Windows NT 4.0 and GRUB4DOS

ppgrainbow

I want to be able to triple boot between Windows NT 4.0, MS-DOS 6.22 and Memtest86+ via GRUB4DOS and here is what I have so far.

1. MS-DOS 6.22 is in a 128 MB hard disk image and it was created using QEMU. The filename is MSDOS.IMG and it is sitting in the root directory of drive C.

2. Memtest86+ is on a floppy diskette image on the root directory as well. The filename of Memtest86+ is MEMTEST.IMG.

3. The current version of GRUB4DOS that I'm using is version 0.4.4 with the build date of 2009-06-20.

Drive C is formatted as a NTFS partition.

I'm sorry if I'm not providing sufficient details, but I'm starting to feel tired. :(

How can I modify the menu.lst file in the root directory of drive C in order for MS-DOS 6.22 and Memtest86+ to be listed and how can I get it to work?

I'm new to using GRUB4DOS and multi-booting and I'm gonna need some help here.

Edited by ppgrainbow

Well, you should use a newer version of grub4dos.

What is recommended (by me) if you are going to use a 0.4.4, is version 2009-10-16 (which is latest 0.4.4 series):

http://reboot.pro/16641/

or (better) the newest "Featured" from the grub4dos homepage:

http://code.google.com/p/grub4dos-chenall/downloads/list

HOW are you loading grub4dos?

I will presume like this:

http://diddy.boot-land.net/grub4dos/files/install_windows.htm#windows1

You NEVER (when experimenting) use a pre-made menu.lst entry, you use command line, pressing "C" to get to the prompt and entering commands one by one, this is because this way you get feedback from grub4dos related t the last command entered, thus, in case of issues you know WHAT exactly casuses it.

Usuallly (but of course in no way "compulsory") floppy images are given .ima extension, whilst hard disk or partition images are given .img ones.

Memtest is "easy".

find --set-root /memtest.ima
map /memtest.ima (fd0)
map --hook
chainloader (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)
boot