Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

NVidia drivers 82.69

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
348 replies to this topic

#151
98er

98er

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08

Hmmm .....
There's another part of equation that you need to look at. Is the motherboard agp chipset driver working ?
Is the gf68gs an upgrade for an older agp card ? Or built on a new system ? Does the gf68gs have enough power ? etc etc etc .....

Yes, it was working well with the previous Ati 9800pro (now expired) and a spare Gf4200ti I keep for emergencies. On the same system with XP the 6800GS works well (I change only the boxed HD).

..... as I change to higher res or colors and reboot I get a blue corrupted screen that soon becomes a BSOD.

I believe this indicates that the motherboard agp driver support is not working (happens on clean installs) ..... The steps required (driver must be last installed) to have a functional agp subsystem :

1. Install agp driver support for win98 (ie. Intel, VIA, SiS, NF2, Ali etc etc)
2. Install DX (6.1 and above, if my mind is not hazy. Some cards requires specific DX)
3. Install driver (you will need to add PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00F6&SUBSYS_040110B0&REV_A2 to your INF if required)

If all the above is correctly installed but you still have non-functional gf6800gs then you may need to inspect other h/w
(card itself, motherboard caps, PSU, etc etc) .....

The full system works under W98 with the Gf4200ti so the agp driver works (it is not a clean install and will never be since I want to keep alive that old disk packed with tons of old games, otherwise if I should reinstall everything I'd restart with XP). I think it works at vga resolution 16 colors like when Windows is in recovery mode.

...you will need to add PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00F6&SUBSYS_040110B0&REV_A2 to your INF if required...

and that's enough?? It seems to easy; I already tried forcing detection but you know the result...
However, I'll try and let you know.
PIV 3.0Ghz (Prescott), Asus P4P800-X (Intel 865PE+ICH5), 1GB DDR400, Gainward Bliss 6800GS 512MB AGP, XP-sp2 AND W98Se


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#152
RetroOS

RetroOS

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Joined 26-June 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

...The full system works under W98 with the Gf4200ti so the agp driver works...

Did you uninstall the nVidia drivers before you swapped the video cards?
You should always remove the current drivers, then shutdown, swap the video card, restart, reinstall nVidia drivers.
Try uninstalling the drivers, restarting, and reinstalling the 82.69 drivers (with your missing PCI ID added to the INF).

Also, the nVidia drivers install a generic Intel AGP GART driver.
You must reinstall your chipset drivers after installing the nVidia drivers.
retrofreak n a person who is very enthusiastic about something from the past.
retrology n the study of association with and revival from the past.
life n a series of near misses.

#153
PassingBy

PassingBy

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 12-June 07
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmmm .....

Yes, it was working well with the previous Ati 9800pro (now expired) and a spare Gf4200ti I keep for emergencies. On the same system with XP the 6800GS works well (I change only the boxed HD).


I've checked my notes and asked someone to double check for me ..... and we had a 6600gt and a 6800xt that requires agp voltage increased to 1.6v to make it work stable ...

...you will need to add PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00F6&SUBSYS_040110B0&REV_A2 to your INF if required...

and that's enough?? It seems to easy; I already tried forcing detection but you know the result...


Yes, put this in the [Mfg] section :
%NVIDIA&DEV_00F6.DeviceDesc% = NV30, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00F6&SUBSYS_040110B0&REV_A2
-or-
%NVIDIA&DEV_00F6.DeviceDesc% = NV30, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_00F6

and this into the [Strings] section :
NVIDIA&DEV_00F6.DeviceDesc="NVIDIA GeForce 6800 GS AGP"

I've looked at 8198 and 8216 driver set and the above needs to be added ... It is already included in 8269 set ...
While you're at it, try reducing ram to 512mb to see it's not win98 memory management issue ...

Rgds

#154
Drugwash

Drugwash

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,354 posts
  • Joined 21-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
To rule out hardware problems, try to boot to a live Linux CD and play with resolutions/graphical applications. If the test comes out clean, then it's purely Win98 <-> driver issue.

But if you already have a dual-boot system (you mentioned it works in XP) and everything's OK in the other OS, then there's no need for a hardware check.

#155
98er

98er

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08
Well, i followed your advices and tried everything.
To summarize:
- It is NOT an HW problem because when I swap to the other HD with XP I can do everithing, included heavy games (UT3, Fear, Jericho,...) and it is stable.
Back to W98, I tried:
- Mgdx's 82.69 installing from setup.exe -> "no NV device found", so I extracted to a Temp dir and made the manual install but except for vga "safe" res I get a black screen at reboot, not even BSOD.
- added strings in the .inf of Zack's (both in nvagp.inf and in (?)nvaml.inf) and in the BFG 82.16, but as usual they don't find any nvidia card -> manual install and "general protection error" at reboot or sometimes an automatic reboot/reset during the black screen.
- every time I have to reboot into safe mode and set it to 16 colors and 640x480 to make it work in normal Windows booting, but when I tried to launch a couple of games (Quake3 and an older one) they didn't start (~"opengl...not installed" with Q3), so I believe it continues to work in a kind of 'safe' plain vga mode.
- every time I change drivers I follow the procedure and I also use DriverCleanerPro to clean up drivers because uninstalling them from the control panel doesn't work.
- during one of the last attempts I manually deleted vgartd.vxd (the Intel generic agp gart(?) driver I suppose) and reinstalled the Intel chipset drivers, with the usual black screen at reboot... luckily it was enough uninstalling again the card in safe mode to come out :o (shiver). I discovered vgartd.vxd is included in every driver pack, so it was useless!?
- I checked in the Bios for disabling "Video Bios cacheable","...shadowing"etc... as found in Mgdx instructions they could cause lockups and GPFs, but my Motherboard has none of those options (!?), maybe because is a cheap Asus P4P800-X (Intel 865+ICH5). The only significant option i found is AGP aperture size that was set to 64MB and I didn'touch.
- before doing anything I reduced ram to 512MB
- I tried so many times maybe I confused the errors, but the result is the same... :(
- I didn't try only the 81.98, but I think there's no difference (and dont know how to unpack)

At this point I think it is not a driver issue but an agp/chipset problem, since none of the setup.exe recognises any nvidia card.
By now I give up before f***ing up this HD, during the weekend I'll try on another system with another Hd to see if it can work and it's an incompatibility issue with my system or with my old W98 installation, not properly clean & fresh :D

Thanks to all by now

Edited by 98er, 27 May 2008 - 05:03 PM.

PIV 3.0Ghz (Prescott), Asus P4P800-X (Intel 865PE+ICH5), 1GB DDR400, Gainward Bliss 6800GS 512MB AGP, XP-sp2 AND W98Se

#156
98er

98er

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 11-May 08
Well, I tried on another system and...it WORKS!
I tried another hd on an older system (Asus P4B-533 with AGP4x max supported), and the 6800GS works perfectly; then I moved that hd to my usual system (in sign) and as usual it got stuck at some point during the boot with only the cursor "_" blinking on the screen (this is new :P )
Then I tried a fresh install and... corrupted screen leading to bsod, as usual!
So the problem is not in the drivers (great!) but somewhere else with my chipset, as I suspected. I think there is an incompatibility between the card and the motherboard.

How can I set agp to 4x if there is no option in bios?

Thanks for the support, now I continue trying on my system, any advice is appreciate, but against bad luck... :rolleyes:
PIV 3.0Ghz (Prescott), Asus P4P800-X (Intel 865PE+ICH5), 1GB DDR400, Gainward Bliss 6800GS 512MB AGP, XP-sp2 AND W98Se

#157
DirkDP

DirkDP
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
Hi MDGx,
I have a Sparkle 7600GS/512MB AGP and I want to dual boot with XP and Win98SE. I'm trying to get hold of your modded drivers at http://www.mdgx.com/files/NV8269.EXE

All I get is a "You are not authorized to view this page".
Do I need to register somewhere?

DDP

#158
xrayer

xrayer

    RayeR

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Joined 15-May 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Nobody tried 82.69 drivers with 8xxx card yet? I googled a lot but no results.

Win98(SE)CZ unofficial support site.
Running MSDOS 6.22, FreeDOS, Win98SE+KEX-4.5.2+nSP+nUSB, NT4.0-SP6, WinXP-SP3, Debian Linux
Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L, Core 2 Duo E8600@3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2, GF7900GT/256M, SSD Samsung 840 Pro, WD1000FBYX SATA, SB Audigy 2


#159
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Nobody tried 82.69 drivers with 8xxx card yet? I googled a lot but no results.

I think someone on the forum did but I can't figure out who it was. Anyway, I might buy one this summer and be sure I'll let everybody know if it works.

@DirkDP : you don't need to register. I think there's a problem on MDGx's site. Maybe a .htaccess problem?

Edited by glocK_94, 06 June 2008 - 01:57 PM.

Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#160
DirkDP

DirkDP
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
Thanks glocK_94.

I managed to get them from somewhere else and they don't seem to work...
Everything installs just fine and when I restart the PC hangs just before the Win98 GUI should appear.
I then restart in safe mode and right away there's an 'not enough memory error, remove some programs from config.sys etc...'
My PC had a Radeon 9800XT 256MB and 1GB, I added another GB and replaced the Radeon with the Sparkle 7600GS 512MB. I had the physical mem restricted to 512MB in system.ini.
I also did a clean install of Win98SE and added the 'maxphyspage' from DOS. When the Win install rebooted the PC hung straight away with the 'not enough memory error'...
I can start Win98 with the ATI drivers still in there, it then detects a PCI-Standard VGA device but when I install the N8269 drivers and reboot it hangs...

Could the 512MB on the Sparkle card have something to do with it?

And BTW, in XP it works with the 2GB memory and drivers from the Sparkle site.

#161
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks glocK_94.
I managed to get them from somewhere else and they don't seem to work...
Everything installs just fine and when I restart the PC hangs just before the Win98 GUI should appear.
I then restart in safe mode and right away there's an 'not enough memory error, remove some programs from config.sys etc...'
My PC had a Radeon 9800XT 256MB and 1GB, I added another GB and replaced the Radeon with the Sparkle 7600GS 512MB. I had the physical mem restricted to 512MB in system.ini.
I also did a clean install of Win98SE and added the 'maxphyspage' from DOS. When the Win install rebooted the PC hung straight away with the 'not enough memory error'...
I can start Win98 with the ATI drivers still in there, it then detects a PCI-Standard VGA device but when I install the N8269 drivers and reboot it hangs...
Could the 512MB on the Sparkle card have something to do with it?
And BTW, in XP it works with the 2GB memory and drivers from the Sparkle site.

I see. This is probably the amount of RAM that causes the problem. Try to remove 1gb, run 98 and install the drivers. This way, you'll know if the video card works with the custom drivers or not.
If it works fine with limited memory, then you can head towards this thread to find different solutions to the 2gb of RAM problem. Sometimes, the system.ini modifications just don't work.
About the 512mb on the Sparkle, I doubt that this causes the problem. The AGP apperture size doesn't help but I really think your RAM is the source.
Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#162
xrayer

xrayer

    RayeR

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Joined 15-May 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
To memory problems I suggest to look at http://www.msfn.org/...G...0&start=120 thread and try himemx.exe replacement.

>glocK_94
What 8xxx do you plan? And what VRAM size? It maybe important for Win9x. There are choices of 256, 384, 512 and 768 MB I saw...
I thinkg such big VRAM is not so important I would rather take smaller amount of faster VRAM.
BTW what performance gain I should expect when replacing 7600GS by best model of 7800? Esp. in new games like Crysis. I don't know if this help because of 8xxx/9xxx line brings new features that are missing on 7xxx and this may cause big performance diff.

Edited by xrayer, 10 June 2008 - 07:52 AM.

Win98(SE)CZ unofficial support site.
Running MSDOS 6.22, FreeDOS, Win98SE+KEX-4.5.2+nSP+nUSB, NT4.0-SP6, WinXP-SP3, Debian Linux
Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L, Core 2 Duo E8600@3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2, GF7900GT/256M, SSD Samsung 840 Pro, WD1000FBYX SATA, SB Audigy 2


#163
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
@xrayer
Why do you think VRAM size could be important on 98?
I'm planning to buy a PCI-e 8800GT 512mb... That is if I can save enough money of course! Cards with less than 512mb would probably be enough, even for my widescreen resolution, however these cards are hard to find over here. I was going to buy an ATI 3870 but it lacks 98 drivers...

Anyway, you will see a perf increase if you get a 7800 (as long as it's not the 7800GS). Here's a benchmark that can be useful to you. Crysis should be playable with a 7800 if you don't turn everything on high!
Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#164
StarRiver

StarRiver

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 13-January 07
I got a GeForce 7950GT AGP 512MB from friend.But while I install this videocard in win98,it's has the same problem like DirkDP ,the win98 can't boot successful....

I have already use himemx.exe so I can boot win98 with 3G RAM,but it's also fail to install the videocard....

So...I guess it's because the 512MB VRAM that win98 can't handle it.....

I had try many methods to install it , but thay all failed.....

Did anyone have any suggestion how to boot win98 with 512MB VideoCard ?

#165
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Since you have an AGP card, the AGP aperture size and VRAM probably use up all the arena memory. Try to lower the aperture size but that probably won't do the trick.
Did you try to actually remove 2gb to see what happens? I'm wondering if I'll get the same issue with a PCI-e card...
Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#166
StarRiver

StarRiver

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 13-January 07

Did you try to actually remove 2gb to see what happens? I'm wondering if I'll get the same issue with a PCI-e card...


Yes,I had tried....
I had already try to remove 2.5GB only keep 512MB RAM ,but it also failed to install.....

#167
StarRiver

StarRiver

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 13-January 07
Today,I took my 7950GT AGP 512MB to exchange a 7950GT AGP 256MB,and install it in win98 again and then the test result was wonderful :thumbup .Because it was successful to install it in win98 with 3G RAM which use himemx.exe.

So now,I can sure that win98 can't handle VideoCard with 512MB VRAM with AGP actually(whether the PCIE can work or not ?).

I tested the VideoCard with 3DMark2001 & 2003 in win98, and both of the test results are all pass,it works fine.The only problem is like the other ones who use MDGX's Driver with Nvidia 7-Series VideoCard,the win98 can't shutdown normally but can restart.So it's not a serious problem for me,because I can restart my PC to WINXP and shutdown it.

Finally,here are some pictures that captured from my win98 system about the 7950GT AGP 256MB test result .


1. The win98 install 7950GT AGP successful :thumbup . but in Nvidia Control Panel recognizes as unknown. :rolleyes:
Posted Image

2.3DMark 2001's test result.
Posted Image

3.3DMark03's test result.
Posted Image

Edited by StarRiver, 14 June 2008 - 05:43 AM.


#168
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Really nice! Unfortunatly, I know no way of limiting the amount of VRAM. I really hope this won't happen with PCI-e!
PS: nice wallpaper!
Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#169
xrayer

xrayer

    RayeR

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Joined 15-May 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
>glocK_94
I think VRAM size is important because of Win98 maps all memory-mapped devices (including VGA framebuffer) to the top 1GB of address space which is also used for kernel, drivers and shared buffer. In my case the 256MB framebuffer is mapper in range E0000000-EFFFFFFF. If you have 512MB VGA it will eat one half of kernel space and other things then may not fit. It doesn't matter if AGP or PCI-E. In XP the kernel space is normally top 2GB so it's larger...
Maybe RLoew would say more accurate info to this.

BTW thx for link to bench. That Asus 7600GS silent is same as mine. Nice to see 7800 is also made as silent. As I can see performance gain is really big so I will upgrade then, probably to some 7900GT 256M because 7800 makes much heat (110 vs 90nm) and 7950GT-256MB is hard to buy here...

Currently I can play Crysis in 800x600, most settings high except object details which is locked to low, shadows detail=low and shading=medium - this options have the most impact to graphics perf. With this setting I can play in acceptable FPS not going under 20.

>StarRiver
Thank you for confirming that 7950GT works. As I said VRAM size DOES matter :)
I'm not sure how to limit VRAM size by software but I guess if you flash VGA BIOS from 256< version on 512M version, which use same VRAM speed and timings it would work. But if BIOS autodetects VRAM size it will not work, I don't know...

Edited by xrayer, 16 June 2008 - 08:54 AM.

Win98(SE)CZ unofficial support site.
Running MSDOS 6.22, FreeDOS, Win98SE+KEX-4.5.2+nSP+nUSB, NT4.0-SP6, WinXP-SP3, Debian Linux
Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L, Core 2 Duo E8600@3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2, GF7900GT/256M, SSD Samsung 840 Pro, WD1000FBYX SATA, SB Audigy 2


#170
xrayer

xrayer

    RayeR

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Joined 15-May 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

The only problem is like the other ones who use MDGX's Driver with Nvidia 7-Series VideoCard,the win98 can't shutdown normally but can restart.So it's not a serious problem for me,because I can restart my PC to WINXP and shutdown it.


Yes...
BTW you don't need to boot XP, for automatic shutdown you can boot to W98 DOS mode and there are utilities like FDAPM which can shutdown ATX supply.
I also wrote small program that can shoot off ATX supply directly from windows but it have one issue, that even if I use sync tool to write disk buffers then because of win98 are not correctly shutted down then scandisk will appear on nex boot. Also some changes from registers maybe forgotten because system saves them at normal exit which didn't happen.

Edited by xrayer, 15 June 2008 - 08:35 PM.

Win98(SE)CZ unofficial support site.
Running MSDOS 6.22, FreeDOS, Win98SE+KEX-4.5.2+nSP+nUSB, NT4.0-SP6, WinXP-SP3, Debian Linux
Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L, Core 2 Duo E8600@3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2, GF7900GT/256M, SSD Samsung 840 Pro, WD1000FBYX SATA, SB Audigy 2


#171
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

As I said VRAM size DOES matter :)

:lol:

I think VRAM size is important because of Win98 maps all memory-mapped devices (including VGA framebuffer) to the top 1GB of address space which is also used for kernel, drivers and shared buffer. In my case the 256MB framebuffer is mapper in range E0000000-EFFFFFFF. If you have 512MB VGA it will eat one half of kernel space and other things then may not fit. It doesn't matter if AGP or PCI-E. In XP the kernel space is normally top 2GB so it's larger...

I was thinking PCI-e would be less of an issue because there is no AGP aperture size that adds itself to the VRAM. I'll see by myself anyway, since a 256mb 8800GT is impossible to find at a reasonable price here (It's actually more expensive than the 512mb version, can you believe it?)...
Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image

#172
xrayer

xrayer

    RayeR

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Joined 15-May 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

I was thinking PCI-e would be less of an issue because there is no AGP aperture size that adds itself to the VRAM. I'll see by myself anyway, since a 256mb 8800GT is impossible to find at a reasonable price here (It's actually more expensive than the 512mb version, can you believe it?)...


AGP aperture size just says how many system RAM can be additionaly used for VGA so if you disable it you could get same rasult as with PCI-E which doesn't use system RAM. BUT there's still entire VRAM mapped to Win98 kernel space and it seems that 512MB is too much. Look in your device manager/PC/memory resources how the top gigabyte (C0000000-FFFFFFFF) is occupied by various other devices...

Here are available two 256Meg 8800GT from Asus (EN8800GT/HTDP/256M, PCI-E) and Gigabyte which cost about 3000 CZK while 512Meg is for ~ 4000 CZK so it's not problem. I would buy it if it will work in 98se but nobody from friends have this 256M.

Edited by xrayer, 16 June 2008 - 03:12 PM.

Win98(SE)CZ unofficial support site.
Running MSDOS 6.22, FreeDOS, Win98SE+KEX-4.5.2+nSP+nUSB, NT4.0-SP6, WinXP-SP3, Debian Linux
Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L, Core 2 Duo E8600@3,6GHz, 4GB DDR2, GF7900GT/256M, SSD Samsung 840 Pro, WD1000FBYX SATA, SB Audigy 2


#173
DirkDP

DirkDP
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
Thanks StarRiver, for your tests.

I'm afraid I'm stuck with the 512MB card. I bought it at a store where I went for the first time and it was the only AGP card they had.
I mentioned that I added an extra 1GB to my PC and had maxphyspage set to 512MB. Well my Win98 install started to act up, the swap file couldn't be on another drive, Norton Windoctor couldn't access system.dat and startups that hung.
I looked at some of the other threads here and then d/l-ed himemx and tried with that and everything went back to normal...
Anyway, I'll try to get my Win98 through some virtual machine software. I really only need it for my printer, an HP710C, which has only the most basic support in XP with their 'standard driver'...
And I occasionally play some old games, some of which use 3DFX's Voodoo 2. Yep, I still got one of those in my system too.

DDP

#174
RetroOS

RetroOS

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 531 posts
  • Joined 26-June 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
7600 GS AGP... This seems to be the problem card in 9x...

I've got a Gigabyte 7600 GS 256MB AGP passive cooled card. On my test PC, it runs properly in XP.
But... 98SE on the same PC with 82.69 drivers, has missing triangles in DirectX games. Also some triangles have one point that is away in the wrong place - really weird effect!
(I even tried 81.98 and 82.16 drivers with 82.69 INFs... - just crashes at video driver initialisation...)
It does not seem to be random since I can navigate around this 'distorted' world!
I've tested a number of games with the same result.
98SE is up to date with Auto-Patcher 98.
Oddly, OpenGL games are okay!!!
I will try another clean install of 98SE to confirm.

Has anyone seen this problem with the 7600 GS AGP in 9x with 82.69 drivers?
retrofreak n a person who is very enthusiastic about something from the past.
retrology n the study of association with and revival from the past.
life n a series of near misses.

#175
glocK_94

glocK_94

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Joined 13-July 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I just got my 8800 GT PCI-e today! Unfortunatly, I can only confirm xrayer and StarRiver's statement about 512mb cards (thanks guys!). I modded the custom drivers to add the card's ID to the *.inf file. The card was detected and installed correctly. (by the way, I'll post the modded inf if anyone wants it)
Everything was fine until I restarted windows : "Windows Protection Error".

512mb of VRAM is more than Windows can handle. :(
It's not a surprise but I had to try...

So until we find a way to limit the Video RAM, I'm stuck with my 6200 AGP on win98. The 8800 PCI-e will be for XP only.
I can't find anything serious about "PCI address space" mapping under win9x...which seems to be the problem.

Edited by glocK_94, 23 June 2008 - 10:54 AM.

Traductions françaises des packs & MAJs pour Win98 : Posted Image

Stand up for Windows 9x ! Use a 9x userbar in your sig : Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users