Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

BCDEdit Incompatible with XP?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I tried running BCDEdit in Windows XP and got an error regarding ntdll.dll. I found file in Vista and registered in XP and still same error.

Curious though, after I clicked OK on error dialog, BCDEdit displayed the content of my bcd.

Anyone tried using it to edit bcd from XP? Is there a way to make it run without errors?
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
TehSuk

TehSuk
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 08-March 07
No problems with bcdedit here, are you using XP Home or Professional? I'm also assuming you installed it from WAIK and not copied it from a Vista install...

#3
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm using professional.

I didn't know it was included with WAIK. I have WAIK installed, but since I didn't know it was there, I was using Vista's bcdedit.

I will search my program files for it.
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#4
tap52384

tap52384

    nLite Lover

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Joined 11-August 04
Where is BCDEdit found in the WAIK installation?

#5
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah, I didn't find it in WAIK either. I do believe bcdedit is not part of WAIK.
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#6
pankajtakawale

pankajtakawale

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 53 posts
  • Joined 02-December 06

Yeah, I didn't find it in WAIK either. I do believe bcdedit is not part of WAIK.


bcdedit is part of WinPE.wim.
In WAIK, you can see different folders (ia64, amd64, x86) for different platforms, these folders contain basic WinPE.wim image files. When you mount WinPE.wim file using imagex, u can find bcdedit.exe in that mounted folder.

#7
marc_limmer

marc_limmer
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 08-March 07
I experienced problems when using bcdedit in Windows XP. The only way that it worked completely functional was when I ran it from Vista or a Vista PE version which I created with WAIK. So for me it doesn't work properly in Windows XP.

#8
tap52384

tap52384

    nLite Lover

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Joined 11-August 04
Could someone post here how to replace the XP bootloader with the Vista Bootloader using BCDEdit and any other files that are necessary? What I am looking for is a way to dual-boot XP & WinPE 2.0.

#9
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
BCDedit is only for configuring BCD. It cannot replace your bootloader.

Use your Vista DVD with the repair option. That should recover it.

THEN use BCDedit to add XP and WinPE to your BCD.


edit

Interestingly enough, on XP with WAIK, I get an error with BCDEdit. On a computer without, no error. Go figure.

Edited by spacesurfer, 20 June 2007 - 01:47 PM.

_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#10
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Apparently, it seems if you run it from the default location in Vista (system32 folder), from XP, it gives error. But if you copy it to another location and then run it, no errors.
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users