Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Giving Your Windows Cosmetic Surgery

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
195 replies to this topic

#176
lilweirddude

lilweirddude

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Joined 24-August 04
hm...i followed the guide for custom bootscreen but i still get an error saying that ntfs.sys is corrupt or missing and it wants to replace it


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#177
dienkhung

dienkhung

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 73 posts
  • Joined 06-September 04
im getting the same problem as lilweirddude and mustov wasted like 20 cds trying to figure out. this is how i have it layed out. can someone recheck what i have and let me know whats wrong? thanks for taking a look

;SetupMgrTag
[Data]
AutoPartition=0
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"
AutomaticUpdates=No

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=FullUnattended
OEMSkipEULA=Yes
OEMPreinstall=Yes
TargetPath=\WINDOWS
FileSystem=*
UnattendSwitch="yes"
WaitForReboot ="No"
Hibernation=No

[GuiUnattended]
AutoLogon = Yes
OEMSkipRegional=1
TimeZone=4
OemSkipWelcome=1

[UserData]
ProductKey=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
FullName=xxxxxxxxxxxx
OrgName=xxxxxxxx
ComputerName=xxxxxxx

[Display]
BitsPerPel=32
Xresolution=1024
YResolution=768
Vrefresh=85

[Identification]
JoinWorkgroup=WORKGROUP

[Networking]
InstallDefaultComponents=Yes

[GuiRunOnce]
%systemdrive%\Install\start.cmd
%systemdrive%\Install\bootlogo.cmd

[Shell]
CustomDefaultThemeFile="%Systemroot%\Resources\Themes\b0seClass.theme"

[WindowsFirewall]
Profiles = WindowsFirewall.TurnOffFirewall

[WindowsFirewall.TurnOffFirewall]
Mode = 0





$OEM$ Folders............

$1/Install/ start.cmd, bootlogo.cmd, RegTweaks.reg
$$/System32/oemkrnl.exe
( i renamed the ntoskrnl.exe to oemkrnl.exe i downloaded from themexp)

i have this inside of the bootlogo.cmd...
bootcfg /RAW /A /Kernel=OEMKrnl.exe /ID 1
bootcfg /Timeout 0

#178
lilweirddude

lilweirddude

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Joined 24-August 04
i figured out the problem (thanks MCT)
or i think i have
havn't tested it out yet
i was using an incorrect version bootscreen that wasnt compatible with sp2
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=29784
hope it works now

#179
xpyrate

xpyrate

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 20-October 04
[VisualStyles]
Path=C:\Windows\Resources\Themes\cbfield\cbfield.msstyles
ColorStyle=NormalColor
Size=NormalSize

now, im not one to question you gurus here but shouldn't tht read:

[VisualStyles]
Path=%WinDir%\resources\themes\cbfield\cbfield.msstyles
ColorStyle=NormalColor
Size=NormalSize

or %Systemdrive% or somthing? :unsure:

#180
RBCC

RBCC

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
  • Joined 09-July 04
I am having a bit of problem deciding where to put the bootlogo.cmd file under my $OEM$ Tree, where does it go so I can execute it out of the winnt.sif file?

#181
MCT

MCT

    MSFN Junkie

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,291 posts
  • Joined 19-May 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i would suggest u put it in $OEM$\$1\{Place it Here}

so in your winnt.sif file from guirunonce put this

[GuiRunOnce]
%systemdrive%\bootlogo.cmd
Posted Image Posted Image
Windows 7 32Bit 2GB Ram 120GB HDD (Laptop), Windows 8 4GB Ram 1TB HDD (Desktop) Windows XP SP3 VM with enhancements!

#182
maniaq

maniaq

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 378 posts
  • Joined 28-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
can anyone tell what did I did worng that now I cant start my shut down screen :wacko: or start my ctrl+alt+delete screen?

#183
secowu

secowu

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 59 posts
  • Joined 01-October 04

ScreenSaveActive=0


that means i can use this to make my own screensaver?

#184
DarkUltra

DarkUltra

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 04-February 07

Here's a challenge for you:
Find out a way to set the default window size of My Computer/Explorer.

Ive been trying all day yesterday and all day today to get a registry tweak working, but to no avail.
Heres a small hint, the window size is set in the numbered keys at this location:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\ShellNoRoam\Bags

It's the WinPos1280x1024(1).bottom and WinPos1280x1024(1).right i want to be set at a different value.

Since i havent found a way in the registry im thinking its set in the explorer.exe, and since you guys are working on resource hacking some files, i thought you guys would know or have a look in it.

please! I'd love a tweak lite this myself, I don't like big explorer windows disturbing my drag-and-drop routines and I'd rather not use apps like zMover and AutoSizer.

#185
Kiki Burgh

Kiki Burgh

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,426 posts
  • Joined 06-January 06
hi b0r3d! link to uxtheme.cab is not working ... could you kindly provide me a new link. thanks!
tried the ff links to no avail:
http://www.msfn.org/...t...st&id=67792
http://www.MSFN.org/...?showtopic=9871
UXTHEME.DL_
uxtheme.dl_ hacked !, Come and get it !
http://www.webmedic.net/uxtheme.zip

Edited by Kiki Burgh, 04 February 2007 - 06:31 AM.

Posted Image

#186
albertomend

albertomend
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 10-March 08
GRACIAS

#187
Lolita

Lolita

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Joined 21-August 04
Any idea why wallpaper is not set automatically, windows style is set, but wallpaper not, if i choose my theme in themes after installation it set wallpaper withouth problem \:
Theme:
; Copyright © Microsoft Corp. 1995-2001

[Theme]

; Recycle Bin
[CLSID\{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}\DefaultIcon]
full=C:\WINDOWS\system32\shell32.dll,32
empty=C:\WINDOWS\system32\shell32.dll,31


[Control Panel\Desktop]
Wallpaper=%WinDir%Resources\Themes\Mint\Piece_of_Mind_by_ChemaM_1024.jpg
TileWallpaper=0
WallpaperStyle=2
Pattern=
ScreenSaveActive=0

[MasterThemeSelector]
MTSM=DABJDKT
ThemeColorBPP=4


[VisualStyles]
Path=%WinDir%resources\Themes\Mint\Mint.msstyles
ColorStyle=GradTBFul
Size=ExtraLargeFonts


#188
yocarim

yocarim

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 23 posts
  • Joined 26-October 08
hi! somebody know what file i need modify to change the sidebar in the start menu?

Attached File  sidebar.JPG   8KB   15 downloads

#189
bmw09121985

bmw09121985

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 03-February 09

hi! somebody know what file i need modify to change the sidebar in the start menu?

Attached File  sidebar.JPG   8KB   15 downloads


For Windows XP style classic explorer.exe....
Excuse for English..
My native language a Ukranian language..

#190
Bendfella

Bendfella

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 13-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
[VisualStyles]
Path=C:\Windows\Resources\Themes\cbfield\cbfield.msstyles
ColorStyle=NormalColor
Size=NormalSize

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS MEAN MSSTYLES. I CANT SEE IT IN MY RESOURCES.THEMES FOLDER
IF I JUST LEAVE IT LIKE THAT IT GIVES AN ERROR IN NLITE.

Add this to your tweaks.reg file: - Thanks to DaveXP for this tweak

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\General]"BackupWallpaper"="c:\\windows\\web\\wallpaper\\xppaper.jpg""Wallpaper"="c:\\windows\\web\\wallpaper\\xppaper.jpg"

I MADE A TWEAKS.REG FILE IN NOTEPAD BUT I DONT KNOW WHERE TO ADD/INTEGRATE IT IN MY NLITE INSTALLATION

#191
softmobi4all

softmobi4all

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • Joined 09-May 08

hi! somebody know what file i need modify to change the sidebar in the start menu?

Attached File  sidebar.JPG   8KB   15 downloads



TO Modify the this file
explorer.exe->158,166,167

#192
jonsaxon

jonsaxon
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 25-July 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

my bad, i was in a rush...
the post is fixed and quoted.

thnx DPR for pointing that out, not lookin to take credit from anyone.



anyway finished the script and posting here....help from unforgiven1 on the for command

FOR /F "tokens=3 delims=  " %%A IN ('REG QUERY "HKLM\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Session Manager\Environment" /v NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS') DO SET NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=%%A

bootcfg /copy /D "Windows XP Professional" /ID 1
if %NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS%==2 goto DUAL
REM ----For Single proc
bootcfg /RAW "/Kernel=OEMKrnl.exe" /A  /ID 2
goto End
:DUAL
REM ----For Multiprocess/Hyperthread proc
bootcfg /RAW "/Kernel=dualKrnl.exe" /A  /ID 2
:End
bootcfg /Timeout 2
bootcfg /Default /ID 2

put it in its seperate batch file, as anything after it won't be run. Call it from wherever, but jsut its own batch, or at the VERY end of one of your last ones
i put it in cmdlines.txt at the end of my user creation but whatever is good.
I make a copy of the initial boot line so incase it doens't work i still have the original to boot from without editing files anymore.

Enjoy


Hi! I'm new to this forum and to the whole unattended subject. In the last few weeks i've been reading and learnig a lot of great stuff from you guys. Thank you very much for all your knowledge and patience for people like me.

My Question for Alanoll: I know this is an old topic, but i would like to known if it is possible to use an environment variable like this: "bootcfg /RAW "/Kernel=OEMKrnl.exe" /A /ID %environment_variable%".

Is there some kind of Environment Variable that contains the ID of the current Os we are using. I make this question because if we use your script in a multi-boot install and if we want to change the Logo of the OS number 1 (ID 1) or OS number 3 (ID 3) the it won't work..

Also, i'm using your script to build my own script for applying different Logos when the OS's are already installed. That's why i need that Environment Variable because without it, i don't know how to solve this problem (OS ID is static in the script).

I am sorry if my english is difficult to understand. I'm not a native speaker. I hope you understand my logic for what i want to do.

Thank you very much. I wait for an answer.

Bye.

#193
manvindar

manvindar

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 21-December 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi.....................

I am doing this surgery for last 2 years :thumbup and i have changed nearly all possible icons and bitmaps in all exe and dll files of my unattended windows xp

this is how it looks

Attached Files

  • Attached File  ms.JPG   105.87KB   13 downloads
  • Attached File  ms2.JPG   109.73KB   10 downloads

Edited by manvindar, 21 December 2010 - 10:13 AM.


#194
manvindar

manvindar

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 21-December 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
well u can make a bat file and invoke it at runonce.............................

in my installation i have made a SFX archive and it invokes a bat file after extraction to integrate the registry settings
u can integrate the registry settings using the following key

regedit /s tweaks.reg

#195
manvindar

manvindar

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 21-December 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

[VisualStyles]
Path=C:\Windows\Resources\Themes\cbfield\cbfield.msstyles
ColorStyle=NormalColor
Size=NormalSize

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS MEAN MSSTYLES. I CANT SEE IT IN MY RESOURCES.THEMES FOLDER
IF I JUST LEAVE IT LIKE THAT IT GIVES AN ERROR IN NLITE.

Add this to your tweaks.reg file: - Thanks to DaveXP for this tweak

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\General]"BackupWallpaper"="c:\\windows\\web\\wallpaper\\xppaper.jpg""Wallpaper"="c:\\windows\\web\\wallpaper\\xppaper.jpg"

I MADE A TWEAKS.REG FILE IN NOTEPAD BUT I DONT KNOW WHERE TO ADD/INTEGRATE IT IN MY NLITE INSTALLATION



well u can make a bat file and invoke it at runonce.............................

in my installation i have made a SFX archive and it invokes a bat file after extraction to integrate the registry settings
u can integrate the registry settings using the following key

regedit /s tweaks.reg

#196
ir0nd4gg3r

ir0nd4gg3r
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 12-January 11
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
that link to replacing the ntoskrnl is dead :( i cant find another one anywhere any suggestions




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users