Batch files - Check file versions

rkillcrazy

I hope this belongs in this forum... It deals with most other NT OSs as well.

I'm a network/PC admin and I deal with a lot of cheap customers! One of them won't take my advise and continues to purchase Dells with XP Home! Nonetheless, I still have to manage 80-100 (to date) XP PCs that should be on a domain. I repack a lot of installs and set up batch files to I can go from seat-to-seat and just make a few clicks to install the same old software. I have the batch files set up to use CHOICE.EXE & CHOICE.COM (I had to get those since XP doesn't have them) to allow me to choose what I want to install. I still have to sit there and hit "Y" or "N" but it's better than answer all the other stuff like EULAs and install paths. OK, venting all done......

My question:

Is there a way to have a batch file check the version of a file? Example: The PC has Spybot 1.3 and I wish to install v1.4. How can I set up the batch file to check the version number, and with an %ERRORLEVEL% EQL/LEQ/GEQ statement, install v1.4?

05-14-07

1146 EDT

There is no built-in command line utility for determining a files version. And I don't know of any third party utility that does this. However, you might be able to get away with using the "find" command.

echo   *** Checking For Latest Version of SpyBot
SET CHECKFILE=%ProgramFiles%\Spybot - Search & Destroy\spybot.exe
IF EXIST "%CHECKFILE%" (
ECHO - File Found, Checking Version...
FIND /I "1.4" "%CHECKFILE%" > NUL:
IF ERRORLEVEL 0 (
ECHO - Version at 1.4
) ELSE (
ECHO - Incorrect Version Found
CALL UPDATESPYBOT.CMD
)
) ELSE (
ECHO - Spybot not found, Installing...
CALL UPDATESPYBOT.CMD
)

I just wrote this off the top of my head. It probably contains bugs, but you get the general idea. The trick is to use the "find" command and errorlevel checking.

Edited by Nois3