Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

bootmgr based Multiboot DVD ( currently XP & Vista)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
To create multiboot dvd with XP and Vista,

first we have to add XP to bcd store of Vista DVD's bcd

copy vista dvd to folder say d:\vista-l

Copy XP CD to the same folder (i386,WINIP etc should be in the root of the disc along with sources, boot etc)

open cmd and type
(get bcdedit.exe from Vista DVD's boot folder)

bcdedit /store D:\vista-l\boot\bcd /create {ntldr} /d "Windows XP setup"

bcdedit /store D:\vista-l\boot\bcd /set {ntldr} device boot

bcdedit /store D:\vista-l\boot\bcd /set {ntldr} path \I386\SETUPLDR.BIN	

bcdedit /store D:\vista-l\boot\bcd /displayorder {ntldr} /addlast

bcdedit /store D:\vista-l\boot\bcd /set {bootmgr} displaybootmenu yes

okay, now the boot store is ready.

Now create the DVD image as usual using cd image

cdimage -lXP_Vista -j1 -u1 -e -m -h -bD:\vista-l\boot\etfsboot.com D:\vista-l d:\xp-vista.iso

Similarly any NT based os (atleast XP, 2003) can be booted using bootmgr

Even More!!!

u can use boomgr without vista source
ie, it can be used for creating multiboot dvd of XP, 2003 etc
only u need the "boot" folder and "bootmgr" at root of DVD/CD

Testing :
I did it with vLited Vista and nLied XP Pro

UPDATE:

1. Delay in XP setup due to UDF filesystem
It is been reported that -u1 switch for cdimage causing delay in XP setup.
Possible reason 4 this will be due to XP setup reluctantancy to load files from mirror
UDF filesystem than joliet (-j1) file system.

AFAIK joliet filesystem max. single file size is 2GB
if u r install.wim is < 2GB then no problem occurs on avoiding -u1
otherwise u need u include -u1.

2. multibooting vista/server 2k8
Since the path (and name) of install.wim is hardcoded to <DVD_ROOT>\Sources\install.wim
it is impossile to install them along in same dvd using bootmgr.
If anybody know workarounds please post it.

Suggested solution is to merge the install.wim's
Thus making single install.wim with versions of Vista and Server 2k8 (like merging Vista x86 & x64 into one wim)
and selecting required version from unattened.xml


3. To remove ems support (the vista entry shows Windows Vista Setup [EMS Enabled])
bcdedit -store D:\vista-l\boot\bcd /bootems {bootmgr} OFF

Edited by Innocent Devil, 18 December 2007 - 12:45 PM.

"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Who-Me?

Who-Me?
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 04-July 07
I tried running your code all went well except for the last two lines of code the errors are listed below along with the code I ran

c:\EasyBoot\Disc1>bcdedit /store C:\EasyBoot\disc1\bcd /displayorder {NTLDR} /addlast
An error has occurred setting the element data.The system cannot find the file specified.

c:\EasyBoot\Disc1>bcdedit /store C:\EasyBoot\disc1\bcd /set {bootmgr} displaybootmenu yes
An error occurred while attempting to reference the specified entry.The system cannot find the file specified.

Am i missing something here ??

Thnx in advance

#3
tap52384

tap52384

    nLite Lover

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Joined 11-August 04
Using this same method, could you give directions for creating a multiboot CD with WinPE 2.0 and Windows XP? Even better, could you explain how to install WinPE 2.0 on the hard drive? Thanks so much in advance!

#4
Who-Me?

Who-Me?
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 04-July 07
Here is a link to microsoft website that will help u out
Install WinPE onto HDD

Edited by Who-Me?, 10 July 2007 - 04:13 PM.


#5
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
try "-store" instead of "/store"

The command require Admin Privilages bcoz it uses HKLM registry hive

so in XP u require Admin account
& in Vista aministrator Privilaged Command Window
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#6
Ausmith1

Ausmith1

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Joined 11-October 03
Thanks for the great tip, I got this to work very well for multi-booting Windows PE 2.0 (the new Vista based version) and several editions of Windows 2003 on a single DVD. However I cannot get the resulting ISO to boot once I add a second instance of Windows PE to the bcd store, has anyone tried doing this and gotten it working?

Here are the docs I worked from:
Boot Configuration Data Editor Frequently Asked Questions
http://technet.micro...a/aa905126.aspx

Here is what I did:
Started with Windows PE 2.0 files from WAIK (x86).
[Root]
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {bootmgr} displaybootmenu yes
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {default} DESCRIPTION "Windows PE 2.0"
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {default} EMS no
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /deletevalue {bootmgr} TIMEOUT

[Boot Option #1]
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /create /application OSLOADER /d "Windows Server 2003 R2 - Standard Edition - Automated Install"
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {2770bd0a-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} device boot
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {2770bd0a-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} path \STDO\SETUPLDR.BIN
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /displayorder {2770bd0a-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} /addlast
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {2770bd0a-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} DESCRIPTION "Windows 2003 R2 - Standard Edition - Automated Install"

[Boot Option #2]
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /create /application OSLOADER /d "Windows Server 2003 R2 - Standard Edition - Manual install"
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {3963abdf-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} device boot
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {3963abdf-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} path \STDM\SETUPLDR.BIN
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /displayorder {3963abdf-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} /addlast
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {3963abdf-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} DESCRIPTION "Windows 2003 R2 - Standard Edition - Manual install"

[Boot Option #3]
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /create /application OSLOADER /d "Windows Server 2003 R2 - Standard Edition EVAL License - Automated Install"
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {4828a50f-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} device boot
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {4828a50f-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} path \STDE\SETUPLDR.BIN
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /displayorder {4828a50f-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} /addlast
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {4828a50f-4174-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} DESCRIPTION "Windows 2003 R2 - Standard Ed. EVAL License - Automated Install"

This config boots up to here.

[Add second instance of Windows PE to menu]
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /copy {default} /d "System Quick Restore (Windows PE)"
This config boots up to here too.

D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {4d28b85c-4183-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} device ramdisk=[boot]\sources\restore.wim,{4d28b85c-4183-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4}
D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit /store D:\multiboot\boot\bcd /set {4d28b85c-4183-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4} osdevice ramdisk=[boot]\sources\restore.wim,{4d28b85c-4183-11dc-97f6-005056b27ab4}
Editing these two lines causes the ISO to no longer boot.
Any ideas?
My PC specs:
Dell GX620
4GB RAM
Dual 160GB SATA drives - RAID1
Dual 24" LCDs
Windows 2003 x64 SP2

#7
Sudarshan

Sudarshan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 28-May 07
Is this approach also works for creating Multibootable DVD of Windows vista alongwith Windows server 2008 code name Longhorn?

Waiting for answer..........

#8
sayeds

sayeds
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 31-July 07
Cool Stuff Guyz.

I did mine a month ago, but differently.

using vista's boot sector and easyboot's xp boot sector, I even managed (with some research) a GuiRunOnce in the vista unattended file. Only downfall is that Windows post installer is not vista compatible so I had to use windows commandscript instead. It Sucks.

Also using my oem license i got it to activate by itself.

Unfortunately I wont be uploading the iso due to the fact that my oem key is an original.

But I'm willing to help you create your own via this forum

:thumbsup

#9
Sudarshan

Sudarshan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 28-May 07
Hi friends,
I have tried the same approach for making bootable DVD of Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 code name Longhorn.

I have taken Longhorn Installation Image in "Root" folder and created a folder named "Vista" in it and copied Vista Installation Image into that folder.

I have edited the bcd file of longhorn and given path of vista bootmgr into it.(i.e. \Vista\bootmgr ).

The DVD booted fine and shown two options

Windows Setup
Windows Vista

When I selected "Windows Setup", it successfully started longhorn installation.
But when I selected "Windows Vista" it again shown the previous window. I tried again and again it shown the same window. It is an Infinite Loop.

I guess, when I selected "Windows Vista" the bootmgr of Vista is loaded but it is using the same bcd file of Longhorn and showing the same options again.

If my guess is right, Can u tell me, How can I modify bootmgr so that it can read \Vista\boot\bcd file instead of \boot\bcd?

Thanks in advance.........

#10
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
bootmgr is the "bootloader" not the Boot Configuration Data (aka BCD)

the dvd bootsector ( etfsboot.com ) always loads the bootmgr from ROOT of the DVD
this bootmgr checks for the boot configuration data in <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd file
(This is same as what u seen in HDD install too The bootmgr in C: drive loads only C:\Boot\bcd)

So you have to edit the <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd store in order to load any other

u did wat is to instruct <DVD_ROOT>\bootmgr to load <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\bootmgr --> Okay this is working

but then <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\bootmgr searches <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd and loads the file

Thus it goes in a loop.

Okay to solve the issue

first understand how <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\Boot\bcd loads the OS ( bcdedit /store <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\Boot\bcd /enum /v )

then copy the same conf to <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd by creating ne entry in the store

u should change the bcd parameters like
osdevice which by default will be ramdisk=[boot]\boot.wim,{GUID}
to ramdisk=[boot]\<properpath>\boot.wim,{GUID}
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#11
Ausmith1

Ausmith1

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Joined 11-October 03
I figured out how to get multiple Win PE 2.0 WIMs in the menu with help from the posting here:
http://www.deployvis...27/Default.aspx

This is what I ended up with:

 
Rem Creates BCD (boot configuration data) for Windows 2003 - PE 2.0 DVD
set bcdedit=D:\multiboot\boot\bcdedit
set BCD-File=D:\multiboot\boot\bcd
del %BCD-File%
%bcdedit% /createstore %BCD-File%
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /create {ramdiskoptions} /d "Ramdisk options"
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set {ramdiskoptions} ramdisksdidevice boot
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set {ramdiskoptions} ramdisksdipath \boot\boot.sdi

set A=Windows 2003 R2 - Standard Edition - Automated Install
set B=Windows 2003 R2 - Standard Edition - Manual install
set C=Windows 2003 R2 - Standard Edition EVAL License - Automated Install
set D=Hardware Setup (Windows PE)
set E=Quick Restore (Windows PE)

for /f "tokens=1-3" %%a in ('%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /create /application OSLOADER /d "%A%"') do set guida=%%c
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guida% device boot
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guida% path \STDO\SETUPLDR.BIN
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guida% DESCRIPTION "%A%"

for /f "tokens=1-3" %%a in ('%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /create /application OSLOADER /d "%B%"') do set guidb=%%c
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidb% device boot
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidb% path \STDO\SETUPLDR.BIN
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidb% DESCRIPTION "%B%"

for /f "tokens=1-3" %%a in ('%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /create /application OSLOADER /d "%C%"') do set guidc=%%c
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidc% device boot
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidc% path \STDO\SETUPLDR.BIN
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidc% DESCRIPTION "%C%"

for /f "tokens=1-3" %%a in ('%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /create /d "%D%" /application osloader') do set guidd=%%c
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidd% systemroot \Windows
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidd% detecthal Yes
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidd% winpe Yes
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidd% osdevice ramdisk=[boot]\sources\hwsetup.wim,{ramdiskoptions}
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guidd% device ramdisk=[boot]\sources\hwsetup.wim,{ramdiskoptions}

for /f "tokens=1-3" %%a in ('%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /create /d "%E%" /application osloader') do set guide=%%c
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guide% systemroot \Windows
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guide% detecthal Yes
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guide% winpe Yes
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guide% osdevice ramdisk=[boot]\sources\restore.wim,{ramdiskoptions}
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set %guide% device ramdisk=[boot]\sources\restore.wim,{ramdiskoptions}

%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /create {bootmgr} /d "Windows Vista Bootloader"
:: %bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set {bootmgr} timeout 30
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /set {bootmgr} displayorder %guida% %guidb% %guidc% %guidd% %guide%
%bcdedit% /store %BCD-File% /enum all

cdimage.exe -lMultiBoot_Test -u1 -e -oi -m -h -bD:\multiboot\boot\etfsboot.com D:\multiboot "multiboot_test.iso"


Now everything works nicely. :thumbup
My PC specs:
Dell GX620
4GB RAM
Dual 160GB SATA drives - RAID1
Dual 24" LCDs
Windows 2003 x64 SP2

#12
Sudarshan

Sudarshan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 28-May 07
Hi Ausmith1,

Can u be more specific and tell me the solution for making Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 Codename Longhorn in a single bootable DVD?

#13
Sudarshan

Sudarshan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 28-May 07

bootmgr is the "bootloader" not the Boot Configuration Data (aka BCD)

the dvd bootsector ( etfsboot.com ) always loads the bootmgr from ROOT of the DVD
this bootmgr checks for the boot configuration data in <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd file
(This is same as what u seen in HDD install too The bootmgr in C: drive loads only C:\Boot\bcd)

So you have to edit the <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd store in order to load any other

u did wat is to instruct <DVD_ROOT>\bootmgr to load <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\bootmgr --> Okay this is working

but then <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\bootmgr searches <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd and loads the file

Thus it goes in a loop.

Okay to solve the issue

first understand how <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\Boot\bcd loads the OS ( bcdedit /store <DVD_ROOT>\Vista\Boot\bcd /enum /v )

then copy the same conf to <DVD_ROOT>\Boot\bcd by creating ne entry in the store

u should change the bcd parameters like
osdevice which by default will be ramdisk=[boot]\boot.wim,{GUID}
to ramdisk=[boot]\<properpath>\boot.wim,{GUID}





I am sorry, but I don't understood what u want to say?

Can u be more specific...........

#14
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
u have to create the boot configuration data for loading Vista's WIM
int \boot\bcd

ie the "Windows Vista" should have a proper defnition in the bcd like "Windows Setup" no just loading the \Vista\bootmgr

try to copy the settings of "Windows Setup" and change the paths of osdevice and device options
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#15
Sudarshan

Sudarshan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 28-May 07
Thats gr8.......

thank u very much........

Vista is booted properly but still have a problem....... :(

After I clicked on Install Now, a message box came telling

"A reqiured CD/DVD drive device driver is missing. If you have a driver floppy disk, CD, DVD or USB flash drive,
Please insert it Now."

Can you tell me why this message came and how I can solve it?

#16
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
bocoz the install.wim is now in \Vista\sources dir

which is supposed to be in \sources dir

i dunno how to change the path of install.wim in the setup.
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#17
Sudarshan

Sudarshan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 28-May 07
bocoz the install.wim is now in \Vista\sources dir
which is supposed to be in \sources dir

Can anybody tell me how do i cahnge the path of sources\install.wim to Vista\sources\install.wim?

any suggestion is appreciated........

#18
wrayal

wrayal

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 54 posts
  • Joined 19-May 07
So...if you want to have, say, Vista and VistaPE bootable, you can load them both from bootmgr, but if say you wanted Linux as well, you'd have to have 2 separate loaders?

Wrayal

#19
arfett

arfett

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
I have Vista x64 & XP x64 booting fine using this method. Is it possible for me to add a third entry for XP 32bit? I try to use bcdedit /store Y:\USB_AIO\boot\bcd /create {name} /d "Windows XP Install" and it tells me the indentifier is invalid. When I put {ntldr} it just tells me that the entry already exists.

Edited by arfett, 11 September 2007 - 12:14 AM.

AMD X6 1090T @ 3.6 GHz (200x18) | ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 | 2 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz @ 6-9-6-24 1T
Radeon HD5850 | HT Omega Claro Halo | PC P&C 750W Silencer Mk II | Lian Li PC-60FN
EK Supreme HF CPU Block -> Swiftech MCR-220 Radiator -> Swiftech MCP-655 Laing D5 Pump

#20
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
1. The problem due cozing Invalid store will be the HKLM registry key access
u need admin access to get write on HKLM key
bcdedit uses this ket to mount the store

2. first start with a clean bcd store
add entries one by one
{ntldr} is an alias for actual GUID 466f5a88-0af2-4f76-9038-095b170dc21c
so it cannot be recreated
instead of "/create" use "/copy" and alter that entries parameter to u requirment
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#21
arfett

arfett

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
Thanks that worked out fine. I have an entry for XP x86 on there now, the only problem is when I actually try to install it. I created a folder called BALLS and copied the x86 nlited (even tried un-nlited) disc to this folder. When I start the install I get a message about the txtsetup.sif missing or being corrupt. I have the bcd path set to \BALLS\I386\SETUPLDR.BIN. I thought it might be failing because the entries inside of txtsetup.sif had entries like "\I386" and I changed them all to \BALLS\I386 and so on for any directory entries it had, but I still got the same message. If anyone knows what's going on I could sure use the help.
AMD X6 1090T @ 3.6 GHz (200x18) | ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 | 2 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz @ 6-9-6-24 1T
Radeon HD5850 | HT Omega Claro Halo | PC P&C 750W Silencer Mk II | Lian Li PC-60FN
EK Supreme HF CPU Block -> Swiftech MCR-220 Radiator -> Swiftech MCP-655 Laing D5 Pump

#22
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
Thats' a silly multiboot mistake
Consider Reading the Multiboot forum, guides much deeper

U dont need to change all the entries,
instead
find [SetupData] section of txtsetup.sif

and

SetupSourcePath = "\"


and replace with

SetupSourcePath = "\BALLS\"

"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]

#23
arfett

arfett

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
I actually tried that earlier this morning after reading a guide about this and it didn't work. Thanks for trying to help though I really appreciate it. I still haven't read far enough into all the info or maybe I misunderstood something I did read so if there's anything else I can try I could use the help.
AMD X6 1090T @ 3.6 GHz (200x18) | ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 | 2 x 2GB DDR3 1600MHz @ 6-9-6-24 1T
Radeon HD5850 | HT Omega Claro Halo | PC P&C 750W Silencer Mk II | Lian Li PC-60FN
EK Supreme HF CPU Block -> Swiftech MCR-220 Radiator -> Swiftech MCP-655 Laing D5 Pump

#24
sp00f

sp00f

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Joined 30-November 06
Is it possible to put in this :

/set{current}loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

So i never have to press F8 again during a Vista x64 setup with integrated drivers.

I mean edit the BCD that is on the DVD "DVD_ROOT\BOOT\BCD"

#25
Innocent Devil

Innocent Devil

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Joined 04-February 05
yes

first run through bcdedit /enum /v to get the GUID of the vista entry
then do bcdedit -store <store_name> /set {GUID} loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

BUT it will apply only on the booting DVD, it wont be ther wen it is written to the HDD

afterall this affect only to the WinPE which is booting from the DVD

the vista u need to do that will booted only after first reboot of setup

am still unable to integrate this option in DVD
i tried to mount the install.wim
and by editing the bcd template in System32\config of the image

no use, its not working.

Does anybody know from wher the installer in WinPE phase copied a default set of bcd store to hdd?
or is it creating dynamically by the setup routine ??
"The level of security that Vista is trying to achieve to protect video and audio is more extreme than anything the US government has ever considered necessary for protecting its most sensitive classified data."

Read Full Article @ [A Cost Analysis of Windows Vista Content Protection]

Don't be lame [Linux is NOT Windows]




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users