Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

AMD SATA Controller on Windows 2000?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi all I've been reading through this forum and I'm very interested to see how well Windows 2000 can work for me in this day and age. I currently have Windows XP installed on this laptop (CQ56-253SA) which originally came with Windows 7. I slipstreamed the SATA drivers into my XP install so is it possible for me to do it with Windows 2000 as well?

Thanks for taking the time to read this :)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Dagorlad

Dagorlad
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
The driver can be slipstreamed, it may need to be modified if it doesn't install under w2k though.

I would also recommend turning on EnableBigLBA.

#3
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yeah I found a driver for it but I can't be sure whether it's going to work I guess I'll have to buy a couple of cd/r's just in case :P How do I turn on enableBigLBA?

#4
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,497 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
What language version of Windows 2000 do you use? If it's Italian then probably the only way to retain both the original system language and be able to to install the system with AHCI (SATA) enabled would be to use blackwingcat's modified AMD drivers.

On the other hand, if it's an English system or you don't care for the language, then you could use my HFSLIP package to prepare a fully updated Windows 2000 source and then slipstream the XP drivers. Most of your system's language will change into English if you use an Italian source.

I can probably help but first let me know which of the two ways you prefer. It would also be nice if you provided some more details about the laptop. Full technical specification would be very useful (especially the hardware ID of the SATA controller). I'd also suggest using a USB stick to install the system instead of CDs since it's much faster and rewritable. If you want to stick to CDs then how about buying just one CD-RW?

Edited by tomasz86, 03 April 2013 - 10:01 PM.


#5
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What language version of Windows 2000 do you use? If it's Italian then probably the only way to retain both the original system language and be able to to install the system with AHCI (SATA) enabled would be to use blackwingcat's modified AMD drivers.

On the other hand, if it's an English system or you don't care for the language, then you could use my HFSLIP package to prepare a fully updated Windows 2000 source and then slipstream the XP drivers. Most of your system's language will change into English if you use an Italian source.

I can probably help but first let me know which of the two ways you prefer. It would also be nice if you provided some more details about the laptop. Full technical specification would be very useful (especially the hardware ID of the SATA controller). I'd also suggest using a USB stick to install the system instead of CDs since it's much faster and rewritable. If you want to stick to CDs then how about buying just one CD-RW?


It's the English version (my flag is the Irish flag, not Italian xD :P). Does HFSLIP work just like nLite? I tried to use an 8GB USB Drive already and I kept getting a 'biosinfo.inf could not be loaded' error. Here's the info about the system itself, with the hardware that I would most like to be able to get working under 2k:

Compaq CQ56-253SA

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 series ( PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9712&SUBSYS_1604103C&REV_00 )

AMD SATA AHCI Controller ( PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4391&SUBSYS_1604103C&REV_00 ) - at the moment using these drivers on XP supplied by HP: http://h30434.www3.h...SOD/td-p/114120

Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter ( PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_002B&SUBSYS_3040103C&REV_01 )

Realtek HD Audio ( HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0270&SUBSYS_103C1604 )

If you need any more info just ask me :) And thanks for helping me out!

Edited by ryanch94, 04 April 2013 - 07:55 AM.


#6
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,497 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
HFSLIP is similar to nLite in some aspects. It's better than nLite when it comes to slipstreaming of Windows updates. nLite offers other customisation which isn't available in HFSLIP.

I'd suggest you go to my Download Archive and then:

  • Go to Windows2000/UnofficialSP5/HFSLIP, download HFSLIP_ia.7z and unpack it to a folder (make sure there are no spaces in the path).
  • Copy your Windows 2000 source to the SOURCE folder.
  • Run the script and wait until it's finished.
  • In the Download Archive go to Windows2000/UnofficialSP5/Drivers and download AMD 12.10 AHCI SB8xx.7z. Use nLite to integrate the driver.
  • Use WinSetupFromUSB (the newest beta) to prepare a USB stick.
  • Install Windows.
We'll think about the other drivers after the system has been installed ;) but from my experience I can say there might be a problem with the Atheros WiFi. The rest should work fine.

PS Sorry about confusing the flags :blushing: but here on MSFN it really looks like the Italian one...

Edited by tomasz86, 04 April 2013 - 05:27 PM.


#7
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

HFSLIP is similar to nLite in some aspects. It's better than nLite when it comes to slipstreaming of Windows updates. nLite offers other customisation which isn't available in HFSLIP.

I'd suggest you go to my Download Archive and then:

  • Go to Windows2000/UnofficialSP5/HFSLIP, download HFSLIP_ia.7z and unpack it to a folder (make sure there are no spaces in the path).
  • Copy your Windows 2000 source to the SOURCE folder.
  • Run the script and wait until it's finished.
  • In the Download Archive go to Windows2000/UnofficialSP5/Drivers and download AMD 12.10 AHCI SB8xx.7z. Use nLite to integrate the driver.
  • Use WinSetupFromUSB (the newest beta) to prepare a USB stick.
  • Install Windows.
We'll think about the other drivers after the system has been installed ;) but from my experience I can say there might be a problem with the Atheros WiFi. The rest should work fine.


Okay, I'll try this out tonight! I'll post back when I have results! Thanks for your help! :D

PS Sorry about confusing the flags :blushing: but here on MSFN it really looks like the Italian one...


I know, the difference is barely noticeable xD

#8
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well I got the setup onto the USB but when I boot from it the installation freezes at 'Setup is Starting Windows 2000'. When I Google it this page comes up :http://support.microsoft.com/kb/234772

It seems that the SATA drivers are incorrect, should I try to use the Windows XP drivers that I mentioned in an earlier post?

EDIT: The SATA drivers are definitely the wrong ones, I tried changing to Standard PC HAL with F5 and I got 0x0000007B BSOD

Edited by ryanch94, 05 April 2013 - 07:11 AM.


#9
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,497 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
It's may be different problem but just in case you may try to slipstream the original XP drivers. In order to do so you should start with a clean source again, i.e. don't add them to the source where you've already integrated my drivers as the system won't be able to choose the right one.

Edited by tomasz86, 05 April 2013 - 07:13 AM.


#10
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It's may be different problem but just in case you may try to slipstream the original XP drivers. In order to do so you should start with a clean source again, i.e. don't add them to the source where you've already integrated my drivers as the system won't be able to choose the right one.


Ok I will, is there anyway to make the WinSetupFromUSB process faster? It took almost an hour to copy the files before.

#11
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,497 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Not really :( You can try other tools like YUMI but I'm not sure whether it will work properly with Window 2000 source. Still, one hour seems to be a little too long even for WinSetupFromUSB unless you're using a very low quality USB stick...

#12
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Not really :( You can try other tools like YUMI but I'm not sure whether it will work properly with Window 2000 source. Still, one hour seems to be a little too long even for WinSetupFromUSB unless you're using a very low quality USB stick...


It's a cheap stick I got from ebay, so yeah, thought as much, I do remember when using WinToFlash to copy XP onto the stick there was an option to format it as FAT16 LBA and that made it much faster, is there any way of doing that here?

#13
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
UPDATE: I tried the XP drivers and again it froze at the setup screen, I don't think I'm going to get it working on this laptop :P Thanks for all your help tomasz86! :D

#14
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,497 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Can you enable IDE mode in BIOS?

#15
ryanch94

ryanch94

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Can you enable IDE mode in BIOS?


Sadly, no :(

#16
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developers
  • 13,402 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@tomasz86
Just so you know, Ryan is not a very popular name in Italy ;).

@Ryan
Giving up is NOT an option! :w00t:

Maybe something else is the issue (too many tings together, HFslip+nlite integration besides the actual SATA drivers).
As well it is possible that WinsetupfromUSB, in the latest before latest Beta has an issue with that source.

Maybe if you are willing to try again, we can do something more complex (please read as "simpler") and manually install to a FAT16 or FAT32 partition from DOS, with just the drivers integrated.

BTW it is well possible that WinSetupfromUSB is using firadisk that has some issues with 2K (at least had them last time I checked) so it is possible that 0x0000007b comes from firadisk and not from the AMD driver. :unsure:

jaclaz

#17
tomasz86

tomasz86

    www.windows2000.tk

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,497 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I've experienced similar issues several times, usually in case of laptops. It seems that something is incompatible with the Windows 2000 installer. It's not necessarily the SATA driver, since I had exactly the same situation on an older laptop with IDE disk controller.

It doesn't mean that Windows 2000 won't work on the computer. It's just the installer which has problems. One way to overcome is would be to take out the HDD, connect it to a different machine, install the system there and then move it back. Having same disk controller in both computers would make it a lot easier.

#18
tramtrist

tramtrist

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

@tomasz86
Just so you know, Ryan is not a very popular name in Italy ;).

@Ryan
Giving up is NOT an option! :w00t:

Maybe something else is the issue (too many tings together, HFslip+nlite integration besides the actual SATA drivers).
As well it is possible that WinsetupfromUSB, in the latest before latest Beta has an issue with that source.

Maybe if you are willing to try again, we can do something more complex (please read as "simpler") and manually install to a FAT16 or FAT32 partition from DOS, with just the drivers integrated.

BTW it is well possible that WinSetupfromUSB is using firadisk that has some issues with 2K (at least had them last time I checked) so it is possible that 0x0000007b comes from firadisk and not from the AMD driver. :unsure:

jaclaz

I had this same issue and the FAT16 install worked for me in the end. I could use F5 and select Standard 486 PC to get the install finished. Once that worked I had a whole other set of problems (no multi proc etc) htat had to be slogged through but the thing did eventually install with FAT16 formatted partition on the destination drive.

#19
Phenomic

Phenomic

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 269 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Did you EnableBigLBA? I have a how-to link in one of my threads.

#20
AnX

AnX

    ...

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Do you have an InsydeH20 BIOS? If it's an HP/Compaq then it definitely does. The BIOS restricts Windows 2000 on multicore systems. You need a PC with a different BIOS.

Edited by AnX, 15 April 2013 - 10:39 PM.


#21
tramtrist

tramtrist

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 49 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
ANX.. that would explain why i could never get my ao722 on anything other than "standard pc" without dual core.. if i didnt hit f5 and select it the install would never complete.
I guess that's just the way it is....

#22
AnX

AnX

    ...

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

ANX.. that would explain why i could never get my ao722 on anything other than "standard pc" without dual core.. if i didnt hit f5 and select it the install would never complete.
I guess that's just the way it is....


To me, it's pure communism. I think it expects the kernel to load up the Speedstep driver, otherwise, you can't use more than one core. Very idiotic.

On the other hand, a more modern UEFI BIOS of mine can help non-Speedstep aware OSes such as Win2k throttle CPU voltage (and I have proof) which helps substitute SpeedStep.
On SpeedStep-aware OSes, that function is disabled and CPU throttling is OS-based.

In my opinion, that is a MUCH better alternative than kicking out non-Speedstep aware OSes.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Google (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN