO FehlerVerzeichnis
ECHO. >> EnvCheck.log
IF "%Count%"=="0" ECHO All necessary directories do exist. >> EnvCheck.log


SET DVDDrive=NULL
FOR %%i IN (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST %%i:\sources\install.wim SET DVDDrive=%%i:\
IF "%DVDDrive%"=="NULL" CALL :NoDVDDrive
SET Copy=true
IF "%DVDDrive%"=="NULL" SET Copy=false

IF "%Copy%"=="true" GOTO DVDKopieren
IF "%Copy%"=="false" GOTO NichtKopieren


you dont need all this stuff, you must only optimize it ;)

if you put %copy%=="true" goto dvdkopieren then you must not put if %copy%=="false".
put only goto nichtkopieren

IF EXIST "%PMgrDir%\pkgmgr.exe" ECHO The directory "%PMgrDir%" does exist. >> EnvCheck.log
if %errorlevel% NEQ 0 (echo The directory "%PMgrDir%" does NOT exist! >> EnvCheck.log) & goto error

IF EXIST "%PETools%\oscdimg.exe" ECHO The directory "%PETools%" does exist. >> EnvCheck.log
if %errorlevel% NEQ 0 (echo The directory "%PETools%" does NOT exist! >> EnvCheck.log) & goto error

...

FOR %%i IN (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO IF EXIST %%i:\sources\install.wim SET DVDDrive=%%i:\

if not exist %dvddrive%sources\install.wim goto nodvd....
goto kopieren


a little code from my batch ;)

:copy
set error=COPY FROM CD FAILED !!!
XCOPY /E %cdrom%\ %destination%
if %errorlevel% NEQ 0 goto abort
set error=EXTRACT SP3 FAILED !!!
extract.exe x %downloadfile%
if %errorlevel% NEQ 0 goto abort
set error=INTEGRATION FAILED !!!
I386\update\update.exe /integrate:%destination% /passive
if %errorlevel% NEQ 0 goto abort

....

:abort
echo %error%
pause
exit


you must add more errorlevel's instead of set
what would be if there are reading errors of dvd ? (not detecting of dvd drive)

if you put "errorlevel" after copy line then i'm sure that all the files are copied.

you can run my tool and during copy from cd just eject the xp cd :)

it would automatically break the process


http://www.msfn.org/...on-t117189.html

regards easy

greetz from austria ;)

Edited by easy, 18 May 2008 - 01:48 AM.

Have a nice Patch-Day

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ___
MSI X79A-GD45 Plus | Intel Core i7 4930k | Corsair 12 GB DDR3 | MSI N560GTX TI | Corsair 120GB SSD | 2xSamsung 1000GB HDD


#196
JuMz

JuMz

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 09-August 04
I remember there being a downloadable copy of your guide? Where is this post with the link? I have an old version of the guide from April 2007.

#197
Dark-Fiber61

Dark-Fiber61
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 12-April 08
First off i would like to thank you for the great guide. For now everything is working out well if what i wanted to do with this. But i am having one small problem. I am trying to move the Program Files folder to the D: drive. I was able to move the Users folder over with no problems with the Folder Locations component. I have tried several names for the folder locations like D:\ProgramData, D:\ProgramFiles, and D:\Programs with no luck. For the user's folder i just used what i saw in the xlm help of the AIK D:\Profiles and it worked. Has anybody had any luck with this? thanks a lot.

#198
Raspro

Raspro
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 15-July 05
Don't worry I&I will find ma way....
'cause I allways do...

It meent to be an open source thought.

Greatings from

Jah Rasta Far I

Peace

Edited by Raspro, 06 August 2008 - 05:08 PM.


#199
Sgt. D. Pilla

Sgt. D. Pilla

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 35 posts
  • Joined 15-July 08
I installed WAIK finally, and I get the following error/error code when trying to create the catagory file...

Spoiler


I would use the "workaround described here" on this guide, but there is no "here" it doesn't actually provided where that workaround is ;)
So my answer file doesn't work due to lack of documentation, my thread didn't get answered, waik doesn't work and the workaround doesn't exist, vlite isn't finished so I can't use that, and WPI people can't help me with what I want to do, even though others have done it :blink:

Am I not mean't to UA Vista?! lol

#200
MAVERICKS CHOICE

MAVERICKS CHOICE

    The Guy from Aus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,780 posts
  • Joined 14-November 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
The best way to attack UA is bit by bit, much testing as well. My recommendation is get your answer file down pat first before moving on to apps & cleaning up.
There are plenty of fine ans file xml's on this board that work & can be modified for your use.
Good luck with it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users